The Road (2009)

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.95 / 5

User rating: 3.95

Based on 163 votes and 49 reviews

  • User rating: 3.95 51.85%
  • User rating: 3.95 19.75%
  • User rating: 3.95 12.35%
  • User rating: 3.95 3.70%
  • User rating: 3.95 12.35%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 49 of 49

User review rating: 5 July 29, 2013

Awesome movie! Very realistic for what could/will happen one day.

User review rating: 4 June 14, 2012

ezxcellent movie based on an excellent book!!

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2011


User review rating: 5 January 06, 2011

Now I took the time to read the comments about this movie and like one person mentions, this movie is not for everyone. As for the person that said the book of Eli is better, they wouldn't know the difference between a good or bad movie if it hit them in the face. Honestly, this is a great movie, and in my opinion if your not mature and sensitive don't watch the movie.

User review rating: 3 November 04, 2010

the film was very dark and you will not crack a smile through the whole movie

User review rating: 1 June 24, 2010

as someone mentioned, just like a zombie movie, the only thing missing was the zombies. Lousy ending too.

User review rating: 3 June 17, 2010

very powerful and entertainig movie!

User review rating: 4 June 13, 2010

Well acted and directed. It has haunting scenery and bleak, simple dialogue.

User review rating: 4 June 08, 2010

A beautiful father son relationship at the end of hope. Stays true to the book. Not a lot of laughs though. :-)

User review rating: 5 June 06, 2010

I was hypnotised from the moment it started. It was not what I thought I was in for when I sat down to watch but it was fantastic non the less. Really dug deep. Wonder how much therapy the actors needed after shooting. Bleak but provoking

User review rating: 3 June 06, 2010

i was surpised at how much i liked this movie. I thought it was well acted and crafted by the director. An excellent movie

User review rating: 5 June 06, 2010

This is a love it or hate it type of movie. I thought it was a gritty, thought provoking, look at the desperation of human existence as our planet is dying. It is definitely a depressing, relentless struggle ... but I loved every minute.

User review rating: 3 June 05, 2010

Very emotional, well acted movie. Albeit a bit slow at times, the movie was an insprational story about a father's love for hisson.

User review rating: 1 June 02, 2010

What a bloody waste of film and talent. Could this movie be any more boring. There was no sense no didn't go anywhere or endup with a good ending. It SUCKED the big one. It had nothing to offer. And in the real world this could never happen. sorry to say but everything about this movie was horrible. I'm sorry I wasted my money. But mostly my time....I will never get that back. YUCK....Hated this movie...

User review rating: 5 May 31, 2010

I thought this movie was really good. The acting was amazing. Viggo did a very good job.

User review rating: 1 May 30, 2010

I love this actor, but for V.M. this movie is such a downer. If you don't like depressing movies that include cannibalism, don't watch it!

User review rating: 5 May 30, 2010

At first we thought this was going to be a long boring movie. Our family couldnt take our eyes off it until the end. I would highly recommend watching it.

User review rating: 1 May 29, 2010

This movie was BORING. The book of Eli was better. It was very slow and uneventful. I couldn’t wait for it to end. The world was destroyed but to sit through a whole movie where the characters walk about aimlessly, no excitement, no interesting plot it was quite a waste of time. I generously give this movie one star.

User review rating: 2 May 26, 2010

no power, no vegetation, no beginning, no end, no pacing, no plot. The only way to have saved this movies was add zombies, at least then I wouldn't have had any expectations of quality film making. As a matter of fact that is how I would describe this film, a zombie movie without the zombies. Pointless.

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2010

after seeing this movie we could not forget about it, incredible acting, humanity at its best and worst. we have told everyone we know to see it, the studios should have supported this movie, people need to see it.

User review rating: 1 January 31, 2010

terrible, waste of time and money!!

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2010

To really appreciate this movie, read the book first. Either way, a very moving movie!

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2010

Not like any film i've ever seen befor,and beleave me i've seen a LOT of films! This has got too be viggo at his BEST!!! 2 - thumbs UP!... WAY UP FOR ME!!! Can't wait for the DVD release date!

