District 9

Thank you for rating this movie!

District 9 Movie Poster

3.76 / 5

User rating: 3.76

Based on 2449 votes and 304 reviews


  • User rating: 3.76 46.61%
  • User rating: 3.76 18.04%
  • User rating: 3.76 14.43%
  • User rating: 3.76 6.35%
  • User rating: 3.76 14.57%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 101 to 150 of 304

User review rating: 0 August 29, 2009

The point of the movie is the best. Even if you dont like it look at the real meaning, it shows how others treat living things and how some take advantage of it, it really is sad at some parts, knowing that some try to help while others arent. Overall the point of the movie (and meaning) was incredible, really think about those poor countries with crime and no law, its reality.

User review rating: 0 August 29, 2009

Defiantly a must see for 2009. 4 1/2 stars is my rating, i enjoyed the storyline and it had a killer ending. Nothing was noticeably bad in the movie (personally) Its a more mature movie. If you bring your 4 year old kid to it they wouldnt understand much. So not a "family" movie.

User review rating: 0 August 29, 2009

all I can say is I'm glad I had popcorn because that was my higlight of the movie and to me the storyline was predictable...NOT impressed

User review rating: 0 August 28, 2009

The movie was entertaining. I did however get sick from the camera constantly moving around. Would not recommend.

User review rating: 0 August 28, 2009

This movie captures science fiction in an almost believable way. Great movie all around. Great story development, great special effects and a nonstop thrill ride of events.

User review rating: 0 August 27, 2009

I've seen this movie 3 times - all in all I've seen 2 people walk out. This movie is a refreshing, original piece of work - I loved the story, the special effects and the acting by Shalto Copley was brilliant. I was on the edge of my seat the whole way through, so were both of my teenage kids. By the way, to the person complaining about the'F' word being used too many times - yes, get over it. The movie is rated 14A for violence and pervasive language - if you don't want your kids to be exposed, then DON'T TAKE THEM.

User review rating: 0 August 27, 2009

alright movie... nothing what it was hyped to be. Story line was nothing special and the characters were hardily memorable!

User review rating: 0 August 27, 2009

Wow. People are dumb. This movie was not about aliens it was about the politics of South Africa. The aliens in the movie were really the blacks of South Africa in District 6. It is true, the previews were misleading...it is not a Sci-Fi but it was a good movie if you know anything about history.

User review rating: 0 August 27, 2009

i was glad it was cheap movie night....this movie was a waste of even $4

User review rating: 0 August 26, 2009

This movie was flawless. Easily the best movie I have seen in a long time. Everyone should take the time to see it.

User review rating: 0 August 26, 2009

Amazing! People who left half way through didn't allow the piece to be completed and therefore have NO CONCEPT of the actual movie! The viewer couldn't piece it all together until it was over. AMAZING! And in reference to the guy who didn't realize how "one alien" could just get in the ship and make it go "in a flash", try reading the subtitles: it took the alien 20 years to collect the technology.

User review rating: 0 August 26, 2009

I'm shocked by all the negative reviews below. You don't have to be into sci-fi to enjoy this movie. In addition to being an action-packed film, it's a compelling look at racial prejudice and human behaviour. It's very chilling in light of past world events.

User review rating: 0 August 26, 2009

All I can say is it was a damned good thing we saw this movie for free. Otherwise I would have been pissed. I agree with the others about the jittery camera work. It doesn't add effect. It adds nauseum.

User review rating: 0 August 26, 2009

interesting concept, the way they use aliens to make us understand what other cultures go trough when they are in a diferent country....Loved it

User review rating: 0 August 26, 2009

I really really liked this movie The idea and plot of this movie was originial I reccomend every one to go and see it

User review rating: 0 August 26, 2009

how is it the space ship is stuck there for 20 yrs they can't get away then all of a sudden one alien goes to the ship and in a flash leaves???????????? where was this guy 20 yrs before??????

User review rating: 0 August 26, 2009

not what i expected

User review rating: 0 August 26, 2009

I loved this movie! It was a bit slow in the beginning; alot of explination but once that was out of the way...bam! The good got going and never stopped. In the end, I was on the edge of my seat because you don't know what's going to happen next if it will end badly or end the way you hope to. Even my 13 year old brother loved the movie. Everyone should see DISTRICT 9!

User review rating: 0 August 25, 2009

Very nice

User review rating: 0 August 25, 2009

awesome movie but lots the of gore

User review rating: 0 August 25, 2009

really cool movie a most see of the summer. 5/5stars awsome

User review rating: 0 August 24, 2009

the Blair Witch project of Sci Fi. A pointless movie and I love Sci- Fi. It's interesting that the previews on Tv are nothing like the movie. I was VERY VERY glad when it was over.

User review rating: 0 August 24, 2009

I have averaged a movie a week for the last 30 years. I have walked out of maybe 6 movies in that time. this was one of them. All I can say is YUCK!!!

User review rating: 0 August 24, 2009

the story was original, different from all those other movies with aliens. i actually kind of liked them... funny in parts too, that's a plus. the biggest turn off was the shaky cam. i nearly barfed, and had to look away many times. they should've learned from cloverfield that a movie cannot be pleasant to watch if you want to puke during it. this is the reason i would never, ever see it again.

