The Fountain

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.84 / 5

User rating: 3.84

Based on 669 votes and 51 reviews


  • User rating: 3.84 53.85%
  • User rating: 3.84 14.29%
  • User rating: 3.84 9.52%
  • User rating: 3.84 6.23%
  • User rating: 3.84 16.12%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 51

User review rating: 1 October 10, 2010

Pretentious piece of artsy fartsy junk. I felt sorry for the actors - Jackson especially looked like a chump in this. Should have been advertised as an art film instead os hoodwinkingthe general public into paying for a ticket to be entertained. Want my money back for the loss of two hours of my life.

User review rating: 0 December 06, 2007

in one word...stunning...a movie to watch over and over again and catch new things ever time you watch it...what movies should be, an expression of the human soul not big budget movies about nothing, that you watch today and forget tomorrow

User review rating: 0 August 14, 2007

This movie was fantastic. Perhaps a bit hard for anyone who's not able to follow the ever-shifting point of view. That does take away a little. But overall, this movie was amazing.

User review rating: 0 July 10, 2007

It would have been a good movie if I could acctually understand it. I think. :)

User review rating: 0 June 25, 2007

Movie jumps back and forth with horrible transition. Show was very confusing!

User review rating: 0 May 31, 2007

Fantastic movie. Very deep, requires reviewing to understand and grasp. Artistic, beautiful.

User review rating: 0 May 26, 2007

it was fantastic and it show lifes realty ... so everybody can see how can live forever film give us this secret...

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2007

Thoroughy enjoyable film but still I can`t figure out why.

User review rating: 0 January 12, 2007

The Fountain is a high concept art film. It`s look is gorgeous and very original. It also grapples with some deep themes. I read an interview of the director, Darren Aronofsky, where he said that he liked the idea that we are all recycled. This is something to keep in mind when watching the film: the idea that the matter we are all made up of has existed for billions of years. Although Hugh Jackman`s character focuses his life on battling death, the film keeps hinting at a bigger picture, where death plays a vital part in the continuance of life. In this way, we are all immortal. The film also shows that the moments we have as individuals are

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2007

A movie has to be extremely good to give it a top-bill rating...Not saying that I have not done that in the past..."The Fountain" is one of those ecclectic movies just striving to reach above and beyond... It succeeds to an extent, but in its desperate striving to do so it loses some in the process...However, I must say that it was a very well put together work of art...Brilliant movie making..great acting...artistic dreamscapes that linger long in the mind along with a timeless philosophy of plot...All these factors weave together to make the fabric of "The Fountain" one of the better movies that I have seen for a while...If I was to paint

User review rating: 0 December 20, 2006

This was a movie that could have been implemented better. It was annoying to see the various scenes fade out only to fade into another scene. In many ways, this reminded me of that other crackpot movie that I now reget seeing called Silent Hill. The story and acting seemed repetitive. Im not asking for the director to spoon feed me as an audience, as the metaphors were easily recognizable, but at least we deserved a more put together movie.

User review rating: 0 December 15, 2006

A very smart, well done movie. Too much for stupid American, ergo, it won`t do very well at the box office.

User review rating: 0 December 13, 2006

A wonderful, thought-provoking movie. This is the kind of movie that you have to see over and over to pick up all the nuances.

User review rating: 0 December 12, 2006

it`s the best movie in the world

User review rating: 0 December 11, 2006

I loved the biblical parallelism with the underlying theme of "death is the beginning of creation, of life." With the beginning from Genesis... And everything relates back to a tree in the movie. I see the parallel being: Jesus was life. And he had to die for us to live forever. And He died on a tree. hmmm, something to think about.

User review rating: 0 December 09, 2006

it is a completely different movie. it separates itself with everything else. in noway is this a "mainstream" movie. the majority of the public will not understand it. thoes who do, or have a general idea, will find it mesmerizing. well worth seeing.....

User review rating: 0 December 06, 2006

I thought that this movie was excellent!! The only thing is that the person who wrote the review must have been watching another movie. There was no time travel and space travel...the reviewer needs to look up the word "metaphor"!! That said, it WAS an excellent film and those who are open minded about things that rate on the odd side should give it a viewing!! :)

User review rating: 0 December 05, 2006

I thought I must have missed something walking in right after opening credits. I didn`t. This movie is odd. Tiring on the eyes, redundant throughout, tried too hard to be smart.

