The Shallows

Thank you for rating this movie!

2.85 / 5

User rating: 2.85

Based on 132 votes and 25 reviews


  • User rating: 2.85 34.43%
  • User rating: 2.85 9.84%
  • User rating: 2.85 8.20%
  • User rating: 2.85 1.64%
  • User rating: 2.85 45.90%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 25 of 25

User review rating: 1 November 18, 2016

Spielberg's JAWS is the only good killer shark movie. Every shark movie since has been vastly inferior. But I felt that there was something else quite familiar about this and then it dawned on me: Really bad film...insane lack of logic...annoying female protagonist struggling and surviving against the odds...yep, this is GRAVITY with a shark.

User review rating: 1 November 18, 2016

Beyond terrible. Was the screenwriter a mongoloid?

User review rating: 1 November 18, 2016

Ridiculously illogical, clumsily assembled, and extremely frustrating. One of the most insulting films I've ever seen. Imbecilic kids may like it.

User review rating: 5 October 02, 2016

if you like the movie Jaws then you will love this

User review rating: 5 October 02, 2016

really good movie, 2 thumb's up

User review rating: 4 September 21, 2016

Surprisingly good movie. I wasn't expecting much but very pleasantly surprised to be engaged and on edge throughout the movie...the director did a great job of keeping us in suspense. Good movie.

User review rating: 5 September 08, 2016

This is one of the better shark movies I've seen in a while. Very thrilling. My only complain is sometimes the shark looked a little obviously CGI and the story seemed a tad bit unrealistic, but it was still a really fun movie.

User review rating: 1 July 26, 2016

Save your money.. and time..

User review rating: 5 July 24, 2016

The plot shows a young woman who has guts times ten . The knowledge to get out of sticky situations.and when her back is against the rock so to speak she comes through I would like to see her in a female type James Bond character

User review rating: 3 July 19, 2016

this movie was ok.....not bad.....not great ....the one thing that I hated was the stupid phone pop up when she was texting or talking on the phone ...and as well the watch pop up too ...kill some of the film plus the dumb song their where playing when she was surfing to please the young fans, they did make it different a take a chance to not worry what people are going to think

User review rating: 1 July 12, 2016

It amazes me how any semi-intelligent adult could think this movie was anything but bad acting (think Lively attempting to channel the brilliant and talented actor, Kate Winslet, in Titanic), as well as an utter waste of film and time. It takes a great talent (think Tom Hanks) to single-handedly captivate the audience in a cinematic experience (as in 'Cast Away'). Others have done it well too ... Resse Witherspoon in 'Wild' ... James Franco in '127 Hours'. Blake Lively, beautiful and fit as she is, simply has no authentic acting ability to carry a good movie, let alone one with such an insubstantial story. Carmel

User review rating: 4 July 09, 2016

Honestly, I enjoyed this picture. It's not about superheroes or destructive alien chaos: it's about a girl trying to find inner peace through surfing in a secluded Mexican cove, where a menacing shark happens to be there. I was surprised to find a hidden gem in this small, but effective film.

User review rating: 4 July 09, 2016

Worth seeing for the cinematography alone. Well done.

User review rating: 1 July 06, 2016

One of the worst movie I've seen in years Total waste of time

User review rating: 3 July 04, 2016

Not the worst movie, yet not the greatest. I personally would recommend only if your a shark fanatic such as myself. You'd think this movie would somewhat be more exciting than the Jaws series, however it does have a different touch regarding Shark Thriller movies. If your bored, give it a try...IF your bored, lol.

User review rating: 3 July 03, 2016

Meh. Didn't like it, didn't hate it. I should have waited to go to see it at the cheap seats.

User review rating: 5 July 01, 2016

Amazing movie loved all the suspense

User review rating: 5 July 01, 2016

its impossible to make people happybut areal breath offresh airgreat job young ladyirecomend this film it will capture urthoughtsanticipation of fear of the danger that we can come face toface in the sea and how fragile we are under the starsand our human ingenuity for survival when faced with danger how we can turn the tides to sirvive for another day by never giving up hope that is what this movie all about not just about ashark

User review rating: 5 June 29, 2016

I thought this movie was great. Very suspensful, some amazing shots and cinematography. Anyone giving this movie one star either hates Blake Lively or hates everything.

User review rating: 3 June 28, 2016

IT WAS OK !

User review rating: 1 June 27, 2016

This movie was awful. It was made to showcase fading star Blake Lively by using a shark. Not only was it a bad film but it was not scary or entertaining, it was a complete waste of time and money. BLAAA!

User review rating: 1 June 26, 2016

The shark was better looking than the girl.

User review rating: 5 June 25, 2016

On the edge of my seat the entire movie. Amazing.

User review rating: 1 June 25, 2016

Don't go to this movie is was stupid and boring

User review rating: 4 June 24, 2016

Well done, beautiful Mexican beach and some cool surfing mixed in with a vindictive shark; will keep you anticipating the worst. Cool movie.

Change Location