The Guard

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.05 / 5

User rating: 4.05

Based on 226 votes and 71 reviews


  • User rating: 4.05 39.64%
  • User rating: 4.05 36.04%
  • User rating: 4.05 16.22%
  • User rating: 4.05 6.31%
  • User rating: 4.05 1.80%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 71

User review rating: 3 May 21, 2012

i really liked this movie. it is a dark comedy so it is not for everyone, but it is worth just for brendon gleason's performance.

User review rating: 5 February 16, 2012

best movie i've seen in a long time, anyone who says otherwise is the reason modern films are so god awful,the simple minded unfortunately also happen to be the majority.

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2012

witty, entertaining, very irish. great fan of gleeson in the gurad, reminds me a little of 'the general' from 1998

User review rating: 4 February 01, 2012

very funny movie. gleeson gives a hilarious performance.

User review rating: 4 December 24, 2011

Brash, unfussy and extreme odd film about a crude, unfussy Irish country cop who gets mixed up in a drugs investigation and has to work with a very erudite FBI agent. Brendan Gleeson and Don Cheadle make one of the best odd couple/cop/buddy pairs in film history. The film is quietly eccentric, proudly profane and thoroughly entertaining.

User review rating: 4 December 23, 2011

Good movie - always been a fan of Brendan Gleeson

User review rating: 4 December 22, 2011

good acting

User review rating: 5 December 20, 2011

One of the best movies of 2011!

User review rating: 4 December 20, 2011

surprisingly good movie

User review rating: 4 December 18, 2011

Very good movie

User review rating: 5 December 11, 2011

One of the best movies I have seen for a long time.

User review rating: 3 December 05, 2011

Did not like it at first, but it just kept getting better.

User review rating: 5 December 05, 2011

I took a really hard to please guy friend to see this movie. We both really enjoyed it. Be warned it is profane. It is also amusing and unexpectedly warm. If you are looking for something different with some substance, go see The Guard.

User review rating: 3 December 03, 2011

just ok

User review rating: 5 December 02, 2011

Good movie.

User review rating: 3 November 28, 2011

entertaining

User review rating: 5 November 28, 2011

GOOD

User review rating: 5 November 27, 2011

loved it!

User review rating: 4 November 26, 2011

A dead-tone comedy that is dead on.

User review rating: 2 November 24, 2011

very boring movie, I didn't like it. 2 out of 5 is the most I'd give it.

User review rating: 4 November 23, 2011

A great performance by Don Cheadle yet again in this movie.

User review rating: 3 November 23, 2011

Actually - did not enjoy it too much dull

User review rating: 4 November 23, 2011

Top notch!

User review rating: 4 November 21, 2011

A dark comedy with an edge.

User review rating: 5 November 21, 2011

This is one of the best films of the year. Such crazy dark comedy here and with some pretty epic scenes in the end. Very memorable film and sure to get an oscar nom for it's screenplay, I would assume.

User review rating: 5 November 21, 2011

An Irish friend visiting TO wanted to see The Guard and I politely went not expecting much. My mistake - darkly funny scenes mixed with poignant moments - I often couldn't resist laughing out loud and got a little choked up at the end - not to be missed!

User review rating: 5 November 20, 2011

i laughed, i cried, i saved 5 bucks!

User review rating: 4 November 19, 2011

I liked the dry, dark Irish humor.

User review rating: 3 November 19, 2011

not my kind of movie

User review rating: 4 November 18, 2011

it took about 10 minutes into the film to get used to the irish dialect and speech patterns! but then i found THE GUARD to be very enjoyable! the ending was a downer however...

User review rating: 0 November 17, 2011

Amazing ... a real surprise!

User review rating: 4 November 17, 2011

This movie was entertaining with its comedy and "suspenseful" drama! It was great seeing Don Cheadle in this role!

User review rating: 5 November 15, 2011

Should be more movies like this.

User review rating: 4 November 14, 2011

Entertaining. A good strong comedy

User review rating: 5 November 13, 2011

Excellent movie.

User review rating: 3 November 11, 2011

The Call Me Mister Tibbs revisited

User review rating: 5 November 11, 2011

Excellent movie.

User review rating: 5 November 11, 2011

great viewing ...loved it

User review rating: 5 November 11, 2011

loved the show ...great viewing

User review rating: 5 November 10, 2011

hilarious.

User review rating: 5 November 10, 2011

Great movie.

User review rating: 5 November 09, 2011

One of the best movies this year.

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2011

I loved this movie, it was awesome. It was funny. The Brits really know how to make flicks. The guard was so off beat funny, what a personality. Stupid and smart at the same time. Really good, see it and be entertained, very entertained.

User review rating: 5 November 08, 2011

One of the best movies of the year.

User review rating: 0 November 07, 2011

Not overly impressed with this movie. I was bored half way through because the ending was so very predictable.

User review rating: 5 November 06, 2011

Excellent movie - would see it again.

User review rating: 4 November 05, 2011

pretty good, better than the origional

User review rating: 4 November 05, 2011

Excellent movie.

User review rating: 4 November 04, 2011

I loved it! for me it was a great movie!

User review rating: 4 November 04, 2011

This movie was funny but a bit difficuly to understand if you're not used to the accent! Love Don Cheadle too! Definitely a great rental for an entertaining night at home with friends.

Change Location