The Matador

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Matador Movie Poster

3.84 / 5

User rating: 3.84

Based on 565 votes and 58 reviews


  • User rating: 3.84 49.11%
  • User rating: 3.84 20.28%
  • User rating: 3.84 11.39%
  • User rating: 3.84 4.27%
  • User rating: 3.84 14.95%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 58

User review rating: 0 September 02, 2006

Wow Pierce won`t have to worry about getting work goodbye James Bond.

User review rating: 0 August 11, 2006

It was a great movie in an industry of so-called "blockbuster" movies that stink. The acting was superb,the ending just right,and only 3 main characters pulled it off! I`d love to see a sequel. I wonder about Danny`s wife and her love and knowledge of guns?

User review rating: 0 July 29, 2006

The story had potential, the film however should never have been released. Sure Pierce Brosnan did some fine acting, but that is only a small portion. What comedy it had, was ruined by the rest of the movie.

User review rating: 0 July 25, 2006

This is a witty and hilarious movie with Bronson showing his true talent for the first time. James Bond fans--step aside, this is not one of the gadget-filled, macho, 007 flicks. It`s well directed, well written and the acting deserves many accolades. Bravo!

User review rating: 0 July 08, 2006

best for a change

User review rating: 0 July 07, 2006

This movie is SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO BBBBBBBOOOOOORRRRIIIINNNNGGGGG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!I bet my little sisters movie dora is BETTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 July 06, 2006

This movie took days off my life. It was so BORING!!! Even the naked scenes were tacky.

User review rating: 0 July 04, 2006

It was a good movie but no where near a James Bond great.

User review rating: 0 June 26, 2006

Funny, clever and touching. I love the dark Brosnan mixed with nice guy Kinar.

User review rating: 0 March 30, 2006

Brosnan was awesome in this but the script and direction leave you feeling like there`s something missing. Too bad because with a good script this could`ve been a really good film.

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2006

bbbbbboooooooorrrrrrrrring!!! too long...lagged...hummm, bbbbbbbbbboooooooorrrrrring...no really...worth $1.50 at the cheap seats if you have nothing else better to do. I did laugh... at the people that started to use their cell phones in front of me to text their friends to not see this movie!

User review rating: 0 February 28, 2006

Still trying to decide if I loved it or hated it...? Very quirky, slow-developing, meandering plot. A real slice of our amoral society, where the bad guys are loveable and the good guys are oh-so fallible. Excellent acting by Brosnan - great to see another side of his abilities. Only see it if you can apreciate the off-beat...

User review rating: 0 February 18, 2006

this was an awesome film. My friend and I laughed out loud for a good many parts of the movie. It was incredible seeing Pierce Brosnan as the total antithesis of anything I`ve seen him perform in before. Very fun. But adult audiences only, please.

User review rating: 0 February 18, 2006

Excellent movie, interesting story - Pierce Brosnan is a really talented guy.

User review rating: 0 February 17, 2006

Not a great movie, but a very good one.

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2006

I liked this movie for one thing: original! I really liked it!

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2006

An ok movie funny at times and has some long boring moments.

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2006

THIS MOVIE WAS A TOTAL WASTE OF TIME, PEARCE MUST HAVE BEEN DESPERATE OR TOTALLY BORED TO HAVE MADE THIS, HE REALLY LOWERED HIMSELF FROM THE BOND FILMS.

User review rating: 0 February 11, 2006

What a stupid movie. It was not even funny. What does it say about our society to think that a normal person who has no previous criminal history that is told about in the storyline, would help a hitman kill someone to save the hitman`s life. Does our society have any morals left?

User review rating: 0 February 11, 2006

This was a very dark and funny story presented by two amazing actors. If you like quirky, surprising and definitely irreverant, this movie is for you.

User review rating: 0 February 06, 2006

Quirky & funny. It lagged in some spots but was a decent movie for a lazy Saturday afternoon.

User review rating: 0 February 06, 2006

Had some funny moments, but generall had not defined plot. Brief nudity and 4 letter words appear to have been added for shock value & rating.

User review rating: 0 February 06, 2006

A very funny and entertaining movie. Pierce Brosnan and Greg Kinnear have great chemistry together on screen but it`s Brosnan who steals this film as this is his best performance to date playing a burned out hitman. I highly recommend you see this movie.

