The Descent

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.85 / 5

User rating: 3.85

Based on 1463 votes and 128 reviews

  • User rating: 3.85 42.72%
  • User rating: 3.85 27.37%
  • User rating: 3.85 13.77%
  • User rating: 3.85 4.43%
  • User rating: 3.85 11.71%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 50 of 128

User review rating: 5 August 17, 2016

PART 3, LAST (scroll down 2 message below for first part and read upwards) you do not scare someone - with ONLY dread, you need higher than that, 'jump' scares are that element that TAKE people by SURPRISE, you need it, you may despise it but it's a reality, to scare you, you need to be startled. The actress are incredible and heightened the fear (they are screaming, emotions and full of tears, you know this could BE YOU in the cave, surviving). the scares are extremely well made with musical accents (staccato) but the whole movie is almost in surround silence (we only hear the surrounding noise of the cave and women's footsteps echos- frightening), the camera angles are scary confusing and claustrophobic by the tight crawling spaces, the fear is palpable in the women who expect impending doom (death), there is utter viscerality and 'fight to the death' to live. It's a story of pure survival (blood, gore is never just for the sake, they really fight to death and he makes sure we feel the grittiness of the survival. The cave is so foreboding is takes a form of 'character' itself (the shadows sculpt all the nice rock patterns, very detailed and realistic set construction. SIMPLY PUT : THE BEST SUSPENSE THRILLER HORROR/WITH HORROR ELEMENTS SINCE ALIEN 1 AND SHINING, YES, EVEN SHINING OR OR EXORCIST.Congrats Mr.Marshall, please make Descent 3

User review rating: 5 August 17, 2016

PART 2 here you feel on the scene right in the cave - with the women.))), it features all-women cast (new, but not, but new enough - as spelunkers, very new thus a originality), the creatures (which everyone laughs out as poor man's version of 'ghollum troll' or some other 'fake *ss' ''costume-prosthetics''...great ''prosthetics'', like great '3D CGI', as a tool, have their place and I don't think the 'bareness' of these cave creatures should be so dismissed (''a 'naked dude' with a 'ghollum mask'...nice..very scary.not.''). For me, the first part is a slow build-up, and the best one, I saw this at Fantasia in 2005, it took my breath away (No movie had done this in at least 20 years time, since the first Alien, and this movie is an homage to it also, Mr.Marshall said that he was inspired by these great horror movies such as the terrifying and slow potboiler Alien 1 of Mr.Scott), I remember looking at these women fighting the Cave, fighting themselves (friendships dissolve as they are now - each fending for themselves), fighting death (pure survival), fighting creatures (yeah OK they don't exist - its a 'FICTION' read that word/Calm down with the 'it doesn't make sense/it's stupid and nonsensical brainless movie' accusation and an Excellent at that, but still they are late enough and have a certain degree of 'fitting in', it 'could' be possible (even if some said, these creatures would have evolved outside the cave/left it...not necessarily, they could have evolved Inside), When they face the pits/chasm it's utterly terrifying (to try to cross over and not fall to their death), the cave is so mean and unforgiving. Mr.Marshall uses important elements like coloring palette (he uses red during deadly scenes, green in more danger-free scenes, important red flare lighting and deep shadows blacks darkness to hide the elements and enhance utter fear) scares (great) hate the 'jumpscare' 'boo! a flying cat!' categorization

User review rating: 5 August 17, 2016

Hi ! This movie is pure excellence, unlike the 'it's pure garbage' that I am reading from people whom did not like it at all. I will respect others opinions and if they fell it's an utter poss and it's 'the worst film I ever saw in my life.. With that said. So back to my feelings on this. I really can't understand people, I just don't...I'll try... I know it is not a movie that tries to be Oscar-worthy with deep layers of morality (there is some in this movie) around a dramatic story. For horror ones (I despise this term I prefer thriller/suspense with horror elements, I know this is high categorizing which I don't like either, since it's pigeon holing, The audience also forgets that there are over 50,000 movies, it's 'normal' At some point, things can look similar when there are so many movies. please cut some slack and be considerate of how hard it is to make a movie. So with that, further, said. I want to say this movies is pure excellence because it hits the right notes : claustrophobia (some don't like that, hence hate the movie..understandable, still this element raises the movies scare factor), darkness (extremely important to increase the psychological factor (who is isn't afraid of utter darkness - stuck in a cave?), extremely impressive soundtrack and aural experience (the sound designers made sure there is reverberation and 'cave echo' everywhere in the movie (unlike in Descent 2, which is more flat sonic-ally and greatly affects the viewers spatial situations effect (trapped in a silent cave where every surround sound is heard in echo 3D surround sound fashion. In fact, The Descent boasts an incredible 7.1 channels instead of regular 5.1 (still great), the difference is massive, you hear creatures behind you, (side left, side right) everywhere this level of 3D surround sound 'envelopping/engulfing' effect is not heard of in other horror movies, where you feel more a passive eye, here you

User review rating: 0 May 06, 2009

This movie was a piece of garbage. Best horror movie to come out of USA? WRONG!I think it's cute when people with no taste post pathetic comments. I yawned through the whole thing. The Cave was just as bad as this film.

User review rating: 0 September 25, 2008

The best modern horror film to have come out here in the USA..

User review rating: 0 January 31, 2008

My favorite Horror film to have come out...

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2008

Scary and brilliantly done.. One of the pure modern horror flicks!!!

