The Trotsky

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.12 / 5

User rating: 3.12

Based on 170 votes and 30 reviews

  • User rating: 3.12 29.41%
  • User rating: 3.12 15.29%
  • User rating: 3.12 20.00%
  • User rating: 3.12 8.24%
  • User rating: 3.12 27.06%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 30 of 30

User review rating: 1 July 30, 2010

great movie, really enjoyed it, watch and enjoy

User review rating: 3 July 30, 2010

A good story. Interesting concept for a story. Now tighten up the script and loosen up the characters a bit. And you will get a really good movie

User review rating: 4 July 30, 2010


User review rating: 4 July 27, 2010

This is what you call a smart comedy. It is full of political jokes, and if you feel it getting too teen coming-of-age, it will add a bit of Russian history. I would have preferred if they gave us more political history and less teen comedy, but then again they probably wanted an audience.

User review rating: 4 July 27, 2010

Engrossing picture. Jay Baruchel does an excellent job. With this picture, he'll be around for years to come for sure. Excellent story, and camera work and production not something I normally notice, but it was excellent in this. Jacob Tierney did an excellent job!

User review rating: 2 July 20, 2010

Comedic at times. Rather boring, and uneventful.

User review rating: 5 July 19, 2010

Jay is great in this movie!

User review rating: 3 July 16, 2010

Nice,amiable,quirky comedy. It doesn't deliver as many laughs as it should or could have but the idea of a youth attempting to live his life according to a perceived notion of destiny ie that one's name is prophecy is amusing. Jay Baruchel does possess some comic smarts. Colm Feore,however seems embarrassed to be in the movie. In reality,of course wouldn't someone in the family have gently suggested that the young man attend a few sessions with a therapist? Also,did young Bronstein not read about the real Leon's brutal,untimely end?

User review rating: 4 July 16, 2010

acting:5 score:5 direction:5 very good little movie rating:4/5

User review rating: 3 July 15, 2010

Not terribly funny to my taste.

User review rating: 5 July 15, 2010

This movie is a riot, I saw this movie a week ago and i'm still laughing!

User review rating: 5 July 15, 2010

A fun Canadian movie with a quirky character.

User review rating: 3 July 14, 2010

Not my taste for a movie. Funny at times but really a silly movie.

User review rating: 2 July 13, 2010

A fun movie.

User review rating: 3 July 13, 2010

pretty funny. Overall, a good movie and worth spending the money to see.

User review rating: 2 July 12, 2010

Not funny enough to call a comedy, not compelling or interesting enough to be a drama.

User review rating: 3 July 11, 2010

I thought it would be a little bit funnier, but it was still pretty good...I love the cast. If you like Jay Baruchel, you will love this movie.

User review rating: 4 July 10, 2010

I'm proud to be Canadian and this film does our country proud! Great to see Saul Rubenik again!

User review rating: 0 July 04, 2010

Excellent picture in every way. Nice to see Montreal native Jay Baruchel cast in a wrole that suits him perfectly.

User review rating: 0 July 02, 2010

Jay Baruchel impresses again.

User review rating: 3 July 01, 2010


User review rating: 1 June 29, 2010

the directer should be put in jail for robbery! pay to see this,i think not!

User review rating: 1 June 07, 2010

This movie was highly predictable, vulgar and the dialogue was very flat. The movie seemed to play to the 45 yr old, bald man/pot belly-comic nerd demoraphic.

User review rating: 0 June 07, 2010

The Worst Movie have EVER SEEN>>>..pure AGONY.

User review rating: 5 June 04, 2010

HIlarious. This movie is not for morons. If you're looking for toilet humour and fart jokes, this is not for you.

User review rating: 2 May 26, 2010

20 minutes too long with the worst romantic subplot in history. Some nice comic setpieces, though.

User review rating: 3 May 24, 2010

I should have read the first review. This movie SUCKED.

User review rating: 5 May 24, 2010

A good comedy, interesting topic and a message to kids to get involved. Anything out of Quebec is great!

User review rating: 5 May 23, 2010

I'm not sure what the last reviewer is rambling about...his/her's is the kind of review you might find smeared on a bathroom wall. This is a very funny movie, with an excellent story. See it if you're not a rambling maniac.

User review rating: 1 May 15, 2010

What's wrong with you reviewers, you are the reason that i shelled out money to see this. The main charecter is RICH, dadddy owns his own factory, wifey drives a fancy car daddy drives a convertable, kids live in a mansion and Leon"the main charecter" has mental issues, yet why noone knows, why the list he is making of trying to live someone else's life. Alexandra the pedophile gf, made me sick, and you'll see why if genders were switched well then, you'd get a diff. reaction. Canada poroduces poor standard cinema and I am appaled we give funding to such c_a*.Yes hollywood procuses a bunch of crumy screenplays but at least they back it financially.

Change Location