District 9

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.76 / 5

User rating: 3.76

Based on 2449 votes and 304 reviews


  • User rating: 3.76 46.61%
  • User rating: 3.76 18.04%
  • User rating: 3.76 14.43%
  • User rating: 3.76 6.35%
  • User rating: 3.76 14.57%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 304

User review rating: 4 July 28, 2010

Amid sci-fi flicks, this one really stands out. My favorite character was probably Christopher's young son, but I also found i novel the way Wikus' development as a character was manifested as his physical transforamtion, as the result of poisoning with an alien substance. While there aren't many characters to latch onto, the story is swept along withenough action to keep you engaged for the entire length. Just as The Devil's Advocatewas about the most plausible scenario for Satan taking over the world (with his team of lawyers), this one presents the most likely situation if aliens were to land on earth. It's easy to imagine the maginalization, segregation and exploitation of aliens, since

User review rating: 0 May 09, 2010

you got to be kidding me ALIENS DON'T LIKE CATFOOD

User review rating: 1 March 17, 2010

plot holes the size of damn volcanos 'nuff said

User review rating: 5 March 01, 2010

absolutely brilliant! one of the smartest movies i have ever seen! incredibly creative and well done, not just your typical sci-fi

User review rating: 5 February 20, 2010

One of my favourite films of all time.

User review rating: 5 February 15, 2010

Awsome movie

User review rating: 2 February 01, 2010

Man, Was hoping for Independence Day sequel. Lost precious hours I could have spent with my Children! Could have invested that 5 Dollars or bough lottery tickets! Darn!

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2010

Fantastic! Great to see someone can still come up with a unique idea & bring it to life. It has that dusty, dirty feel of Africa too. Loved it!!!

User review rating: 0 January 13, 2010

My Rating is actually 0. This is not one of the worst movies I have ever seen----It Is the worst movie I have ever seen!!

User review rating: 0 January 13, 2010

If I could rate it -0 I would.......horrible -boring-stupid-pathetic. A warning to people that have not seen this one DON'T it's that bad!!

User review rating: 1 January 13, 2010

I think it was absolutely the worst movie I have ever seen. The acting was so painfully bad,that you have to wonder where did they find these actors. I think I know -buy an actor get one free.com.The writing must have been by a crack head(during use of course). CLOSE ENCOUNTERS OF THE THIRD KIND- this is not. This is a documentary of the worst kind, The movie should be set on fire (literally). If they make a sequel to this one, and it's any indication of this pile of s..t, then burn it as well!!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 4 January 12, 2010

Ok movie good special effects

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2010

Makes you realise what hostile idiots we are as a human race. Anyone who says the film is rubbish is an idiot and didnt get the true meaning of the film.

User review rating: 5 December 25, 2009

Amazing!! I loved it! Must see !

User review rating: 5 December 25, 2009

six stars wicked effects

User review rating: 0 December 25, 2009

wicked

User review rating: 5 December 15, 2009

Outstanding movie with a great story. Starts off slow but quickly takes off, awesome specail effects.

User review rating: 5 December 08, 2009

This movie is a symbolistic depiction of Apartied, Aids and the degrading of humans in South Africa. MNU represents the world's reluctance to do anything about what happened under Apartied. This in NOT an entertainment movie, it will make you think about humans and how the future could be. If you walk out of the theatre with disappointment then the meaning of the film was lost...I feel sorry for you.

User review rating: 5 December 05, 2009

Fantastic movie!

User review rating: 0 November 15, 2009

See, a great movie can be made on a low budget. Really interesting to watch, reveals a lot about how we are as humans.

User review rating: 0 November 10, 2009

This shocks me on how people can rate this movie more than 1 star, it was maybe one the of the worst movies I have ever seen, and its 2 hrs of my life I will never get back, and for others to say if you don`t rate this 5 stars, (these people are very slow in the head). THE MOVIE TOTALLY SUCKED.

User review rating: 0 November 02, 2009

I went to see it 4 times at the theatre. Ingenious piece of satire/allegory. Possesses a style and quality of filming that I have never seen before; makes you feel like you were there. Deserves multiple academy awards. GO AND SEE IT. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!