User review rating: 2 January 09, 2010

Just way too depressing

User review rating: 5 December 24, 2009

Great Movie. Papa, Papa

User review rating: 4 December 10, 2009

this movie was poorly marketed by the studio, it should be seen! and in the theater , this movie with its bleak nomadic nothing like you've ever seen king of movie/feeling and its stayed with me for days as i believe it will for you as well, very powerful and strong, i recommend it emphatically N.D

User review rating: 0 December 09, 2009

Viggo Mortensen and the boy that plays his son in the movie Kodi Smit-McPhee were brilliant in their roles. The movie on the other hand was very disappointing. I saw this movie a couple of months back at the Toronto International Film Festival and believe me when i tell you the best part of the movie is when the credits came up at the end. Beware of the trailers and commercials you see of this movie, the story line they pôrtray is very false. Like i said Vigo and Kodi were brilliant but the movie in all was Very Disappointing.

User review rating: 3 December 07, 2009

Good not great. Bleakness personified.

User review rating: 4 December 07, 2009


User review rating: 5 December 06, 2009

Excellent movie! This is a very compelling story between father & son and the will to survive. Emotional especially if ur a parent n immerse urself n2 the characters. I noticed several people around me crying... NOT for the crowd who needs CGI and constant over-the-top ACTION to keep them entertained w/o ever developing a story and or characters.

User review rating: 4 December 05, 2009

A very good performance by Vigo,but a very depressing film.

User review rating: 4 December 03, 2009

This film is for people with attention spans. Not the G.I.Joe crowd. You need a working brain to watch this movie.

User review rating: 4 December 03, 2009

The feel good movie of the year!! Ton's of laughs...kidding. If I hadn't read the book I wonder if I would have enjoyed it as much as I did. For fans only.

User review rating: 5 December 03, 2009

This movie is excellent. If you have read the book especially it follows it fairly well. Very sad, and emotional. Screw everyone who says it is boring.

User review rating: 5 November 30, 2009

Excellent movie! Viggo is amazing!

User review rating: 2 November 30, 2009

i'll sum it up - dark, depressing, well acted, nicely shot, depressing, bleak, traumatic, and really depressing. Its Mad Max, without the action and all the emotion, meets Texas Chainsaw massacre, without the graphic violence.

User review rating: 2 November 30, 2009

don't hit THE ROAD to see this movie..... talk about a movie that going nowhere.... save your money......

User review rating: 4 November 29, 2009

Great movie...

User review rating: 4 November 29, 2009

It was a good end of the world movie. It reminded me of a cross between Planet of the Apes meets Damnation Alley and Soilent Green. I found out about this movie from a friend in Toronto that referred me to a site called in the GTA. I found someone within a few days and we both would recommend this movie and this site to find new friends and movie dates. jjsteel2009

User review rating: 4 November 29, 2009

"great film. If you liked No Country for Old Men, you'll like this." I Couldn't stand "Old Country for Old Men"! What a boring senseless movie it was. How would it figure if I Didn't like the above movie? Then if I went to see The Road and liked it then what?? So your idea doesn't make any sense in this regard. I have to give it a rating so if I see it, I'll give it 5 stars if it is Very Good. Considering everything, I think it is will be 5 stars from what I've seen and heard of the comments, plus the story and acting, etc.!

User review rating: 4 November 29, 2009

Very well acted, especially by Viggo... But it's very dark too, and not for everybody.

User review rating: 1 November 28, 2009

This movie is garbage. I appreciate good stories but this is 119mins way too long...Every scene repeats itself over and over. Please folks save your money!!!

User review rating: 0 November 28, 2009

very well acted..but very depressing...and keeps you wondering what the hell happened to the earth in this movie.. Also, couldnt figure out why the wife just left.

User review rating: 5 November 28, 2009

great movie! very well done

User review rating: 5 November 28, 2009

This was simply incredible. An amzing movie. Anyone who does not agree has no understanding of the deep meaning behind the meotional strength neede by these two individuals. Wonderful movie. Follow the book very well. Loved it.

User review rating: 4 November 28, 2009

Follows the book very nicely. If you're looking for a gripping tale of survival and determination, this movie is for you!

User review rating: 4 November 27, 2009

great film. If you liked No Country for Old Men, you'll like this.

User review rating: 0 November 27, 2009

I don't know how this has 5 stars. If you want to be bored & depressed by all means go see it.

User review rating: 0 November 26, 2009

awesome. Why are not more theatres showing this.

Change Location