District 9

Thank you for rating this movie!

District 9 Movie Poster

3.76 / 5

User rating: 3.76

Based on 2449 votes and 304 reviews


  • User rating: 3.76 46.61%
  • User rating: 3.76 18.04%
  • User rating: 3.76 14.43%
  • User rating: 3.76 6.35%
  • User rating: 3.76 14.57%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 51 to 100 of 304

User review rating: 0 September 15, 2009

I'm going to become a doco film maker now. My ceiling recently flooded and I caught it all on film. Really shaky hand held camera and boring as all hell...oh wait...that sounds too much like District 9....

User review rating: 0 September 13, 2009

Possibly the worst movie I have seen. Can't believe I sat through it.

User review rating: 0 September 12, 2009

Definitely different. From the setting - a real Soweto township - to the story line, this movie was far from fictional. I am not normally a fan of the sci-fi/alien genre, but I was suprised by how much I enjoyed District Nine. Not for the traditional crowd. Waiting now for the sequel!

User review rating: 0 September 12, 2009

Does anyone have a worse adjective than "atrocious"...if so please apply to this movie

User review rating: 0 September 11, 2009

Once I got used to the style of the film, it was well worth it.

User review rating: 0 September 11, 2009

I go to the movies once or twice a week and I have since I've been a kid, this is possibly the best sci-fi movie I've ever seen. To those that didn't like it or worse yet walked out on it, what the hell do you like? Mary Poppins? Fantastic movie in all respects!

User review rating: 0 September 10, 2009

i enjoyed this movie, not all action/sci-fi movies need to be filmed and take place in the states. very good movie...

User review rating: 0 September 10, 2009

Excellent. Most alien type movies are shot in dark but that was a great job shooting in day light. Very touchy and very close to realistic situation if it could ever happen like this in real life. Very good work.

User review rating: 0 September 10, 2009

I did like the movie, and as the person below said, I did connect with the characters as well. I thought it was a good movie and you don't think about the effects because everything seems so natural with it's surroundings and the way it moves. So I guess thimbs up on graffics too! My boyfriend was talking about how amazing this movie was for like a week after seeing it lol I thought the racism was interesting.

User review rating: 0 September 09, 2009

This movie was basically about apartheid.

User review rating: 0 September 09, 2009

I don't know what people were expecting from this film, but I felt that this movie was great from start to finish. I was on the edge of my seat, and by the end of the movie I felt that I had really connected to the characters. The humour in the film really centers around the fact that the way human beings are portrayed in media is so different than reality, and that most of what occurred in this film has happened to real people with families and loved ones. It had good visual effects and I really don't know what people have been complaining about in regards to shaky camera movement. Maybe they didn't get the fact that the introduction to the plot and characters is supposed to be a documentar

User review rating: 0 September 09, 2009

I found this movie to be very disappointing. For the most part, it is extremely boring except for the last 20 minutes. And the shaky cam? Really? There's no reason to have a "home video" style movie unless one of the characters is holding camera.

User review rating: 0 September 08, 2009

Awesome movie! The plot was interesting and the acting superb! Not the typical Alien movie which was refreshing. Definitely worth seeing!

User review rating: 0 September 08, 2009

Was a little hesitant about going because some of the ratings were so negative. Went anyway and found it to be really excellent. Very well done. It starts out as amusing then gradually moves to funny then quickly moves to action filled, edge of your seat entertainment. Not sorry I went. You will be extremely entertained at this movie.

User review rating: 0 September 08, 2009

Well Done!!!!!

User review rating: 0 September 07, 2009

borring

User review rating: 0 September 07, 2009

Good movie. The characters were relatable, and I had an interest in what happened to them. Very traditional SciFi in that makes the viewer question assumptions about the moral superiority of humanity. The violence was not at the expense of the story, either. I hope there is no sequel, however. The ending was an excellent resolution for the story.

User review rating: 0 September 07, 2009

The movie was very nicely done. Very good animation and sound track. It definitely kept me with bold eyes all throughout the movie. It was actually a very sad movie especially with the way it ended. I still have a lot of questions that were left unanswered. I think there should be District 10 or District 9 II. The acting was good. However, I did not get the BIG point from the movie escept the fact that people will do anything for money. Yet, from the production of the movie and the way it was done I think it was pretty good. I left shocked both good and bad but my bf definitely liked it. If you like gory movies with fiction you should see it!

User review rating: 0 September 07, 2009

Great sci-fi movie, puts a twist on racism in south africa. 2thumbs way up

User review rating: 0 September 07, 2009

Best movie of the year! Reviewers who hated it are just mad because the movie didnt lead them by the hand to a happy, 'everybody wins ending'! I actually felt really sad after this movie, cant say that any movie ever moved me as much as this one!

User review rating: 0 September 07, 2009

Excellent movie, very different and fresh but very interesting. Highly reccommended.

User review rating: 0 September 06, 2009

A bloodly waste of time - if i could've hoosen a rating of -5 i would have. If your interested in a documentary type movie about living in the slums except with aliens this is for you.

User review rating: 0 September 06, 2009

Great sci-fi movie, puts a twist on racism in south africa. 2thumbs way up

User review rating: 0 September 06, 2009

Peter Jackson's LOR still stands as the best Sci-fi movies ever made, IMO. Would this be a disapointment to his fans? Perhaps. The special effects were decent. Story line was original. The use of actors unknown to most movie goers up here was a risk but it worked. We left the theatre looking forward to District 10. That will depend on movie sales and DVD rentals I suppose. Not as bad as all the reviews say. Give it a chance... rent when it hits Blockbuster's shelves.