User review rating: 0 February 05, 2006

Well done - great for an afternoon of laughter....good movie to see without the kids.....

User review rating: 0 February 05, 2006

this movie should have been rated R to much profanity and unnecessary sex scenes

User review rating: 0 February 05, 2006

Two bad actors in a boring movie.

User review rating: 0 February 04, 2006

This has got to be the worst screenplay of the year. Totally inane dialogue and pathetic performances. Don`t waste your time or money.

User review rating: 0 February 04, 2006

it is so short

User review rating: 0 February 04, 2006

"Disappointing - alot of unnecessary profanity and heavy sex scenes. It would have been fine without these "X" rated scenes. Unfortunately we went with our young teenagers and were not prepared for the scenes that they saw and heard. A movie DOES NOT need swearing and sex to be a good or interesting movie!" It was a great movie, and if you believe 13 and 14 year olds cant handle it, DONT GO TO 14A MOVIES

User review rating: 0 February 04, 2006

Funny, original and sweet. Not to long and over involved like so many movies lately. Great performances by Greg Kineer and Pierce Brosnan.

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2006

Did not enjoy it, not only was it a waste of $10 but two hours of my life.

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2006

Surprisingly good. Great performance by Brosnan. Excellent entertainment. Haven`t said that for a while about a movie. 5 stars. Not resigning him for next Bond movie will turn out to be a HUGE mistake.

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2006

This movie was great, a refreshing change. A movie for mature people, who want a witty comedy.

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2006

Thoroughly enjoyed this movie, lots of laughs, certainly a different venue for Pierce Brosnan, and he came out smelling like a rose. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a change of pace from the run of the mill action movies.

User review rating: 0 February 02, 2006

sidesteppingly funny amsuing and predictable yet unexpected

User review rating: 0 February 02, 2006

i was very surprized i didnt think the movie was gonna be that funny..but it`s the best movie ive seen in a while

User review rating: 0 February 02, 2006

I was totaly shocked! Funnier than i imagined! Great film!

User review rating: 0 February 01, 2006

I was pleasantly surprised at how good an actor Pierce Brosnan is in this one . I wouldn`t call it a thriller , but more of a black comedy .Enjoyed it a lot .

User review rating: 0 February 01, 2006

Pierce Brosnan is fantastic in this film, from crying to humour to evil, he knocks it out of the park.It is a quirky little story, well acted, well written, and different from your usual Hollywood crap, definitely worth checking out if you are in the mood for something just a little different for a change. Highly recommended from this film buff.

User review rating: 0 February 01, 2006

I thought it was excellent. I hadn`t laughed like that at the movies in a long time. Everyone should go out and see it. It`s about two guys who meet and they don`t realize it at first but they need each other`s help to move on in life. Go to see it, you won`t regret it!

User review rating: 0 February 01, 2006

Smart, funny movie. Great acting.

User review rating: 0 January 31, 2006

Great, humorous and hugely entertaining with lots of quirks. Pierce Brosnan was exceptional, showing his diverse acting talent.

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2006

Disappointing - alot of unnecessary profanity and heavy sex scenes. It would have been fine without these "X" rated scenes. Unfortunately we went with our young teenagers and were not prepared for the scenes that they saw and heard. A movie DOES NOT need swearing and sex to be a good or interesting movie!

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2006

A rather immoral affaire,it shocks initially and then bores you to death!

User review rating: 0 January 29, 2006

I had low low low expectations for this movie going in. As soon as I sat in the seat I was laughing my face off. Its got just enough seriousness to keep it tasteful and going over the edge into some over the top in your face comedy that is sooooo not this movie! Very well done.

User review rating: 0 January 23, 2006

i had high expectations going to this movie; unfortunately it didn`t keep me on the edge on my seat. 2*

User review rating: 0 January 21, 2006

THE MATADOR IS ONE OF THE BEST FILMS OF THE YEAR!!! IT`S SMART, FUNNY, SEXY & ORIGINAL!!!

User review rating: 0 January 20, 2006

I was laughing so hard. It was so funny that every time Julian made a metaphor, it had something to do with prostitutes. For example: "I look like a Bangkok hooker on a Sunday morning, after the Navy`s left town."

User review rating: 0 January 20, 2006

Hilarious!

User review rating: 0 January 20, 2006

Hard to believe this was the same guy who played Bond and Remington Steele!

Change Location