Thank you for rating this movie!

3.63 / 5

User rating: 3.63

Based on 92 votes and 37 reviews

  • User rating: 3.63 36.84%
  • User rating: 3.63 26.32%
  • User rating: 3.63 13.16%
  • User rating: 3.63 10.53%
  • User rating: 3.63 13.16%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 37 of 37

User review rating: 3 June 07, 2015

Good movie, not great. Somewhat overhyped, and definitely not a best film contender.

User review rating: 3 June 06, 2015

Good movie, not great. Somewhat overhyped, and definitely not a best film contender.

User review rating: 1 March 16, 2015

Waste of time

User review rating: 5 February 28, 2015

I don't think birdman should've won best picture this year, but I also think that the main reason people are hyped over this is because of the 12 year filming. To me, this is not best picture, but it's still AMAZING and deserves tons of Oscars and close to best picture.

User review rating: 1 January 26, 2015

Way too long. No plot.

User review rating: 2 January 21, 2015

Acting is good and the whole 12 years aging thing is cool but this movie is as boring as dirt.

User review rating: 3 January 14, 2015

Boyhood had a a story line that everyone can connect with at some point or another. It shows the truth about growing up and the struggles that accompany it. The idea of using the same actors and actresses over the course of 12 years has a very cool effect in that you get to watch everyone grow up. I do feel however that it was dramatized a bit too much.

User review rating: 4 January 14, 2015

This movie overall was quite interesting. I think that the life events that Mason goes through as he is growing up such as parental divorce and moving several times is relatable to a lot of the audience. I feel like the acting could have been better, especially by Mason and his sister, Samantha. The movie would have been more interesting if it showed Olivia's first husband's children after they have grown up. I would recommend this movie to both teens and adults.

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2015

This 12 year production takes us through through Mason's life from the time he is 6 up until he is 18 years old. Mason goes through all the typical struggles a boy goes through while growing up. From the time he learns to ride a bike to the time he leaves for college, all the key points in his life are caught on film. Mason's mom, Olivia, went through several divorces in her life which Mason and his sister, Samantha, had to adapt to and overcome. Although the film gives a pessimistic view of men, making them all alcoholics, it shows the true struggles of divorce. Overall, the film was very well done and it is highly recommended to people wishing to reminisce about their boyhood.

User review rating: 4 January 13, 2015

An excellent film loved it completely.

User review rating: 4 January 13, 2015

The movie, Boyhood, was movie that was filmed about the growing up and the developments of 6 years boy during the course of 12 years. This project that the amazing director, Richard Linklater had was a very risky one. There the matters of what if things don’t go according to plan that he and his cast to worry about. If something hadn’t gone according to plan then that would mean 12 years down the hatch, but as always he came through to surprise everyone. Interesting to know that although the movie was filmed in 12 years, it was filmed in 39 days and by the time it was done the original named was “12 years” but due to Steve McQueen’s “12 years a slave” he was then forced to change the name to

User review rating: 2 January 13, 2015

Will there be a Girlhood?

User review rating: 0 January 13, 2015

I liked this movie, well i liked the hour and a half that i got to see, i missed a huge chunk of the film because i was at a basketball game so i cannot fully review this movie with accuracy. I liked how they chose to stick with the same cast over a ten year period i really thought that was innovative. As far as the story line goes, its very relatable. I come from a one parent home where my mom is raising 3 boys on her own (including me) So seeing Mason's mother get stressed out every now and then is like seeing my own mother stress. As far as Mason's mom bringing men in and out of the home my mom never did such a thing. There are many instances where i could fully relate to Mason,

User review rating: 4 January 13, 2015

In my opinion the movie boyhood was a good representation on what is can be like growing up as a child and throughout your teens as I am currently in high school. I believe that the role the mother played was not as realistic as it should have been. Overall this movie is a good experience and I would reccommend watching it for both children and adults.

User review rating: 4 January 13, 2015

After watching the full move, I enjoyed it from start to finish. I really like the idea of using the same boy and filming his real life throughout 12 years. This made the movie much more effective and enjoyable. The only thing I found that would have improved my overall rating for this movie is if there was a slight bit of humour added. I felt it was the same tone throughout the movie and having a variety of tones to switch from depending on the scene, would have improved my overall rating for Boyhood. In conclusion, this was a very interesting movie that kept my attention and I enjoyed to watch.

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2015

I thought this movie was very true about life. Watching Mason grow up from when he was just around 6 to where he leaves off to college, makes you feel like you were a part of this family. I found it could be slow at some points but then soon it would pick right back up again. What Mason goes through in high school not really understanding what life's about, I think every person can relate to because nobody really knows then what's the point in your life. Like trying to figure out and understand what you should do with your life and how to make best of it. Overall i think that it was a great film and inspiring to see how people can change and grow up for the better.

User review rating: 4 January 13, 2015

Overall I enjoyed watching this movie. I think that it was an accurate portrayal of what a boy goes through before he reaches adulthood. I can relate to this movie on a personal level because I went through something similar to what Mason went through. I had an alcoholic father for the first few years of my life then he walked out. This movie really touched me on a personal level.

User review rating: 3 January 13, 2015

I thought the movie was interesting in the way that they used the same actors over 12 years but it was confusing as they didnt always tell you how old Mason was and you were left guessing. I enjoyed watching the movie but some parts were more interesting than others. I would recomend this movie to my peers only on the fact that it was cool to see the actors grow up, not because it was a good movie.