User review rating: 0 September 05, 2009

Terrible movie. 3 couples went, none liked it. Yes a few funny things, main character had some humorous flaws, but overall a real stinker. Had potential for some interesting political irony but missed the boat. Terrible movie! Shaky camera overdone, tough to get much out of some scenes. Terrible movie. Can't say that enough.

User review rating: 0 September 04, 2009

movie was very dissapointing

User review rating: 0 September 04, 2009

One of the most boring movies I have ever seen. Not at all what I expected from all the hype. Definitely not worth the money to see it. There were only 9 people in the theatre and that says something but too late for me.

User review rating: 0 September 04, 2009

Anyone who likes this movie is completely out of their mind. I almost walked out it was so horrible. There are so many terrible things about this movie that I don't even have the desire to list them. I have considered going back to see it just because it was so awful. Like watching a car crash, I actually want to bring a pen and paper to notate each ridiculous and horrible part of this movie. I love politics, but this movie is so retarded, that I could not take its message seriously, nor did I think the message was interesting. I have read the reviews, and I feel like I am on another planet when I see so many positive remarks about this film!? I love sci fi, and don't mind slow movies

User review rating: 0 September 04, 2009

Great movie - poor reviewers. Your opinion only matters if you can spell.

User review rating: 0 September 04, 2009

Doesn't have the polished look of recent 'Sci-Fi' movies based on Comic Books. This is a good thing. The camera work supports the movie - making me feel as if I could turn on the television for an update. The recent Sci-Fi Action Movies including Star Trek were great but over when I left the theatre. This movie is still in my thoughts. Best in a long time.

User review rating: 0 September 04, 2009

Went to see this movie with my 14 year old son and even he hated this movie. It really sucked. Please don't waste your time and money!!!

User review rating: 0 September 04, 2009

WORST EVER!!! I feel generous by given 1 star.

User review rating: 0 September 03, 2009

if you don't like this movie, u just simply dun get the story. 5 stars definitely.

User review rating: 0 September 03, 2009

To the reviewer who increduously states that District 9 had a "complex development of the characters and a deep storyline." Dude you do indeed need a life. This stinker makes Plan 9 from Outer Space an academy award winning film.

User review rating: 0 September 03, 2009

Loved it..main character very funny..pewrfect movie..lots of fun..

User review rating: 0 September 02, 2009

Very well done...loved it! Can't wait for Disctict 10...

User review rating: 0 September 02, 2009

BEST BEST BEST BET BEST BEST BEST movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 September 01, 2009

You know those movies where you think you know the whole thing from the trailers and then you discover its nothing at all like that?>.well thank goodness that was the case with this GEM of a movie. The best surprise of the summer..smart, action, political, and very well done. For those who like their " gore ", theres enough of that also. The camera is NOT like Blair Witch, its documentary in the beginning for a purpose....a huge thumbs up for something different than the mainstream sci-fi remakes that couldnt cut it ( Star Trek of course was the exception to that rule also ). I will buy this when it comes out.

User review rating: 0 September 01, 2009

I`m a movie buff, but this was ridiculous. Probably the worst thing I`ve seen in the last 20 years. It could have been awesome but was terrible how it was filmed. Peter Jackson can certainly do better.

User review rating: 0 September 01, 2009

Best movie I have seen in a long time!! I wish Hollywood could learn from the South Africans that this is how a movie should be made!

User review rating: 0 August 31, 2009

best movie I've ever seen!

User review rating: 0 August 31, 2009

One of the worst movies i have seen.

User review rating: 0 August 31, 2009

Blown away by so many negative reviews lol. I guess if you expect something like terminator 4 where you got brilliant explosions and fighting with awseome special effects with no storyline then this movie is NOT for you. Dont get me wrong the fighting and special effects were awsome, but they were overshadowed by a complex development of the characters and a deep storyline. Movie is thought through very carefully and touched on many serious real life issues. I was blown away by the directors and screen writers work in this movie, I would like to see if they can make District 10 as fresh. 5/5 stars.

User review rating: 0 August 31, 2009

Great movie. Unkown cast and director who told a great story in a un-Hollywood fashion. Loved it. Two words - Pig Launcher. Got to get me one of those. Will see it again.

User review rating: 0 August 30, 2009

Awesome movie ... keeps you hooked from the start ... a few gory (but funny) moments

User review rating: 0 August 30, 2009

so boring i regret seeing it,very bad movie

User review rating: 0 August 30, 2009

The premise of this movie is just absurd. I found myself laughing from virtually beginning to end as it just seems so ridiculous. I'm sure there is hidden meaning in this ridiculous plot like how humans treat refuges or people unlike them however I could not be paid enough movie to star in this movie because I would have to hold back laughter the entire time. I will admit that the parts with the father/son are touching but not enough to hold the movie. I did not find the ending suitable and on top of that the plot was choppy and confused. I wasted $10.00.

User review rating: 0 August 30, 2009

The main problem with this film was the use of unknown actors with little star appeal. The film had absolutely zero connection to the viewer and the aliens until the end of the film and even then it was tepid at best. I was hoping for a giant container of raid to take care of the alien infestation. Horrible film.

User review rating: 0 August 30, 2009

I am a huge movie fan and I honestly thought that District 9 was one of the worst movies on the market. The themes were intriguing, but the execution was boring and offensive. I actually left after 40 minutes and asked for money back. AMC graciously gave me a refund. Crystalabell

User review rating: 0 August 30, 2009

Best movie ever, not another cloned sterytype Hollywood movie, plot and character development galore!

Change Location