Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.54 / 5

User rating: 3.54

Based on 112 votes and 35 reviews


  • User rating: 3.54 24.07%
  • User rating: 3.54 33.33%
  • User rating: 3.54 18.52%
  • User rating: 3.54 20.37%
  • User rating: 3.54 3.70%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 35 of 35

User review rating: 4 May 24, 2012

loved this movie. the performances alone are worth the watch.

User review rating: 4 May 07, 2012

i really enjoyed this spy drama. great acting and a smart script. often wonder how much of this is actually true and went on during the cold war..and maybe today.

User review rating: 5 April 29, 2012

phenomenal film that keeps you guessing the entire way throu!

User review rating: 1 April 17, 2012

So boring. I couldn't figure out what it was about. And after the scene involving horrendous animal cruelty, I couldn't watch anymore. I forwarded to the end to see if there was a disclaimer about animals not being harmed, but there wasn't one so that beautiful, terrified owl must have actually been murdered for this stupid movie.

User review rating: 4 April 02, 2012

really enjoyed this spy-thriller. great cast and smart script.

User review rating: 4 March 28, 2012

good movie. slow, but intense. loved oldman in it.

User review rating: 4 March 20, 2012

intense "who done it" movie. not an action movie, but very good at building suspense. great cast that make the story work. good movie!

User review rating: 2 March 10, 2012

too confusing and disjointed' would like to see again at home where i can at least fall asleep in my comfy bed when i get frustrated/i really would like to understand it

User review rating: 4 February 15, 2012

very good movie!!

User review rating: 4 February 13, 2012

although a bit slow, the movie creates intensity with the fantastic performances and words. a smart script and great acting make this movie one of the best spy-game movies in ages.

User review rating: 4 February 07, 2012

albeit a bit slow, its an excellent character drama...great performances ties this movie together. a real treat.

User review rating: 3 February 07, 2012

very good movie.

User review rating: 4 February 06, 2012

incredible movie!!!

User review rating: 4 February 01, 2012

smart, psycological thriller. slow, but good.

User review rating: 2 January 26, 2012

old people would love this movie!

User review rating: 2 January 26, 2012

this movie had a great cast and cinematography. however the storyline was excessively dry. the only way i can describe it is as if you have just awoken with a giant hangover from a party at alan rickman's house. at first, you are interested in trying to piece together the night prior, but then you simply stop caring.

User review rating: 2 January 24, 2012

i think i feel asleep during the movie -- i'm not sure, but i think somebody kicked my chair to wake me up -- i snore.

User review rating: 4 January 24, 2012

this movie is probably more indicative of how the spy industry works - not like james bond 007. that's why i saw the film and i wasn't disappointed. i figure i'll have to see it again to make sense of it all. who can we really trust to run our governments?

User review rating: 4 January 23, 2012

highly entertaining, complex spy-drama. superb cast!!

User review rating: 3 January 21, 2012

very slow and disjointed. acting is very good, but probably better saved for a cold winter evening on a dvd player.

User review rating: 4 January 18, 2012

very good!!

User review rating: 4 January 17, 2012

a very well-crafted movie.

User review rating: 4 January 17, 2012

a smart, clever and well-crafted spy-thriller. not much by way of action, but a smart script and and a great cast.

User review rating: 2 January 15, 2012

Somebody find my pulse..this movie was BORRRRING!

User review rating: 4 January 13, 2012

A very smart movie. It doesn't act like the audience is a bunch of stupid people. It's an intelligent film about the spy game in England during the Cold War.

User review rating: 2 January 13, 2012

great looking movie but poorly directed imho...there is literally zero character development and they jump head first into the story as if the audience knows what the hell they are talking about...none of it makes any sense for more than the first half of the movie at which time you no longer care and have lost all interest

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2012

LOVED IT!...one of the best movies of 2011. Oscar worthy performances. A smart "who done it" type of movie.

User review rating: 3 January 10, 2012

The original BBC production, starring Alex Guiness, was both more perceptive and captivating.

User review rating: 3 January 08, 2012

wanted more action

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2012

I just love a suspenseful story, well done.

User review rating: 1 January 02, 2012

Have not read the book so it could be part of the reason I couldn't have cared less for any of the characters. Movie so confusing I found myself frustrated and disinterested.

User review rating: 3 December 31, 2011

Ok movie but the cold war is so over.

User review rating: 3 December 29, 2011

I was disappointed. I enjoy spy films, especially British spy films, but I found the film wanting. Almost too slow-moving, even though that's Le Carre's signature (the original book was written by him, for those who don't know that). It seemed to be a lot of bluster about very little -- I almost wish I hadn't seen it because it the characters were dull. A better film in the same vein: Page Eight, which starred Bill Nighy and Rachel Weisz (made for British TV, but screened at the Toronto International Film Festival in 2011).

User review rating: 0 December 27, 2011

It's a difficult story to tell in just over 2 hours. I suspect almost all the audience has read the books and knows the characters. The feel of 1970's Britain and the Cold War Era would be lost on anyone under 55. Spying never was flashy machines and gun play. My money was well spent. Four stars out of five.

User review rating: 3 December 20, 2011

expected more

Change Location