The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.18 / 5

User rating: 4.18

Based on 478 votes and 151 reviews


  • User rating: 4.18 51.30%
  • User rating: 4.18 31.74%
  • User rating: 4.18 5.65%
  • User rating: 4.18 6.52%
  • User rating: 4.18 4.78%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 151

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2016

While I recently watched the whole movie, I got to say that I underestimated Daniel Craig. This man has potential and it can be seen in this very movie. I believe that he acts alarmingly bad in his Bond movies. Goran Visnjic appears to have less screen time than I have imagined, but he uses it rather sharp. And Rooney Mara... oh what a gal. The Mara family can act so convincingly well that you forget about everything else except the character. Christopher Plummer and Stellan Skarsgård make a helluva team and deserve an award for their small part. Robin Wright was almost invisible and it looked to me that she is not even trying...

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2016

There is only one scene that bothers me in the whole movie: When Lisbeth Salander, the main character is brutally raped by her legal guardian. Hardly a viewable scene, especially by those with weak hearts. Other than this, I have to say that I've watched this movie before I have watched the Swedish, which it was based upon. The Swedish looks like it came from the 20th century, while this clearly has more budget and more familiar Hollywood names, and it even has Goran Visnjic, who, by the way, was brilliant. I didn't knew that this guy could act so good, and his character struck me by surprise (a good one btw)

User review rating: 5 July 16, 2013

well done movie,kept you interested the whole time, can't wait for the sequel

User review rating: 4 June 09, 2012

great story and fantastic acting. i think i liked the swedish version a bit better but i look forward to the subsequent novels on the big screen.

User review rating: 4 June 05, 2012

i was hesitent to watch this as i really liked the original version - but i was pleasantly surprised how much i liked this film. daniel craig gave a superior performance, despite mara getting all the hype.

User review rating: 5 May 27, 2012

excellent murder mystery !!! highly recommend.

User review rating: 5 April 09, 2012

very good movie. great cinematography!

User review rating: 3 March 29, 2012

was good...

User review rating: 5 March 22, 2012

love this movie

User review rating: 5 March 20, 2012

best movie of the year

User review rating: 3 February 15, 2012

read the book -- it was much better than this movie.

User review rating: 5 February 15, 2012

absolutely brilliant! one of the best film's of the past few years without a doubt.

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2012

wow! aside from some really gross and horrific scenes, this movie was amazing and kept you at the edge of your seat throughout!

User review rating: 4 February 03, 2012

thought it was good

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2012

anyone who says this movie is too violent is an idiot. its rated r for a reason. if you don't want to see a violent movie go watch something pg....better yet i think disney is coming out with a new movie perhaps thats more your style.

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2012

it was a great, well done movie!! except for the parents who brought a child to see it. wtf? why do parents feel its ok to bring a kid to a movie not for children. how'd you explain the rape scene? anyways, good story line, great acting and definitely recommended.

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2012

i loved this movie..... i heard it was a series of books.. i hope they make more... i never buy dvd's but i will buy this one.. perfect....

User review rating: 5 January 28, 2012

wow. without knowing anything about this movie before going to see it i was impressed. very high on the creepy rating and very disturbing in scenes, so, be prepared for that...

User review rating: 5 January 24, 2012

the brutality enacted on the female protagonist pissed me off, but at least it was not gratuitous. the entire movie was well written and extremely well acted from begining to end. will be adding this to my dvd collection.

User review rating: 2 January 24, 2012

didn't need the graphic rape scenes. fast paced action but slow moving plot.

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2012

excellent movie, would go see it again because i'm sure i missed something. definitely not for someone under 18. if you're thinking of bringing your child, don't do it. for adults, best movie i've seen in a while.

User review rating: 4 January 22, 2012

rooney mara is amazing !

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2012

after seeing this movie, i wanted to smoke a cigarette. never had that happen before because i don't smoke.

User review rating: 4 January 19, 2012

not a bad copy of the original film in swedish, as far as the story line goes. lots of action, thrills, revenge, everything you want in a movie!!

User review rating: 4 January 18, 2012

excellent adaptation from a difficult-to-shoot book.

User review rating: 4 January 17, 2012

amazing

User review rating: 4 January 16, 2012

it wasn't as good as the book or the original movie with subtitles.

User review rating: 2 January 16, 2012

Ending was better then the original, otherwise it lacked alot

User review rating: 4 January 16, 2012

Very well done from beginning to end. It was long but didn't feel overly so.

User review rating: 4 January 15, 2012

This movie was deeply suspensful and I felt like I was figuring out the mystery along side the two main characters who were solving it in the movie. Great story arch for Lisbeth & all the actors did a great job in the movie. I was intently watching the whole movie. My only complaint is that I felt a certain female character in the movie was miscast and appeared younger than she should have been if you do the math. Also I felt that there was alot of gratuitous sex scenes when the main 2 characters met that felt unwarrant. Otherwise a well done movie that was worth to see.

User review rating: 3 January 12, 2012

original was better, maybe i was expecting too much out of Fincher.....

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2012

I haven't read the book, so i don't know much about the story and the characters, but what Fincher managed to squeeze into the running time is phenomenal. Runy Mara played an excellent Lisbeth, and the amount of suspense and mystery is awesome: 4.5 stars

User review rating: 4 January 09, 2012

really good movie, but a little long. At one point I didn't think the two main characters would meet.

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2012

I enjoyed the movie even more than the book. I hope they make the follow-up movies.

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2012

I enjoyed the book and was really glad I went to see the movie.

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2012

I enjoyed the book and loved the movie.

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2012

Great movie...a little slow at the start (like the book) but nails your rear to the seat until the finish.

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2012

Good movie. Didn't stray from the book.

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2012

This was a faithful adaptation of the book. There are some difficult scenes but quite a good movie.

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2012

I've read all three books and seen all three of the original movies. I liked this English version a great deal. Daniel Craig fits my idea of Blomquist better than the original actor, and Lisbeth is just as good--though I would have liked a bigger dragon tattoo... It was nice not to have to read captions and I'm looking forward to the next movie in the series. I wouldn't think of this as a remake so much as an original in English. For those of you who find that idea upsetting, then by all means don't see this version. But for those of you that loved the books as I did/do, then you should see this film. It is well-casted and very well done!

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2012

I rarely rate movies 5 stars, but this certainly is one. What a flic! Kept me engaged the whole way. Roony Mara is amazing as is the entire cast. Go see this movie!

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2012

the best for 2011

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2012

Awesome. First long movie that I didn't want to end.

User review rating: 4 January 07, 2012

Even better than the book. I hope they make movies of the other two books.

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2012

I loved this movie for the excellent acting. it was long but kept me interested every minute.

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2012

Excellent movie and cast extremely well. It was captivating from the first moment to the last. Well done!!

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2012

Rivetting! Excellent - little disturbing in parts but Excellent

User review rating: 4 January 06, 2012

Great action-packed movie

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2012

Excellent movie. After reading the book, I was sceptical that they could cover enough from the book in a movie (the book is 840 pages long). I loved it, and so did my husband who hasn't read the books yet.

User review rating: 4 January 06, 2012

Amazing movie. Interesting plot- even for those who havent read the book. Definitely recommend!

Change Location