James D'Arcy Biography

James D'Arcy photo

Born: August 24, 1975


Date of Birth: August 24, 1975

Born as Simon D'Arcy in Fulham, London, James D'Arcy grew up with his mother, a nurse and his younger sister Charlotte; his father died when James was young. In 1991, he left London and went to work in the drama department of a school in Perth, Australia. His work sparked an interest in acting and after a year, he returned to London, where in 1995 he completed his BA in Acting at London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art.

In an interview with the U.K. newspaper Metro, a U.K. newspaper, James admitted the worst job he'd ever held was cleaning streets, as it was before they had the machines to do the job. He also said he'd worked at McDonald's where someone once pointed a gun at him.

James first appeared in small roles on television series like Dalziel and Pascoe and Silent Witness. He also acted in TV movies such as Sherlock, playing the title role and The Ice House, alongside Daniel Craig. In 1999, he again starred with Craig in The Trench.

He played the role of 1st Lt. Tom Pullings in the 2003 film Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World with Russell Crowe and Paul Bettany. More recently, he starred as King Edward VIII in W./E., directed by Madonna.

Also included on his resumé are horror movies such as Exorcist: The Beginning, An American Haunting and Rise: Blood Hunter with Lucy Liu and Robert Forster. In The Making of Psycho (2013), James played the role of Anthony Perkins alongside Anthony Hopkins, Scarlett Johansson and Jessica Biel.

More recently, he's appeared in a range of movies, from the comedy Let's Be Cops (2014) to the war drama Dunkirk (2017).

In regards to his current living situation, the English actor told Metro, "Being an actor is like being a gipsy—you go where the work is."


Dunkirk (2017)
The Snowman (2017)
Jupiter Ascending (2015)
Survivor (2015)
Let's Be Cops (2014)
The Making of Psycho (2013)
Cloud Atlas (2012)
The Philosophers (2012)
Replicas (2012)
W./E. (2011)
Screwed (2011)
Age of Heroes (2011)
The Flight of the Swan (2011)
Overnight (2010)
Flashbacks of a Fool (2008)
Rise (2007)
An American Haunting (2005)
Exorcist: The Beginning (2004)
Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World (2003)
Dot the I (2003)
Revelation (2001)
Guest House Paradiso (1999)
The Trench (1999)
Wilde (1997)
  Change Location