Rachael Harris Biography

Rachael Harris photo

Born: January 12, 1968


Date of Birth: January 12, 1968

Born in Worthington, Ohio, a suburb of Columbus, Rachael Harris attended her local high school and then, staying in her home state of Ohio, progressed to Otterbein University in Westerville where she studied theater. While there, Harris was a member of the Los Angeles improv troupe, The Groundlings, and later went on to teach at the Groundlings school.

A well rounded actress, Harris has done everything from commercials to Off Broadway shows. First appearing on television in a 1993 episode of SeaQuest DSV, Harris has had main roles in shows such as Kirstie Alley's Fat Actress and Notes from the Underbelly, as well as guest roles on hits such as Modern Family, Cougar Town, Friends and Desperate Housewives. Harris was also a correspondent for The Daily Show's 2002-2003 season. As she became a more recognizable personality, a growing number of large companies also started casting her in their ads, including T-Mobile, Geico and even a Super Bowl commercial for the 2010 census.

Moving to the silver screen, Harris again showed her diversity working in comedies, including playing a mother in Diary of a Wimpy Kid (2010) and an over-protective and controlling girlfriend to Ed Helm's character in The Hangover (2009). She has also been in films such as the Lifetime TV Movie Matters of Life and Dating (2007) with Ricki Lake, Kicking & Screaming (2005) alongside Will Ferrell and Natural Selection (2011) for which she won the SXSW Breakthrough Performance Award and was nominated for the Independent Spirit Award for Best Female Lead.

Harris reprised her role in the sequels Diary of a Wimpy Kid (2011) and Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Dog Days (2012). She's also made guest appearances on the television series New Girl and Suits.

Rachael married actor Adam Paul in 2003, but the couple divorced in 2008.


Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Dog Days (2012)
Natural Selection (2011)
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Rodrick Rules (2011)
Diary of a Wimpy Kid (2010)
The Hangover (2009)
Matters of Life and Dating (2007)
Kicking & Screaming (2005)
A Mighty Wind (2003)
The New Brad (2002)
Stuart Little 2 (2002)
Showtime (2002)
The Gristle (2001)
The Week That Girl Died (1998)
The Disappearance of Kevin Johnson (1996)
Cellblock Sisters:Banished Behind Bars (1995)

Change Location