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2015

What an excellent film!!! Throughout the course of the movie you get to see the main character develop and mature through all phases of life. The steps Mason takes throughout his childhood are fairly realistic and accurately display the different struggles a growing boy goes through. Although Mason is the main character of this film, the other characters (such as his sister Samantha) are also present through the whole film and their struggles are also shown. The fact that Mason is played by the same actor for the whole movie is quite impressive. I would recommend this movie to everyone.

User review rating: 2 January 13, 2015

I think the idea of keeping the same cast for twelve years and shooting the movie is really interesting idea and artistically is genious. However, is some ways, it lowered the movie to a lower standard. Since there was no way to know who would be a talented actor or actress, the directors took a chance on the children and unfortunately, the chance backfired. Ellar Coltrane's acting made me cringe every time he was on the screen. However, I can understand that the message of the movie was trying to be profound and that is the only thing that I can imagine would allow this movie to win any awards.

User review rating: 4 January 13, 2015

The movie represents life phases, struggles, and events that anyone can go through, making it a very relatable movie for the audience. The idea of how this movie was made makes it much more captivating and intense because you know it's the same boy growing up. I don't think it would've been as good if they created the film in a shorter amount of time because they'd replace the actor constantly for the "growing" effect. I enjoyed the film throughout it all, even though it's very long, because each scene felt like it needed to be there because this is a life movie so it felt completed with scene simple scene. I especially enjoyed the idea of demonstrating individual struggles, intimate rela

User review rating: 4 January 13, 2015

Boyhood was an interesting look in to the life of an average American boy. Although there were many over dramatizations, such as each husband being a drunk, this was a good look into American life. Perhaps the acting could have used a bit more liveliness, but again, it is a look into a typical life. The awkwardness of the characters got to me at some points, but it’s worth getting through. Watching a child grow over 12 years, and watching how he matures into who he is, is an incredible experience. I would recommend watching this movie, even if the length of it seems somewhat daunting.

User review rating: 4 January 13, 2015

Very interesting concept having that same characters over a long period of time. Some aspects of the movie seemed over dramatized and somewhat unrealistic. Relatable situtations the main character is put into. Good portrayal to peer pressure and growing up and all the challenges that comes along with childhood through adolescence. Children can relate well with these situations and feel connected to the movies. Overall the movie was good and entertaining and highly recommend this movie.

User review rating: 3 January 13, 2015

I FORCED to watch by my teacher, and now I'm being FORCED to write this review. Although I wouldn't have chosen to watch this movie on my own, I was pleasantly surprised by the emotion involved in this movie. Watching the family grow, brought back memories of my own family growing up. It was interesting to see the progression throughout their lives, but that acting subpar. Seeing the tension and struggles, although it was staged, brought tears to my eyes. The ending let me down, but overall I would still suggest watching this movie, simply because it is one of a kind.

User review rating: 3 January 13, 2015

Interesting movie and a great concept, I loved how they used the same cast and made the movie over a long period of time. Overall it was a decent movie but with a horrific ending.

User review rating: 2 January 12, 2015

Boring & pointless. Yayyyy it took them 12 years to make it. Revolutionary. Still boring & pointless.

User review rating: 3 October 27, 2014

Very unique and interesting concept following a fictional family over a period of approximately 10 years. It is slow moving, however, it is very interesting observing growth and transition. If you like action, this is not your flic, but if you like to think, it might be in your wheel house.

User review rating: 5 September 07, 2014

Original and creative depiction of real life. So real that at times it seems slow but we observed twelve years of this family's life, especially the boy, so it is amazing the movie was only three hours long. I was so drawn in that, unless Arquette or Hawke were on screen (familiar faces) I often forgot it was a movie. Poinant, accurate and true to life, it leaves us wondering "what is the point"? Loved it.

User review rating: 5 September 04, 2014

Just a real life story of youth!!! It felt so real that it had me wondering if it really is the kid's real story. I loved him right from the start. Very different from the common movies of today.

User review rating: 1 August 31, 2014

I think this movie is too long & there were scenes in it that were not necessary. I almost got up to walk out a few times, but kept hoping it would get better, so stayed until the end. His mother's story was far better than the boy's.

User review rating: 5 August 24, 2014

Awesome Movie! This movie was so well made. it shows you what families go through during relationships, divorces and being a single parent. In all of this it's what kids have to go through and how they feel about the parents that shape there whole life.

User review rating: 5 August 15, 2014

Fantastic movie that is the most accurate in showing what life is really like. The movie was filmed over a 12 year period and shows the most believable evolution of a boy and his somewhat fractured family. The movie's running time is 2hr 45min, but it moves faster and flows greater than most movies like the Lord of the Rings films. Richard Linklater has created a masterpiece. GO SEE THIS ONE OF A KIND MOVIE!!!

User review rating: 4 August 14, 2014

I enjoyed watching this movie even though it was a bit long. Great acting.

User review rating: 0 August 10, 2014

Can't wait for Girlhood!

User review rating: 5 August 09, 2014

enjoyed every minute of the movie.

User review rating: 2 August 08, 2014

It dragged on and on. It's interesting to watch the boy grow up, but he changes so completely that he might as well have been another actor by the time he was a teen. Nothing really ever happens and he wasn't an interesting enough character to make me care what happened to him. The adults are really portrayed in a negative light, all they did is pester him. I just didn't like this movie at all.

User review rating: 5 August 01, 2014

I would tell everyone to see this movie. I want young people to see this movie and understand themselves better. It is a compelling story that makes one understand better the choices we make in life about marriage. It is a very serious crossroad.

Change Location