Whale Rider

Thank you for rating this movie!

Whale Rider Movie Poster

4.39 / 5

User rating: 4.39

Based on 4281 votes and 43 reviews


  • User rating: 4.39 83.61%
  • User rating: 4.39 0.98%
  • User rating: 4.39 0.42%
  • User rating: 4.39 0.54%
  • User rating: 4.39 14.45%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 43 of 43

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2012

my whole family loves this movie. we watch it over and over. it is awesome to see movies that portray the native traditional ways. keeping their tradition alive through songs, dances and stories. your in for a ride. a movie the whole family can enjoy. thank you.

User review rating: 0 October 24, 2005

i think all young girls should watch this film, especially now, when in these times girls need to know their destiny. There is more for us on this planet. these are the times when women need to realize that tradition is a wonderful thing, but women can be true leaders too regardless of hundreds of years of prejudism for being a women and whatour traditional roles are in society. We CAN do it.

User review rating: 0 May 01, 2004

it was one of the best movies i have seen in a long time, i could not take my eyes off the t.v. every one how helped make the movie should be happy with it i will buy it when it comes out.

User review rating: 0 March 22, 2004

This was the most moving and touching movie i`ve ever seen! Kudos to everyone involved, especially Keisha Castle-Hughes! She deserved the oscar nomination and should have won!!!

User review rating: 0 March 08, 2004

Very good movie - great insight to Maori traditions as well as their lives today. Beautiful set. Lovely young actress - great performance.

User review rating: 0 March 01, 2004

This is a must-see film for any parent. It crosses all cultural boundaries and speaks a deep truth. How do we want to be influential to our children? Go and see this movie. Spiritually moving.

User review rating: 0 March 01, 2004

The acting in this film was true, believable, right-on, choice, incredible. I loved Pai, I loved her grandmother, I hated her grandfather, I understood her father, I adored her uncle, I connected with her school mates. This is a beautiful tale.

User review rating: 0 March 01, 2004

This ranks as one of my favourite films of all time.

User review rating: 0 January 29, 2004

keisha castle-hughes is amazing! this is a beautiful story and keisha does a fantastic job! 5 stars for sure!

User review rating: 0 December 09, 2003

As a maori I found it a universal story to connect with everybody in differnt cultures & countries around the world. Most definately one of my favorite films

User review rating: 0 December 08, 2003

An absolutely awesome film - DVD version of Keisha`s audition just blew us away.

User review rating: 0 December 07, 2003

This was the best movie I have seen this year. I was very impressed with the cast and this is the first movie that made me cry in a long time.

User review rating: 0 December 06, 2003

I loved the movie very much. Keisha Castle-hughes did awesome

User review rating: 0 November 29, 2003

I think that Whale Rider was an unforgettable movie! It was truly amazing! I really enjoyed it and I recommend everone to watch it!

User review rating: 0 November 26, 2003

Well, simply put, I have a new all-time favorite movie. As far as I am concerned, every aspect of this film was perfect. I feel very fortunate to have seen this wonderful movie.

User review rating: 0 November 25, 2003

I was so inspired by the movie `Whale Rider` that I did some individual research on the Maori people. I`m facinated with the tradtions passed along to even the most modern generations of Maoris. I would engourage everyone to see this movie for it`s moral message.

User review rating: 0 November 22, 2003

It was an extremely interesting and best movie ever in today`s society. Shows several aspects of courage, faith, love, and care.

User review rating: 0 November 17, 2003

An extreming moving movie which accurately portrayed Maori life in the small communities. Just brilliant. I loved it!

User review rating: 0 October 28, 2003

It the best movie I have ever seen. And that is why I would like information where I can purchase the dvd.

User review rating: 0 September 27, 2003

the best real movie ive seen in a long time

User review rating: 0 September 14, 2003

It was an amazing, artistically beautiful movie. It has such an impact.

User review rating: 0 September 09, 2003

excellent!! Very well done. Should receive an Oscar!! - 5 Stars

User review rating: 0 September 01, 2003

Excellent - 5 stars

User review rating: 0 August 22, 2003

I HAVE NOT SEEN A MOVIE THAT HAS TOUCHED MY HEART SO MUCH AS THIS ONE.PAIKEA`S PERFORMANCE WAS OUTSTANDING.I HAVE SEEN THIS MOVIE 3 TIMES. THANK YOU FOR BRINGING IT TO THE BIG SCREEN.

User review rating: 0 August 21, 2003

beautiful movie

User review rating: 0 August 21, 2003

Excellent! Poignant and finally joyous.

User review rating: 0 August 16, 2003

fantastic ...it was awsome to see talent... not just hollywood glitter...i loved it

User review rating: 0 August 16, 2003

beautiful, haunting and an inspiring tale. I loved this movie and want to see it again.

User review rating: 0 August 11, 2003

I thought that this film was fantastic and I would encourage anyone who wishes to know something about another culture to see it!

User review rating: 0 August 09, 2003

Best movie this year so far....what a sweet film.

User review rating: 0 July 30, 2003

i thought it was a well written movie! 5 thumbs up!

User review rating: 0 July 27, 2003

Bloody brilliant!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 July 22, 2003

sucked eggs. a waste of film.

User review rating: 0 July 22, 2003

Great movie. A must see for all.

User review rating: 0 July 21, 2003

very very very good movie it was all great the acting the cinematography and verything it was so so good everyone should see this movie

User review rating: 0 July 20, 2003

It was an excellent movie. I appreciated the view into the Maori culture and would love to visit New Zealand to see it first hand.

User review rating: 0 July 15, 2003

Excellent movie

User review rating: 0 July 14, 2003

I really like it. Amazing movie.

User review rating: 0 July 03, 2003

It was SO-SO. Infact it was TOO SLOW!

User review rating: 0 June 30, 2003

Every mother of a young girl should escort her daughter to this movie. It is just so empowering. The cinematography is superb and the direction is spot-on. Terrific!

User review rating: 0 June 19, 2003

Amazing movie. The cinematography was breath-taking and the story very moving. Anyone that has been to New Zealand and knows something of Maori culture should definitely go see it.

User review rating: 0 June 14, 2003

ok

User review rating: 0 June 13, 2003

Absolutly Awesome!

Change Location