User review rating: 0 August 24, 2009

This movie would not appeal to people who aren't so much into sci-fi. I'm not too crazy about sci-fi but can appreciate the movie - the story, the characters and the special effect. Definitely a lot of interesting analogies if you put some thought into it...

User review rating: 0 August 24, 2009

Absolutly the worse movie I have ever watched! (Well we ALL left partway through equally disapointed)

User review rating: 0 August 24, 2009

people that don't like this kind of movie will rate it poorly, i thought it was a good movie like the scr-fi stuff

User review rating: 0 August 24, 2009

Another sick to watch like Cloverdale jittery shots can't look at why the hell do they need to slam the camera around and make every one motion sick.

User review rating: 0 August 24, 2009

I was fortunate to see sneak preview screening last thurs at local cinema. I thought the sfx were geat blew me away too very original too. I read stat it only cost 30 mil to make it but I thought it cost way more based on great sfx I saw. Loved story line too a bit of love story about the reporter.I liked the way they portrayed the aliens and how they interacted with humans. Way movie wrapped wonder hmmm could there be sequel/preque??

User review rating: 0 August 23, 2009

An excellent science fiction movie, highly recommended. An interesting presentation of an good plot.

User review rating: 0 August 23, 2009

Yuck. Second worst movie I've ever seen in my life. Worse being "They shot horses don't they". This one comes real close. Remember this one for another 40 years. Waste of money. Producers should of paid me to see it.

User review rating: 0 August 23, 2009

This movie had a good original story. the fisrt half was quite slow but the second half and ending was better. i think a sequel will be better now that the story is explained. this movie isn't really worth $9.99,go see it on a weekday or at the cheap seats....

User review rating: 0 August 23, 2009

Loved this movie !!!!! Except the jittery camera work at the beginning which left me feeling weird. Another great piece of work by PJ !

User review rating: 0 August 23, 2009

people,listen. just because a movie has a look of "artsy fartsy" and is low budget doesn't mean it is a work of art.i just knew the critics would love this one.certainly not based on any real merit this movie has

User review rating: 0 August 23, 2009

The most overrated movie ever! hated the documentary style, the main guy is annoying as hell and if you want a movie with a weak plot and 2 hours of none sense shooting this is the movie for you...the aliens are a little dumb, we dont want dumb aliens in movies! they must be either scary or smart. 2 decades under the human domain is not right

User review rating: 0 August 23, 2009

one of the best movies i have ever seen, great story line, great effects and thought provoking. loved it, i think negative comments come from those who like empty special effect flicks

User review rating: 0 August 23, 2009

great movie truly stunning

User review rating: 0 August 23, 2009

I can understand the negativity about the initial part of the movie but if u stick around, the movie is amazing!!! Deep storyline; analogous to reality. I LOVED IT. Will watch again in theatres.

User review rating: 0 August 22, 2009

A vivid and intense pseudo-documentary that ventures deep into the dark recesses of the human soul, DISTRICT 9 is at once terrifyingly real yet utterly absurd. While the film borrows liberally from such gonzo favourites as BRAZIL and the EVIL DEAD movies, what ultimately emerges is a future so cold and calculatingly grim it could only be envisaged by Man.

User review rating: 0 August 22, 2009

Masterful special effects combine with tense, absorbing storytelling and the result is a sci-fi masterpiece! The suspense never lets up for a second, and the characters are credible and finely drawn throughout. Simply put, DISTRICT 9 is this year's MAC AND ME.

User review rating: 0 August 22, 2009

at the beginning, it was soo dizzy... but during the second part of the movie, it was great!

User review rating: 0 August 22, 2009

Just came back from seeing District 9. I have no idea where the negative comments are coming from because this movie blew my mind. I found the story to be original, and the visual effects were first rate as well, especialy the mother ship. That damn thing looked too real, just floating there with those helicopters flying around it. The line between reality and si-fi, gone...

User review rating: 0 August 22, 2009

Absolutely awsome Sci-fi movie! very entretaining.

User review rating: 0 August 22, 2009

Very entertaining.

User review rating: 0 August 22, 2009

I would rate it 0 stars if I could. This is by far the WORST movie I have ever seen! Come on people...the acting was terrible, the story was even worse, the satire....well, it just wasn't funny at all. I wanted to leave the movie but my husband thought it would be rude. Don't waste your money (oh, and I like most movies, even a little bit).

User review rating: 0 August 22, 2009

Terrible. Where are all the good ratings coming from. No one liked it in the theatre when I was there

User review rating: 0 August 22, 2009

A very unique movie that grabs you from the beginning till the end. I can't wait for District 10.

User review rating: 0 August 22, 2009

it had a sortof weak storyline but everything else in the movie made up for it

User review rating: 0 August 22, 2009

Movie was OK. CAMERA WORK WAY WAY TO JITTERY MADE ME SICK STOP THAT THERE IS NO POINT!!!!! Gus Gordon III

User review rating: 0 August 22, 2009

Amazing movie!!!!!!!!

Change Location