Olivia Thirlby Biography

Olivia Thirlby photo

Born: October 06, 1986


Date of Birth: October 6, 1986

Born and raised in New York City, Olivia Thirlby is one of the highest accredited young actresses in Hollywood. Trained extensively in classical Shakespearean acting at the American Globe Theatre, and in London at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art, Thirlby has made a name for herself in both theater and film.

At age 16, Thirlby made her entrance into the world of acting with her first commercial job. Though Thirlby was excited about her first real gig, she was disappointed in the outcome: "I wasn't very good," she told The New York Observer. "I did one for Mervins, a department store on the West Coast, so I never even got to see it." Nonetheless, she was offered her first feature film role in The Secret (2007) when she was still in high school. Shortly after, Thirlby made her U.S. film debut in 2006's United 93.

Thirlby's biggest break came less than one year later in 2007's indi mega-hit, Juno, where she played the title character's quirky best friend, Leah. Thirlby quickly learned that being a cast member of an Academy Award-nominated film has its perks: during the media's Juno-love-fest, the young starlet was offered numerous movie roles and was featured in an eight-page fashion spread in Glamour magazine. She was also named one of Vanity Fair's top picks for "Hollywood's New Wave," alongside Emma Roberts, Kristen Stewart, and the cast of The Gossip Girl.

Currently living in New York's West Village, Thirlby, who has no plans to move to Los Angeles, has finished roles in several more films, including The Wackness (2008) opposite Ben Kingsley, No Strings Attached (2011) starring Ashton Kutcher and Natalie Portman, Being Flynn (2012) with Robert De Niro and Julianne Moore, and Dredd 3D opposite Karl Urban.


Dredd 3D (2012)
Being Flynn (2012)
Nobody Walks (2012)
The Darkest Hour (2011)
Margaret (2011)
No Strings Attached (2011)
What Goes Up (2009)
Breaking Upwards (2009)
Uncertainty (2009)
Arlen Faber (2009)
New York, I Love You (2009)
The Wackness (2008)
The Secret (2007)
Love Comes Lately (2007)
Juno (2007)
Snow Angels (2007)
United 93 (2006)

Change Location