The Kids Are All Right

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.92 / 5

User rating: 3.92

Based on 270 votes and 70 reviews

  • User rating: 3.92 36.62%
  • User rating: 3.92 33.80%
  • User rating: 3.92 21.13%
  • User rating: 3.92 2.11%
  • User rating: 3.92 6.34%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 50 of 70

User review rating: 5 May 24, 2011

Catches The Who at the peak of their power. Music fans will eat this up!!!

User review rating: 3 May 22, 2011

Definitely a grown-up storey and for those with an open mind. Great performance by Annette Bening, subltle performance by Mark Ruffalo. I liked it.

User review rating: 3 January 31, 2011

A bit over-rated, but still funny and entertaining family dramedy. Benning, Ruffalo and Moore are good, as always.

User review rating: 4 January 28, 2011

Funny and good. Great acting by all in the movie.

User review rating: 1 January 12, 2011

I would not recommend this movie, especially for lesbian families. It was seriously offensive, unrealistic and stupid. Very sad because it had so much potential. It actually angers me that it has been nominated for golden globes.

User review rating: 3 January 12, 2011

a very engaging and entertaining movie. Moore and Benning are at the top of their game.

User review rating: 3 December 09, 2010

Very interesting take on a "modern" family. Good performances. A bit predictable in the seond-half of the movie.

User review rating: 1 December 04, 2010

Gratuitous sex and nothing more.

User review rating: 1 November 29, 2010

This movie is bad.

User review rating: 2 November 26, 2010

This movie has way too much pointless & graphic sex! Also, seemed like all the funniest parts were already shown in the preview.

User review rating: 3 November 25, 2010

Smart script and great direction. Too bad the last act falls to the pitfalls of predictability. Aside from that, it is a fun, intersting movie. Annette Benning gives another strong performance. Mark Ruffalo is better than his usaul rom-comedy guy. Overall, a very well crafted movie.

User review rating: 4 October 13, 2010

Great! Interesting look at a modern family and world.

User review rating: 4 October 10, 2010

Loved this movie.

User review rating: 4 September 17, 2010

Good Acting.

User review rating: 4 September 16, 2010

a sweet dramedy about a modern family.

User review rating: 3 September 12, 2010

This is not a film for you if you don't have liberal sensibilities. I loved the principles and their performances. A great film!

User review rating: 3 September 06, 2010

Enjoyed it.

User review rating: 4 September 04, 2010

A very intelligent, heartfelt drama.

User review rating: 4 September 02, 2010

Different but interesting to watch. Ruffalo is sexy and the movie is not too long and boring.

User review rating: 2 August 28, 2010

Started out decent, then just became blame Mark Ruffalo for everything..the movie falls apart by the end.

User review rating: 4 August 27, 2010

What a great movie about families; for families. It was clever, thoughtful, funny and sad. Great performances from all the cast; especially Robert DeNiro.

User review rating: 3 August 26, 2010

Was the acting superb? Absolutely, particularly from Annette Bening. Was the theme of the film timely and enlightening? Check and check. Was it a quality indie film? Yup. Was I bored stiff watching it? Oh goodness, yes. If I want to watch day-to-day life play out in all its inanity, I'll just live it instead of watching it on screen.

User review rating: 5 August 22, 2010

Absolutely delightful. A rare laugh out loud comedy that is also incredibly human, real and honest. Mature content. See this film.

User review rating: 5 August 21, 2010

Great movie great story great acting go enjoy a great evening at the movies

User review rating: 3 August 20, 2010

A bit funny but not satisfying.

User review rating: 4 August 20, 2010

great movie that will make you laugh...the acting was mazing and the story line A one. the director did a great job. great movie for adults that can appreciate the story

User review rating: 4 August 18, 2010

What we have here is an interesting portrait of a modern family,which like it or not is just one form of togetherness that is here to stay.However the subject here is about the difficulties inherent in working at and maintaining a marriage and the attendant problems in raising children rather than it being a platform for debate about same-sex marriage. The acting is finely nuanced and is of Academy Award caliber. Benning,Moore and the very affable slacker,Mark Ruffulo capture their roles effectively. Benning's tightly wound,control-freak doctor was so belivable that I found myself almost despising her at times even though in the end she was all-too-human.The children were people to be proud

User review rating: 3 August 18, 2010

It's good, but lack a balanced view from all concerned.