User review rating: 0 December 05, 2006

What a great movie! Of course you need to have basic knowledge of the metaphysical world, the worm hole and time theories and religion to grasp the director`s message. Clearly not the type of movie for an average audience but an incredible love story amidst all the scientific theories!

User review rating: 0 December 05, 2006

There are those people who like to be spoon feed the ending in movies to keep them satified. This typical of the North American audience. If this is you then don`t see this film you won`t like it. This is an artsy film and makes you figure the ending on your own and without the spoon. So for people who are into the art of film making and deep scientology/religion this a film that may interest you. The acting is very good, the music hipnotic and the cinemaphotography is outstanding.

User review rating: 0 December 04, 2006

I was confused as I left the movie, but in awe at the spectacular special effects. I understood that Tomas/Tommy and Isabelle/Izzie`s love transcended time, and that they were searching for eternal life through the sap of the tree. I have a belief in past lives, and future lives ... so who knows what might be possible.

User review rating: 0 December 03, 2006

The worst movie I have ever seen. I kept thinking to myself that there would be some sort of story to this madness. The visual effects and music were good but the story has no direction whatsoever.

User review rating: 0 December 02, 2006

It was a big disappointment! The acting was good, but the director failed to convince the audience of an enduring love story. What happened in the 1500`s? We only see a "subject" and his queen. The special effects were great and the scientific research seemed probable, but as a viewer I could not piece together the three times. I was prepared to see a love story that lasted throughout time. I had my tissues prepared, but was so disappointed. I blame the director for the faliure of this film, not the actors.

User review rating: 0 December 02, 2006

If you like films that have a "surface depth" then this is the film for you. Sure, it had some pretty images and a few fancy names of ancient myths and stars, but when it comes down to it, the director mistook fancy names for actual meaning. Indeed, I found this film quite shallow because it took some really great material and didn`t do it justice. It practically bastardized the idea of reincarnation... and to top it all off, th ending was SO obvious in delivering its so-called message that I swear the director must have thought to himself "If I don`t beat the audience over the head with the meaning of all this, I am sure they will not get it

User review rating: 0 December 02, 2006

Not a good screen writer. Some guy with a lot of money and naive ideas (a la 1969) got a director, cinematographer, some graphics guys, and produced another "My Dinner With Andre" only worse. Sappy, `spiritual`, new age-y. Should have been done with feet on the ground reality; is potentially a decent plot.

User review rating: 0 December 01, 2006

Very touch. deeply thought for the movie. Wonderful love. It`s using a lot of karma. Required alot of patient from audiences for every single detail. Use ur own imagination to put those detail together. Surely, if you can catch the story and deeply understand the move, you will love it very much.

User review rating: 0 December 01, 2006

Just don`t get it...

User review rating: 0 November 30, 2006

Just don`t get it... BAD BAD!

User review rating: 0 November 30, 2006

Fantastic images, very deep and thought-provoking story. The musical score is a key part of the entire experience. I want to see it again.

User review rating: 0 November 29, 2006

I feel sorry for the director to create so many things to describe the passion of a husband to the sickness of his wife.

User review rating: 0 November 29, 2006

I cant believe that 60% of the viewers thought this piece of junk was good.I wanted to walk out and demand my money back.The trailor for this show promised a action adventure with a bit of a love story and all i got for my money was angerier as it went on and on.Iam pretty sure they could have afforded more than 20 mins of film which they showed over and over.It`s like a bad hangover and pulling teeth is more interesting.

User review rating: 0 November 28, 2006

So deep an amazing im gonna go watch it again to pickup what i missed.

User review rating: 0 November 28, 2006

One of the worst movies I`ve ever seen. I almost walked out (I should have). It started off looking as if it would be a great movie, but then it got to the second minute and went downhill from there. I kept thinking this has got to get better; but it didn`t. I think they shot about 20 minutes of footage and kept playing it over and over. Now I can never get those 96 minutes back that I have lost. Boo Hoo.

User review rating: 0 November 27, 2006

I don`t think I was in the right mood for this film. The 60`s called and want their film back. Trippy, and cycling the same images over and over again. Great acting.

