The Great Raid

Thank you for rating this movie!

The Great Raid Movie Poster

3.94 / 5

User rating: 3.94

Based on 2242 votes and 21 reviews

  • User rating: 3.94 70.34%
  • User rating: 3.94 1.70%
  • User rating: 3.94 3.04%
  • User rating: 3.94 1.57%
  • User rating: 3.94 23.36%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 21 of 21

User review rating: 0 January 23, 2006

I knew nothing about this before watching the movie. Great story. Pretty shocking at times. loved the deleted scenes, I was a little confused after watching the movie but it all made more sense after watching them. Only drawback was James Franco`s mumbling. It was difficult to follow and almost lulled me to sleep at times. Thankfully, the action really woke me up because it was worth seeing.

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2006

really well done...I loved the real footage at the beginning and end. They made history interesting!!!

User review rating: 0 December 31, 2005

To the person who is asking about Cesar Montano, by the way he is a filipino. I am so proud that John Dahl finally made a motion picture, worthy of what took place during WWII, especially in my home province of Bataan & Cabanatuan City. The movie was really entertaining & historical, reminds me of my elementary days, when my one of my instructors in philippine history was lecturing us about what the japanese soldiers did to our fellow filipinos who fought gallantly side by side with the brave american soldiers during those dark days. Unfortunately even in textbooks, they never mentioned anything about the atrocities. Thanks to this movie, a

User review rating: 0 September 24, 2005

it was an awesome realistic film. Mr Dahl has exceeded this time to bring forward a film that shows what the POW`s, Soldiers and Philipinos went through for a life to live.

User review rating: 0 September 12, 2005

Fabulous story of an event not many people know about but should. My heart was pounding right to the end.

User review rating: 0 September 08, 2005

WOW! Really entertaining....... One of the best movies I`ve seen in a long time. A definitely must see movie!

User review rating: 0 August 29, 2005

This was a very good movie...too bad it`s distribution was so limited.

User review rating: 0 August 20, 2005

A great movie lost in the onslaught of much publicised and famous stars studded movies like Dukes of Hazzards, Brothers and so on...

User review rating: 0 August 20, 2005

Flat and uninspired, The Great Raid managed to entertain but achieved little else. The first half of the film should have been axed. At approximately 1.25 hours through, it became interesting. The battle scenes were quite invigorating and the acting entirely satisfactory. However, banal direction, a weak musical score and a lack in the creativity department when it came to story direction (think: every other okay war movie you`ve seen), led to a disconnect between audience and screen. Emotive scenes were merely sentimental montages and I had no interest in sitting through the "real" footage that rolled during the credits. Overall, a perfectly

User review rating: 0 August 19, 2005

Great! But if Brad Pitt or Tom Hanks or any "A" list actor was in the movie probably it would be the number one movie this summer.

User review rating: 0 August 19, 2005

Amazing, academy movie!

User review rating: 0 August 18, 2005

I have to travel a long way since the movie houses near us didn`t have it. It was worth the exercise. Highly recommended!

User review rating: 0 August 18, 2005

A must see! We seldom see a movie of this calibre on world war II stories in Asia these days. It`s stark brutal reality begs for stubborn humanity to learn from it but the sad fact is we never do...

User review rating: 0 August 17, 2005

Graphic but an an academy award worthy movie. But I am surprised why it is not as widely distributed and advertised here in GTA as skeleton key or four brothers. It`s a pity!

User review rating: 0 August 16, 2005

This is a gut wrenching historical film that all the young people should see. Best picture I`ve seen since January 2005; should be an academy award nominee. Would like to know if the historical footage was real footage from 1945; or, was the movie footage shown all created in 2000+ ?

User review rating: 0 August 16, 2005

A great, great story! For those who want to see a glimpse of WWII, it was like plunging into an different era of valor, heroism and drama. I wish more people will see it...

User review rating: 0 August 16, 2005

Good.It was actually faithful to the setting.

User review rating: 0 August 15, 2005

This movie is great it depicts the important part of the WWII history. Good job.

User review rating: 0 August 12, 2005


User review rating: 0 August 12, 2005

Awesome movie! The plot, actors and action are great. A must-see movie for war afficionados!

User review rating: 0 August 12, 2005

Excellent plot and acting especially Cesar Montano. He is good. Where is he from? Is he a Latin actor? I`ll wait for the DVD version to add to my collections.

Change Location