The Polar Express

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.88 / 5

User rating: 3.88

Based on 9073 votes and 109 reviews


  • User rating: 3.88 65.89%
  • User rating: 3.88 5.22%
  • User rating: 3.88 2.79%
  • User rating: 3.88 2.71%
  • User rating: 3.88 23.39%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 109

User review rating: 0 December 21, 2014

I watch this movie a couple times every Christmas. The animation, music and story are wonderfully great. A true classic, one of the best, thank-you Tom Hanks.

User review rating: 0 December 21, 2014

Masterpiece in motion capture computer animated film making! This is a classic I have seen several times during the Christmas holidays. Tom Hanks is exceptional playing five different animated roles of the conductor, Santa Claus, the father, the ghost drifter, and the narrator. The computer animation and music are first rate. The storyline is original and captivating. You can connect with the characters in this film. You actually feel as you are on this fantastic and magical train ride to the North Pole. Brilliant script from start to finish. Phenomenal storytelling!

User review rating: 0 March 29, 2007

excellent... " See is believing"

User review rating: 0 February 26, 2006

Thank you Mr. Zemeckis and Tom Hanks and everyone else. Thank you so much. (and to think it is rated "G," way to go)

User review rating: 0 February 25, 2006

I had this DVD bought for me from my mom & dad and I watch it most nights. My favorite bit is when Billy & the girl singing.

User review rating: 0 December 26, 2005

incredible special effects and animation. looks real. a bit slow though. nice plot however.

User review rating: 0 December 18, 2005

Amazing !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! One of the Best Films Ever!

User review rating: 0 December 16, 2005

i did not like this movie at all. it was a cheesy and totally unrealistic storyline, even if it was just a dream (not really). The only part i enjoyed was when the train was flying ovet the ice.

User review rating: 0 December 16, 2005

MOVE OVER CELEBS THE POLAR EXPRESS IS COMIN THROUGH!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 December 01, 2005

Bought the DVD a year after the movie was released. I`m 70 and love trains. Lots of hype but OK graphics and a decent kid`s story. It wasn`t a box office smash that was expected by the studio but everyone tried awful hard and it will be a classic for years to come. I expect to see it on TV soon as a blockbuster Sunday night movie for kids, along with "A Christmas Carol", "Miracle on 42nd Street" and "Its a Wonderful Life". Briefly, a "Boy-Kid" movie for adults and good for kids too. Kind of scary for the "under 6" though. Highly recommended for the 8-10 set.

User review rating: 0 November 25, 2005

THIS IS CHRISTMAS

User review rating: 0 November 25, 2005

A CHRISTMAS NECESSITY!

User review rating: 0 November 25, 2005

MOVE OVER SCROOGE!

User review rating: 0 November 19, 2005

This movie was really good. It`s a good family Christmas movie. Tom Hanks is a good actor. I liked it so much I saw it twice in theatres. The second time was The Polar Express: An Imax Experience.

User review rating: 0 November 12, 2005

i think it verwy funny

User review rating: 0 November 09, 2005

This was one of the most magical movies I have ever seen. It is particularly stunning on an Imax screen if you ever get an oppurtunity. It is a "feel good moview" similar to "It`s a wonderful life" I highly recommend watching or purchasing this movie.

User review rating: 0 November 03, 2005

excellent i loved it so did my mother.

User review rating: 0 September 23, 2005

Awesome...great story and fantastic animation. The soundtrack was great as well. The story was easily understood by my preschooler. A year after seeing it he still talks about it and enjoys listening to the music.

User review rating: 0 March 20, 2005

Amazing!....the animation was excellent...plot was good too....excellent christmas movie to watch

User review rating: 0 March 08, 2005

It`s sure to bcome a classic!

User review rating: 0 March 05, 2005

Amazing! Awesome animation and even though it`s a Christmas movie, you can enjoy it all year round!

User review rating: 0 March 05, 2005

I liked the polar express because when i saw it 3-d everything seemed like it was going to hit me.

User review rating: 0 February 22, 2005

It`s a good movie as Christmas movies goes, but I wouldn`t say it`s spectacular or magnificent.

User review rating: 0 February 20, 2005

i thought that the movie The Polar Express was a very good movie.and it looks like you are actualy on the polar so i think that the avrage rating should be ***** five stars.

User review rating: 0 February 18, 2005

it is a wonderful film it made me luv christmas more then i already did. i saw it with my school and we all luved it!!! the best christmas film eva!

