Red Sparrow

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.49 / 5

User rating: 3.49

Based on 416 votes and 112 reviews


  • User rating: 3.49 49.71%
  • User rating: 3.49 9.94%
  • User rating: 3.49 6.43%
  • User rating: 3.49 7.02%
  • User rating: 3.49 26.90%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 112

User review rating: 1 June 29, 2018

Save you Time and skip this one. The story is all over the place with a pathetic attempt at fish tails every 15 min. This movie simply boring with cheesy action sequences that outshined the poor acting. The only thing that could be worst than Red Sparrow, would be a Red Sparrow 2.

User review rating: 5 June 26, 2018

It was an accurate portrayal of Russian spies and their system of coercion and sex.

User review rating: 1 May 28, 2018

Was expecting a lot more action. Boring movie.

User review rating: 1 May 22, 2018

Jennifer Lawrence is tough to watch these days.

User review rating: 2 May 22, 2018

Have to give this a 2 stars, too much back and forth, plus Poor acting. Not a great story line.

User review rating: 5 May 20, 2018

A terrific film. So many of the negative reviews here would be laughable if they weren't so pathetic. Yes, there is harsh content but we should never expect or demand that creative expression shy away from the harsher realities of the human condition. Depiction is not necessarily endorsement. Considering that fact the conflict is the foundation of narrative, depiction is rarely endorsement. Make no mistake, this film does have a moral centre. And a strong female protagonist. See this film and make up your own mind. Don't heed the words of the prudes, hysterical feminists and would-be censors would would gladly trade in the freedoms we enjoy for a return to the ignominious era of the Hays code.

User review rating: 4 May 20, 2018

Pretty good movie, and Jennifer Lawrence flashes her groceries which is a nice bonus!

User review rating: 4 May 10, 2018

I wonder whether the people giving this a 1 star actually went to see the film. Were they encouraged to post based on the uninformed views of their pastor? They should stick to Disney offerings. While the film has some holes in the plot and the characters were a little over the top, the nudity was hardly a big deal and the violence hardly as bad as many 3rd rate adventure pics.

User review rating: 2 May 03, 2018

A female Lassiter.

User review rating: 4 May 02, 2018

I thought this was a great movie. The acting was spot on, the plot was thought provoking but never gave anything away before the ending. It was a good spy movie. The other reviews about JLaw being raped or condoning rape were exaggerated. It added to the plot.

User review rating: 5 April 29, 2018

The sordid story line is what sets up the plot with plenty of twists and turns culminating in a fantastic ending. The acting was good all around with Jenifer as the lead and rightly stealing the show. never felt the show was to long because the movie kept me guessing till the end. There was no excessive or prolonged nude scenes. The portrayals of the characters where well within normal range. All you anti nudity and anti violence nay Sayers should just stick to reading Archie comics or go back to the planet Algeron .

User review rating: 5 April 27, 2018

An outstanding adaptation of a book I've actually read (probably puts me in the one percentile of movie reviewers here), brilliant work by the screenwriters at converting such a complex, multi-faceted story into a cinematic experience. Yep, there is the typical batch of puritan and feminist nut-jobs rating this movie 1-star because they either don't like any kind of nudity for any reason (perhaps stay home) or think any story that shows rape somehow glorifies it (get a brain please - it is a STORY!!). For those normal people out there who are interested in a realistic portrayal of real-world espionage and counter-espionage ... this is an awesome depiction. For the remaining minority of weirdos ... I think there is probably a new Disney film out soon :)

User review rating: 1 April 19, 2018

Don’t see this movie. Honestly, you’re better than that. Don’t be the kind of person who enjoys seeing women raped.

User review rating: 1 April 08, 2018

We were pretty certain from the previews we might like the spy and suspense elements. So glad to see these reviews alerting us to the sicko content that emphasized rape and sex scenes. Won't go see it

User review rating: 1 April 08, 2018

That sucked the basically took women and turned them in to whore’s and spies what crap

User review rating: 1 April 07, 2018

JLaw I thought once you win an Oscar you don't have to prostitute yourself out to the public to get a platform...why oh why is a woman being raped entertainment? Huh? Very surprised you went for a typical Hollywood sexist female stereotyped role...Guess she didn't join the "Time's Up: Hollywood Women's Group....We're kinda of done with your poobs hanging out about now....