User review rating: 0 November 02, 2009

An instant classic. Possibly the best movie of the decade. Anyone who gives it less than 5 stars is either severely attention deficit or has a very low I.Q.

User review rating: 0 November 01, 2009

Saw this movie again for the second time. Two things. Once it hits video, i'm owning that bad boy. The other, i can only hope and pray that part 2 is half as good as the first. Absolutly stunning...

User review rating: 0 October 23, 2009

What plot, what story? Why does Peter Jackson need to use aliens to describe mankind's inhumanity. Couldn't he have used a wolf/elephant or oh my god other human beings to describe mankind's myopic view of of ma's place in the universe?

User review rating: 0 October 18, 2009

Great, great premise. I thought the documentary style narrative was very refreshing, and, unlike most holywood movies. There are so many underlying parallelisms to contemporary culture that the movie, although sci-fi, is really quite pertinent. You can think in this movie or you can just sit back and enjoy the craziness! Good stuff

User review rating: 0 October 15, 2009

Great movie!!! God see it!

User review rating: 0 October 13, 2009

Amazing - one of the best movies of the year.

User review rating: 0 October 13, 2009

very good subject. I like the movie.

User review rating: 0 October 07, 2009

First off, this movie is not for everyone. It's long and isn't flashy or over the top like Transformers. What it is, is realistic. It's like most of the film's done by M.Night Shyamalan, it leans heavily towards plot more than action to keep you entertained. Definitely a movie for the thinker. Excellent plot, great acting, leaves you wanting more. 5 stars. Plus, that scene with the exoskeleton kicked ass.

User review rating: 0 October 04, 2009

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME & MONEY.

User review rating: 0 October 03, 2009

Fantastic

User review rating: 0 October 03, 2009

Loved it...good story.

User review rating: 0 October 03, 2009

Best film of the summer - smart, funny weird, edgy satire. Looks like it cost three times its actual budget. Oscar® doesn't care much for SF, but District 9 deserves consideration on a number of fronts.

User review rating: 0 September 28, 2009

One of the best movies I've EVER seen. 5/5

User review rating: 0 September 28, 2009

Loved it, very different, sets it apart from other si-fi's.

User review rating: 0 September 28, 2009

Super....5 stars

User review rating: 0 September 28, 2009

Better then the boom-boom blam-blam Hollywood si-fi crap out there. Unknown cast, unique plot....cool result. 4/5 stars

User review rating: 0 September 28, 2009

Great movie! It's a frustrating but accurate account of how humans would deal with the introduction of an alien species. This is why alien phenomana is kept under wraps

User review rating: 0 September 28, 2009

Excellent, well done, and a far cry away from the "hollywood-ish" sci-fi's. I liked the cast of largely unknowns, and the different take the movie had on alien-human relations. Interesting, and a realistic look at how governments/humans would react to an alien race being discovered.

User review rating: 0 September 25, 2009

Terrible

User review rating: 0 September 23, 2009

Worst movie I have seen in a long time. Worse than Escape from LA. I sat through this long boring piece of garbage hoping it would get better and IT DIDN'T, plus they would not give me a refund! I wish I could get two hours of my life back!

User review rating: 0 September 19, 2009

this is very good movie i loved it!!

User review rating: 0 September 18, 2009

First movie I have EVER walked out of because I was suffering from motion sickness

User review rating: 0 September 17, 2009

By far the best sci-fi movie ive ever seen.

User review rating: 0 September 17, 2009

Not bad... but not great either. Pretty good action but plot is kind of weak.

User review rating: 0 September 17, 2009

It wasn't what I expected but I really enjoyed it.

User review rating: 0 September 15, 2009

Amazing movie. Very unique storyline and the actors did a really good job. A must watch.

User review rating: 0 September 15, 2009

Wow! I am a sci-fi fan and this movie was fantastic. It was so sad. The similarities to apartheid was amazingly real. Do not expect a typical sci-fi flick and keep an open mind. You wont be disapointed.

User review rating: 0 September 15, 2009

Awesome movie,top 3 sci-fi movies ever made.

Change Location