User review rating: 0 November 27, 2006

this is a masteful piece of work that will doubtless not have wide appeal. arronofksy has suceeded in creating a mind bending trip of a story that ultimately exposes the lie at the center of religion and science and the imnportance of coming to terms with the existential relaity of death. in an audacious observation, he compares inquistion era christianty to a brain tumor while suggesting a bloody mirror image correspondence with mayan human sacrifice. mayan and religious mythic themes meet buddhist and existential overtones in this humanist existentialist meditation siguised as sicence fiction... the performances are great, the f

User review rating: 0 November 27, 2006

I loved this film. It is not a sequel to anything. It has no singing animated animals. It is a gleaming, fresh story that was not put together by a marketing team. Just one director`s vision, fine acting and some magnificent cinematography. It was so great to go to the theater and have such an engaging experience. To lose yourself in a film and be surprised when the closing credits roll. I loved it, you may hate it. It is definitely worth seeing and arguing about.

User review rating: 0 November 25, 2006

This visually stunning movie was a complete surprise - I had no idea what it was about before seeing it, and so had to take it in as it presented itself. It worked wonderfully for me, though a couple of teenagers leaving the movie were totally confused by it. One of the best sci-fi fantasies I`ve seen.

User review rating: 0 November 25, 2006

This was, by far, the best movie I`ve seen in theatres in perhaps a few years. Its visually astounding, its incredably well acted, and it provokes thought in a way modern movies so rarely have the balls to. Thus, alas, its not a movie for the masses. Thats why so many people are bashing it in this little review section. Thats why its only playing in one crappy little theatre in my area, while my local Silver City pumps out its usual dribble. Movies like this dont sell, because they leave your average dopey movey goers scratching their heads, going "wheres the explosions?"

User review rating: 0 November 25, 2006

I have been looking forward to this for a very lokng time and was not disappointed at all. It was astonishing, I sat in a theatre with about 60 other people who, like me, were just mesmerized by the story, the acting, yes, the acting was really good (H. Jackman is underated and we all know that Rachel Weiss can act), and the cinematography. Also, I loved how Aronofsky used the three time frames (I won`t give this away, just pay attention). This film is brilliant and beautiful and brave. If you love your partner see this film.

User review rating: 0 November 25, 2006

i was blown away...this movie was so creative and simply hard to not like....i give it 10/10

User review rating: 0 November 25, 2006

What was I thinking? I offer a word of advice, save your $$$ and wait for this to come out on DVD then save some more $$$ and don`t rent it then either. A confusing, disjointed and pointless use of celluloid.I have to ask what kind of stuff was this director on?. If you like Wiese and Jackman don`t see this movie as it may change your mind about them too.

User review rating: 0 November 24, 2006

I think that this movie was absolutely amazing! Darren aronofsky has introduced a new view on sci-fi films!! This movie is very deep and touching! it will have you thinking about it over and over again. although some people may have a hard time understanding it it a very spiritual movie.

User review rating: 0 November 24, 2006

After seeing the movie, I researched it. It is apparently based on a graphic novel that also makes no sense. It is unfortunate, the movie is cinematically brilliant. However, the script can only be properly judged by the insane and incoherent.

User review rating: 0 November 24, 2006

Sit through it all and sleep on it. I walked out of the theatre still puzzling on it but the next day decided I liked it. I definitely enjoyed the beauty of the film and the premise. Reminded me a bit of Solaris.

User review rating: 0 November 24, 2006

I have absolutely enjoyed this movie. Its visually appealing, great acting, emotional and has a nice message. it may not be to everyones`s taste, so if anyone is thinking about writing a bad review, please don`t spoil the movie for the people who may have been waiting to watch a movie like this! don`t just write the negative views, surely you may have found something good about the movie!

User review rating: 0 November 24, 2006

this movie sucks...its more confusing then babel

User review rating: 0 November 24, 2006

If you are not in a spiritual frame of mind, you will not understand this movie. I, personally, really liked this movie. Lots of emotions displayed througout the movie. Hugh Jackman and Rachel Weisz are fantastic. Strong beautiful message at the end.

User review rating: 0 November 24, 2006

Absolutely stunning film. This is the reason I continue to make films. I aspire to one day create something as visceral, and metaphorical as this incredible piece of work.

User review rating: 0 November 23, 2006

This movie was BEYOND Amazing. Totally a must see! :)*****

User review rating: 0 November 22, 2006

Beyond stupid!!!

Change Location