The Lighthouse

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.99 / 5

User rating: 3.99

Based on 1680 votes and 49 reviews


  • User rating: 3.99 72.73%
  • User rating: 3.99 1.52%
  • User rating: 3.99 1.52%
  • User rating: 3.99 0.76%
  • User rating: 3.99 23.48%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 49 of 49

User review rating: 5 November 13, 2019

Where do I start. The cinematography, writing coupled with amazing director and talented actors set this movie apart. Best to brush up on mythology before seeing - the symbolism is off the chart.

User review rating: 5 November 11, 2019

Never insult a man's lobster.

User review rating: 3 November 11, 2019

Gaslight House?! lol! Yes, it was great performances, and beautiful cinema, but a little self-indulgent in the writing. I had to see it and am glad I did, but would not go see it again.

User review rating: 3 November 10, 2019

Two men working in a lighthouse drive each other mad. It's well acted, well shot, ... well executed. A very good piece of film in terms of craft. But ... did I like it? No. I'm glad I saw it, but I don't need to see it again.

User review rating: 5 November 09, 2019

What becomes clear early on is that rather than searching for stable truth or rational explanation, The Lighthouse is a film in which the only option is to give oneself over fully to its haunting, mesmeric dream-logic.

User review rating: 1 November 08, 2019

Stupid movie ..wish I never went ..only good thing about it was the end...I can't figure out why it's still showing...but hey why bring in a good movie to yarmouth...

User review rating: 1 November 08, 2019

Worst Movie I have ever seen.

User review rating: 4 November 08, 2019

It is dark, and a little difficult to follow at first.....but a great film. The acting is superb.

User review rating: 5 November 06, 2019

Great film

User review rating: 5 November 06, 2019

Robert Eggers' film The Lighthouse is one of those projects that leaves you pondering if you're sick for liking it, but at the same time, you might feel bad if you don't.

User review rating: 5 November 06, 2019

The Lighthouse features two very strong performances from both Willem Dafoe and Robert Pattinson in this beautifully shot movie.

User review rating: 5 November 05, 2019

It's as if this footage has just been unearthed after a century mouldering in a Scandinavian documentary film archive.

User review rating: 5 November 05, 2019

Channeling elements of German Expressionism, Franz Kafka, Herman Melville and a wild dollop of Greek mythology, this tale of isolation and insanity, is an ambitious and unheralded cinematic joy to behold

User review rating: 5 November 05, 2019

At least Pattinson and Dafoe's admirably invested work will linger, two actors losing themselves just a little bit as their characters lose it all.

User review rating: 5 November 05, 2019

Dafoe, especially, digs his maw deep into Eggers' stylishly, flavorfully archaic dialogue, in a performance that suggests a live-action version of the sea captain from The Simpsons.

User review rating: 5 November 05, 2019

thumbs up A+ great film

User review rating: 5 November 05, 2019

Probably the most delightful thing about The Lighthouse is that it gives Willem Dafoe the role of a lifetime

User review rating: 1 November 04, 2019

The actors are great, but why they chose to make this piece of **** I have no idea. I wish I could scrub it out of my head, it was a stinking pile of dog crap.

User review rating: 1 November 03, 2019

Dark and boring. Nothing worthwhile about it and it's sad these 2 actors are now resorting to garbage movies.

User review rating: 2 November 03, 2019

Just totally bizarre was like the guy who wrote it was trippin on some of the good stuff 2out of 10and i like those 2 actors

User review rating: 5 November 02, 2019

Quality, plain and simple. Robert Pattinson is great. I'm not a cinematographer, but the camera angles, lighting, the inside and outdoor settings all were interesting and served the movie well. Quality.

User review rating: 5 November 02, 2019

Brilliant acting. A thinkers’ pic

User review rating: 5 November 02, 2019

Pure art, movie making at its best.

User review rating: 1 November 01, 2019

Ugh !

User review rating: 5 November 01, 2019

This movie is fantastic. Thoroughly tense and enjoyable.

User review rating: 1 November 01, 2019

....Speechless !

User review rating: 1 November 01, 2019

What is this???

User review rating: 1 November 01, 2019

Yarmouth NS deserves better than this ! I do understand that from a cinematography stance it may be good but I’m not sure how that is supposed to translate to joe public . Maybe if will win lots of awards and prove me dead wrong ....??

User review rating: 1 November 01, 2019

My dog could make a better movie

User review rating: 1 November 01, 2019

Still having nightmares of how bad it was !!!!! I was exited but now im disappointed

User review rating: 1 November 01, 2019

Life is short and at 49 years old I have limited amounts of quality time left . If I could go back in time I could possibly add 2 hours to the value of remaining life... So disappointed with my choice... I must do better .

User review rating: 1 November 01, 2019

Not everyone in Yarmouth is like this I’ve been there

User review rating: 1 November 01, 2019

Just two creepy drunk men in a lighthouse

User review rating: 0 November 01, 2019

Scarred for life... dont watch!!!

User review rating: 1 November 01, 2019

3 of us went and only my daughter wanted to stay TIL the end

User review rating: 1 November 01, 2019

Id love to unsee every second of this movie

User review rating: 1 November 01, 2019

Actually burning my $60 would have been more productive... and saved me 2 hours of my life that I can never have back. !!

User review rating: 1 November 01, 2019

Here’s the movie... Black and white film 2 guys drunk in a lighthouse 1of them seeing, and then having sex with a mermaid

User review rating: 1 November 01, 2019

Only saving grace was the acting of Dafoe

User review rating: 1 November 01, 2019

Awful movie !

User review rating: 1 November 01, 2019

Brutal

User review rating: 1 November 01, 2019

My uneducated non cinematography mind felt this was the stupidest movie I have ever seen

User review rating: 5 November 01, 2019

A marvelous artistic achievement.

User review rating: 5 October 31, 2019

This movie is so well done. The cinematography grabs you right from the beginning. The acting is superb! Best seen on a large screen - I felt I was right in the room. I loved the black and white and the lighting takes you back to some old classics. This is definitely a new classic film !

User review rating: 4 October 27, 2019

An excellent movie that explores the theme of isolation and what we call 'stir crazy". Two light house keepers are stranded by weather on the "rock" and clash in their drift toward insanity and murder. Excellent acting by Willem Dafoe and Robert Pattison. Dafoe should be a contender for Best Actor. Top notch direction by Robert Eggers. This movie requires the attention and concentration of the audience. The negative reviews below are way off base!

User review rating: 1 October 26, 2019

Absolutely Horrible movie. Soo Dull and Boring. No story line Waste of time and money!! Don’t Bother!!

User review rating: 5 October 25, 2019

Great acting and cinematography. The movie is one of the best psychological explorations of masculinity and authority in a workplace. The ending will be divisive for some, because it doesn't give clear answers, but my current interpretation is that shared ambitions lead to conflict that spoils any possible rewards.

User review rating: 5 October 03, 2019

Amazing movie!

User review rating: 1 September 11, 2019

Many things wrong with this movie. First, no protagonist. I didn't give a damn about either of these two axxholes. Second, lazy writing on the part of the screenwriter. The ending was so stupid. Worst movie I've ever seen at TIFF and that's saying a lot.

Change Location