User review rating: 0 February 14, 2005

Truley a wonderful movie. If you did not like it then you were not watching it.

User review rating: 0 January 26, 2005

great movie. everybody needs to see it. will buy it on dvd

User review rating: 0 January 14, 2005

Unimpressed!!

User review rating: 0 January 14, 2005

Awesome movie!!! - I kept forgeting it was animated. Tom rocks even under the computer generated images that he portrayed.

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2005

I really enjoyed watching "The Polar Express". We may have been better off watching the movie before Christmas, but the holiday film made me feel really good inside. It`s not very much like the book, but I like the movie better because it fills in more detail. I really think you should see it, but wait until next Christmas.

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2005

It is the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 January 04, 2005

Loved it, every bit. Maggie

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2005

this movie was one of the best tom hanks movies i`ve seen. The graphics are very well done and it`s a great christmas movie. I give it a 5+.

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2005

I was sucked in by Hollywood hype and ended up paying a lot at an IMAX to see a dumb kids movie. I don`t know what age child would like it. There were kids crying when I saw it. Those waxy-looking characters were awful and wouldv`e looked better if THEY wore the 3-D glasses. I feel like Hollywood is playing a version of the Emperor`s New Clothes in that we`re all supposed to love this just because some techno-geeks created something "different". Sorry, it`s a bust. And I agree with others that said it was boring. Way too long.

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2005

I went to go see this movie with my school and I thought that this movie was very good. The characters looked really like who was playing there part (The Voice). Very good movie and good for all ages. Good Job!! I enjoyed The Polar Express a lot!

User review rating: 0 December 31, 2004

I am sure the Polar will become a classic Christmas movie. Enjoyed thoroughly with my 7 year old daughter.

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2004

i liv the movie it rocks. it is the best ever. i luv the plot and the message

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2004

Amazing! We saw it on the Imax screen and you felt like you were right there with the actors! Snowflakes landing on your nose, so close that you could almost touch them! Incredible technology! A must see for all ages.

User review rating: 0 December 26, 2004

Great, a little scarry at times for my 4 1/4 yr old but a great experience for us together. Will think back to the time we spent watching it for years to come. The excitement in his eyes and the wonder felt by both big and lttle who love trains and christmas even more.

User review rating: 0 December 23, 2004

An INCREDIBLE Christmas movie! The combination of amazing graphics and a loving story for the whole family make this, in my opinion the BEST film of the year by far. Definitely deserving of a number of academy awards. Make some time over the holidays to enjoy this film with your family. Merry Christmas!

User review rating: 0 December 22, 2004

I thought the anamation could have been done alot better, and the charactors could have been more attractive. Okay story line, but not worth entirely to see in a theatre. Made more for IMAX

User review rating: 0 December 22, 2004

wicked movie it rocks

User review rating: 0 December 22, 2004

I thought The Polar Express combined amazing computer animation and a wonderful story to keep us all spellbound. Adults and kids will enjoy this movie as it touches the kid in all of us as a young boy struggles to keep the magic of Christmas alive in his heart. The animation was absolutely incredible and I felt like I went to the North Pole to see Santa right along with the kids. Thoroughly enjoyable for both young and old!

User review rating: 0 December 22, 2004

Hey..Polar Express rates a 5 +. Tom Hanks Excels himself in this one. Lots of surprises and so, so lifelike. Have to take two of my grandkids tomorrow. Grand kids are a great excuse. I dont take them all at once. That way I saw T Rex four times. Happy Viewing **name removed**, Mississauga

User review rating: 0 December 21, 2004

this movie was ok...not the best movie ever made but not the worst one either

User review rating: 0 December 21, 2004

This movie was good.. it was WAAAAY better than the book,... they expanded it more and it was better since the book was a picture book. I went with my class so it was a surprise that i didnt talk alot with my friends during the movie..

User review rating: 0 December 21, 2004

i really liked the movie it was exactly like the book and it was an intreguing story line and i really liked the actors you used it even made the movie alot better it is a tough job to act and they did amazing.

User review rating: 0 December 20, 2004

I`ve read the book for many years. As a child I always skipped to the part about the North POle. The movie captured the embiance set by Chris VanAllsburg very well.

User review rating: 0 December 20, 2004

ROCKSSSS I WILL GO A AGAIN AND AGAIN

User review rating: 0 December 20, 2004

it was a really good movie

Change Location