User review rating: 3 August 16, 2010

Good movie but scenario has weaknesses that bring some confusion to the story. End of movie led me to believe that the director was out of inspiration.

User review rating: 3 August 16, 2010

Nothing really gets resolved at the end.

User review rating: 3 August 16, 2010

A different look at the modern family dynamic, The Kids Are Alright was an excellent showcase for the aging relationship and the myriad dilemmas associated with that. Regardless of the complexities of the lesbian relationship and the parenting of two teen children achieved through IVF, the film spoke to the commonalities we all share. It was a good example of the tragedies, humour, and mundaness of everyday life... A good film!

User review rating: 4 August 15, 2010

I thought it was an interesting movie and an unusual family dynamic with the same sex parents. Quite fresh, but I would probably save it for the DVD if you haven't seen it yet.

User review rating: 5 August 13, 2010

Hilarious,moving,honest,sensitive,witty...It was great to see the character development and the process of a relationship, whether gay or straight,everyone at the core goes through the same things!

User review rating: 3 August 11, 2010

great acting, funny, sweet heartfelt. not much of a plot though...

User review rating: 1 August 11, 2010

This movie is waaaayyyyyyy out there. Thought it was going to be funny and it was not at all. I don't know why anyone would want to see - I can't see myself saying to anyone "OMG, you should see this movie".

User review rating: 5 August 11, 2010

this movie was great!! I would see it again and buy when it comes out on dvd

User review rating: 5 August 09, 2010

Loveeeeeeeeeee it

User review rating: 5 July 30, 2010

Annette, Julianne and Mark were excellent in this movie. A great drama that's both funny and heartfelt. Each of the three lead actors provided an outstanding performance. I liked the fact that the movie did not focus on the couple being lesbians or that it was a lesbian family, but rather a real family and real relationships. I wouldn't be surprised to see Annette and Julianne being nominated for next year's Oscar. And and hot.

User review rating: 3 July 29, 2010

Modern day dromedy about modern age lesbian marriage and their two teenaged biological children (thanks to sperm donor). Great family story. Strong performances by every actor. Very interesting look at (long-term) marriage, kids going off to college, weathering the storm of "life."

User review rating: 5 July 29, 2010

Awesome movie that really pulls at your heart strings. Its about time people realize that marriage is marriage regardless of biology.

User review rating: 5 July 29, 2010

I wasn't expecting much from this movie but was plesantly surprised! It had such a realistic feel and the characters were well portrayed! A must see!

User review rating: 4 July 28, 2010

great movie. a must see.

User review rating: 5 July 28, 2010

The movie was Superb!! The acting was first rate":)Great story about the hardship of relationships and how you get through it.5 stars ..Go SEE it!!!

User review rating: 4 July 28, 2010

Funny,Sensitive,witty,clever writing,great acting and a feel good vibe to it..What more could I ask?

User review rating: 4 July 28, 2010

Grown up, smart, intelligent film

User review rating: 5 July 28, 2010

Very moving.

User review rating: 4 July 28, 2010

this movie looks at the challenge of marriage and keeping love and the spark alive...the fact that the marriage is with two women is almost secondary to the main message. it is a beautiful piece with brilliant, touching performances. Bening and Moore shine - as always and Ruffalo adds a surprisingly deep performance as the sperm donor dad whose life is changed dramatically when he finds himself part of a close but unconventional family. if you're looking for laugh-out-loud funny, this movie is not it. instead it's a rollercoaster of emotions and a hell of a ride.

User review rating: 4 July 28, 2010

I can see how you might say this is boring is you're looking for a laugh-out-loud comedy, but if you're looking for thoughtful dialogue, sarcastic wit, and a superb look at modern day family dynamics applicable to any type of family, then this is YOUR movie. All of the actors were fantastic. If you loved The Squid and the Whale (exceptional movie about divorced kids' lives in the 80s), then you'll love this as I did. And I don't usually like independent artsy films. This has enough commercial appeal to win over audiences.

User review rating: 5 July 27, 2010

Very funny heartwarming movie.

User review rating: 4 July 27, 2010

We loved this movie. Everything about it was new and fresh. Writer Director Lisa Cholodenko did a super Academy Award consideration job.

Change Location