User review rating: 0 March 28, 2018

Jessica Alba or Anne Hathaway would have hit this one out of the park...

User review rating: 1 March 28, 2018

One star for showing up...stupid story line jennifer Lawrence did not need to make this movie

User review rating: 4 March 25, 2018

Excellent story line and acting.

User review rating: 5 March 24, 2018

I love jlaws " acting"

User review rating: 5 March 24, 2018

Very well played.

User review rating: 5 March 24, 2018

Finally of movie with a storyline. J law steals the show.

User review rating: 3 March 22, 2018

disappointed watching the movie, it should be much better, I still love JL

User review rating: 5 March 21, 2018

Jlaw!!!

User review rating: 5 March 18, 2018

Slow starting but I like this move

User review rating: 1 March 18, 2018

Watch the trailer and you'll see the best parts. Waste of time and money for a nearly 3-hour movie!

User review rating: 3 March 18, 2018

Not as good as I thought.

User review rating: 3 March 16, 2018

Average-probably meant for the Fifty Shades of Phillies crowd.

User review rating: 5 March 16, 2018

It has mystery, intrigue and is a thriller.

User review rating: 5 March 16, 2018

j=law does it again!

User review rating: 5 March 15, 2018

One of the best acting she has done so far!

User review rating: 5 March 15, 2018

Yes, she is!

User review rating: 5 March 15, 2018

She's hot!!

User review rating: 2 March 15, 2018

Long and dragged out . The best bits were in the last part of the film . J Law used to be my favorite actress, but of late she has been in dud after dud .Time for her to go back to what worked before it's too late ,as her career seems to be in a nose dive .

User review rating: 5 March 15, 2018

Great movie, though it has issues. Acting and plotting top notch. I think many would say it is the type of movie that reminds you why you go to movies. Certainly the case for me.

User review rating: 5 March 15, 2018

Excellent Excellent! Jennifer Lawrence my favorite, love ballet, Russians nasty ways to force into spy. Housing still at premium, assigned in Russia. Did anyone read Bolshoi Confidential?? JL should receive an award!!

User review rating: 1 March 15, 2018

Almost everytime when the lead character is female, she is portrayed as sexual object and barely anything more. When the actresses learn to have some dignity? Actors don´t have to do this s.it and noone expects them to be male whores in the movies.

User review rating: 5 March 14, 2018

JL is a perfect choice for this great movie.

User review rating: 5 March 14, 2018

OMG, JL is so pretty and sexy.

User review rating: 5 March 14, 2018

Wow, I love this movie, will watch it twice.

User review rating: 5 March 14, 2018

Excellent performance by Jennifer Lawrence, Cool!!!

User review rating: 1 March 14, 2018

Sick no need for all the nudity. The plot does not need that.Ruins a good story

User review rating: 1 March 14, 2018

It's a good thing she's taking a year off. She's really lost her edge.

User review rating: 1 March 13, 2018

If you enjoy watching porn and torture this is the movie for you sickos

User review rating: 1 March 12, 2018

Pornography, rape, sadomasochism, sickening, TRASH!! DO NOT SUPPORT THIS. Rated R! REALLY? 17 YEAR OLDS? Once you SEE bondage and other SEXUAL "content" you can NEVER "UN-SEE" IT! What happened to XXX RATINGS or community standards?? DO NOT GIVE THESE SICK PEOPLE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY!

User review rating: 1 March 12, 2018

10 years since I have been to the movies, will probably be another 10 after seeing this one.

User review rating: 2 March 12, 2018

The movie had very little direction. Not much point.

User review rating: 1 March 12, 2018

Why people see rape as entertainment is disturbing. I don’t usually question other people’s ratings - everyone enjoys different types of movies. But what kind of person enjoys seeing graphic rape scenes, and gives it 5 stars? If that’s not who you are, skip this movie

User review rating: 4 March 11, 2018

Superb I am reading the book too jl is fantastic

User review rating: 5 March 11, 2018

Jennifer Lawrence is absolutely stunning, she is for sure the right actress to act on her role in this film. She is gorgeous and sexy. In facts, without her in this movie, it will be totally disappointed.

Change Location