The Rum Diary

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.27 / 5

User rating: 3.27

Based on 240 votes and 83 reviews


  • User rating: 3.27 10.92%
  • User rating: 3.27 37.82%
  • User rating: 3.27 26.89%
  • User rating: 3.27 15.97%
  • User rating: 3.27 8.40%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 83

User review rating: 5 June 03, 2012

excellent 5 star movie, i would watch it again.

User review rating: 1 May 11, 2012

this movie was so bad it drove me to drink!

User review rating: 2 April 24, 2012

while depp and eckhart were great, the movie was lacking in any entertainment value.

User review rating: 5 February 27, 2012

excellent movie, lots of laughs !

User review rating: 3 February 24, 2012

entertaining movie. better than i expected.

User review rating: 3 January 05, 2012

Good movie as always with Johnny.

User review rating: 3 January 04, 2012

Filled the time, not much else, the popcorn was good.

User review rating: 3 January 03, 2012

Johnny rules!

User review rating: 3 December 28, 2011

Only reason to see this movie is the performance of Johnny Depp

User review rating: 3 December 26, 2011

Johnny at his best!

User review rating: 4 December 22, 2011

Johnny Depp as usual gives a great performance, fun movie!

User review rating: 3 December 16, 2011

GOOD MOVIE

User review rating: 3 December 12, 2011

This movie was enjoyable. Amber Heard is gorgeous! Interesting plot but I feel like the ending was sort of incomplete.

User review rating: 4 December 10, 2011

Enjoyed this movie very much.

User review rating: 5 December 10, 2011

Once again Mr.Depp you always put out one great movie after another. This is worth seeing!

User review rating: 2 December 08, 2011

I'ts A Shame Johnny Depp Couldn't Make This Movie Work, The Trailer Looked Great, But It Was More Like A Series Of Skits Jumbled Together.

User review rating: 4 December 04, 2011

Enjoyed this movie very much.

User review rating: 2 November 28, 2011

Soooo very disappointed in this movie..Johnny Depp is my all time fave and although well acted, it was so boring and hard to make sense of. I kept waiting for something to "happen".

User review rating: 3 November 28, 2011

With out JD , movie would be sub-par!

User review rating: 4 November 24, 2011

Hunter s Thompson is my favorite author and Johnny Depp has adapted his stories to the big screen admirably. I enjoy the escape from reality and hope the rest of Hunter's books will be developed into movies as well. Great locations, fun movie...enjoy!

User review rating: 3 November 23, 2011

This movie had some interesting elements such as lovely cinematography, colorful characters, and a few lively scenes; however, it fell a bit short on plot eliciting the feeling that this has all been done, maybe to the point where the story lacked a sense of truthfulness. The authentic setting and the funny bits do make it a worthwhile view. If one must choose from the lesser of two evils, let it be this.

User review rating: 3 November 21, 2011

Pretty boring but with Depp it's always been hit and miss. A good one or two movies, then a poor one and the cycle continues. Hopefully he won't make any new sequels either-Pirates types get old, fast!

User review rating: 2 November 19, 2011

This is a light wieght Johnny Depp movie...a little boring

User review rating: 2 November 18, 2011

It was okay to start off then moving along it lagged for a bit then went good then lagged but by the end it was like is it over yet?!?

User review rating: 2 November 18, 2011

Started out fairly well--a few good laughs --but over all weird.

User review rating: 2 November 17, 2011

Pretty boring, disappointing ending.

User review rating: 3 November 16, 2011

ya was all right

User review rating: 1 November 15, 2011

Really disappointing!!! Slow, boring, no plot.

User review rating: 4 November 15, 2011

Some hilarious scenes.

User review rating: 3 November 13, 2011

A little slow at times but still entertaining.

User review rating: 4 November 13, 2011

Well worth the price of a ticket.

User review rating: 3 November 13, 2011

Just for big Depp fans

User review rating: 4 November 13, 2011

love Johnny Depp in anything !

User review rating: 0 November 13, 2011

Johnny Depp makes the movie........lots of drinking going on

User review rating: 3 November 12, 2011

interesting character/author

User review rating: 4 November 11, 2011

Enjoyed this movie very much.

User review rating: 4 November 11, 2011

Johnny Depp is the reason i rated it 4 stars. I was lost a few times watching it, all i remember was lots of drinking.... Johnny looks so handsome, didnt age one bit since the 80s. I do love his quirky humor and there was a few good belly laughs in this one but overall, i would wait to dvd release....

User review rating: 4 November 10, 2011

Some very funny parts.

User review rating: 0 November 10, 2011

I was really disappointed with this movie. I found it to be boring with the exception of a few really good laughs that at least made me feel that it wasn't a complete waste.

User review rating: 4 November 09, 2011

Great movie!

User review rating: 4 November 09, 2011

Loved the funny car scenes.

User review rating: 4 November 09, 2011

A great movie but a huge deviation from the book.

User review rating: 3 November 08, 2011

The movie was interesting, but kept me wanting more, not in a good way. I felt the movie never got to where it was wanting to go. But overall, it was entertaining.

User review rating: 4 November 08, 2011

Enjoyed this movie very much.

User review rating: 3 November 08, 2011

I took the time to read the book a week before the movie was released. This should not have been done. While the movie followed a competent story line, it just did not pull the viewer in to see the characters as developing real relationships. Not Depp's best work, nor Thompson's best screen adaptation. But good enough to see a drug and booze-induced trip through the Caribbean. Which everyone really wants

User review rating: 1 November 08, 2011

Huge disappointment! Johnny Depp's great character acting ability is certainly not displayed in this movie. I wish he would do a serious movie for a change.

User review rating: 4 November 07, 2011

You gotta love Hunter S Thompson!

User review rating: 4 November 07, 2011

Not as good as Fear and Loathing but still an amazing performance by Johnny Depp.

User review rating: 0 November 07, 2011

This movie was incredibly boring - I wanted to leave after the first 10 minutes, but I went with someone else. I wouldn't even recommend it for a rental. You keep thinking the plot is going to develop, and it never does, so you're wondering for the whole movie It goes nowhere. I do not recommend this movie at all.

User review rating: 4 November 06, 2011

Jonny Depp does an awesome job a bringing Hunter S. Thompson's world to the screen. A spiralling story that is a credible follow-up to Fear & Loathing in Las Vegas.

Change Location