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2008

Awesome film,"Gory,depth story-line, and scary." The best Horror film to have ever come out,"PERIOD."

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2008

The best cave-horror film to come out.. Better then the cave and cavern in those flicks was just a about monster and killing.. But The descent is more then monster and killing it has a story behind it and characters that you grow to care about is descending to the dark.. It has a claustrophobic feeling which keeps you on the edge of your seat.. I was really amazed with this one the best horror flick in 2006 and it set a bar really high for other horror flicks!

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2008

Masterpiece, this definitely set the bar high for these modern horror flicks!

User review rating: 0 January 27, 2008

Awesome the best horror film to come out in 2006

User review rating: 0 January 22, 2008

Good story,Good character and it's one of the most purest cave horror film of all times!..

User review rating: 0 January 21, 2008

One of the best horror film in 2006..

User review rating: 0 January 21, 2008

It's not why the film is scary. But the fact that it was made very good and yes it is consider one of the best horror film and a classic.. So for those who hated the film comes to show that they didn't understand the concept nor the ending.. Which comes to show how United States people are very ignorant towards pure horror films...

User review rating: 0 January 21, 2008

A masterpiece horror film and this has to be one of the best horror film of 2006...

User review rating: 0 October 25, 2007

This was one of the most horrible films i have ever seen. I shouldn't be considered scary, let a lone be in the top ten scary movies. Give me a break.

User review rating: 0 October 15, 2007

One of the best horror films since the excorsit and i know a lot people seen the cave but this is nothing like that garbage this is a excellent better horror film then the cave and many others from 2002 to 2006 with excellent dark sinister atmosphere,unexpected scary scenes that will make you jump of your seat,gorefactor level two thumbs up and a claustiphopic ride that does not let you breath untill the end of the film which hits you with another suprising unexpected scene before the credit.Strongly recommended.

User review rating: 0 June 04, 2007

Descent..umm..lets see! Good beggining,but it got more stupid as the movie went by. I would'nt recommend it. Fell asleep halfway.

User review rating: 0 May 13, 2007

This is messed up stuff but I like it. Kinda like a long X-files episode.

User review rating: 0 April 29, 2007

A very claustrophobic film that will keep u on the edge of your seat.. With excellent acting and with a dark atmosphere and brilliant creatures this is by far the best horror film in 2006!...

User review rating: 0 February 01, 2007

Good movie! If you`re closterphobic, you`re gonna love this one! Great suspense!

User review rating: 0 January 16, 2007

HMMMMMMMM I think that I have seen this movie before???? The Cave maybe, two thumbs down and another waste of time!!

User review rating: 0 January 16, 2007

You can fast forward past the half way mark of this movie and not miss anything. All you see in the first half is a bunch of girls waving flashlights in a closet that may or may not be a cavern. I could`t tell because 95% of my 60" WIDESCREEN TV was black with a white dot moving about. It gets better in the 2nd half. 2 **`s.

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2007

Excellent movie. Very well done. Keeps you entertained all through the movie. Not really a horror movie but you scream out loud alot.

User review rating: 0 December 31, 2006

I think it was a very original, had tons of suspense, and lots of scares definetly recommend it to any or all horror fantatics.

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2006

Wow, Scared me out of my suspense. Creates a sense of suspense and claustrophobia that is brilliant.

User review rating: 0 December 27, 2006

This movie didn`t have a good story line. The script was pretty dumb. The only thing scary was that these characters only did what they were told to do by their dumb friend (Juno). I`ll say don`t bother rent this movie. Watch it on TV..

User review rating: 0 December 25, 2006

I have to agree there hasn`t been a horror movie that was scary with a lot of tension. This film also had strong performance so it was excellent.

User review rating: 0 November 10, 2006

Brilliantly scary and a claustrophobic classic = The descent.

User review rating: 0 November 07, 2006

The Descent is a rieventing clastrophobic classic horror movie, with gory scenes and awesome strong performances and high tension that will keep you on the edge of your seat thanks to the dark atmosphere. Go see the descent because it`s a excellent film... 10 out of 10.

User review rating: 0 November 01, 2006

A awesome clautrophobic gory film. Go watch this film it`s excellent it has good acting, good gore, and a excellent ending. I also heard that the dvd of this film is going to have the orignal ending i can`t wait for this and in my opinion it`s a movie worth buying.

User review rating: 0 September 11, 2006

It was great. It`s good to see that even chicks who think they are tough are no match for blind male mutants...

User review rating: 0 September 03, 2006


User review rating: 0 September 02, 2006

This movie offers extremely excellent gore and suspense not once did the slow paced kicked in. So if you are looking for an excellent horror flick let this be it.

User review rating: 0 August 31, 2006

iv never jumped in a movie, exept this one

User review rating: 0 August 31, 2006

I really loved this movie !! The dialogue was interesting, I was constantly stimulated.

User review rating: 0 August 30, 2006

Finally a horror film that`s actually scary!!

User review rating: 0 August 30, 2006

A great movie. This movie was chilling in the fact that there were many scenes that literally jumped out and scared the hell out of you and the mixture of gruesome violence and sheer terror of the characters in the story. A must see for those who love horrors.

User review rating: 0 August 29, 2006

This movie as far as horror movies and thrillers go was great. I didn’t go in expecting much but I was pleasantly surprised. For anyone who is cluster phobic this movie would be scary enough even without the blood and gore. Great movie!

User review rating: 0 August 28, 2006

Brilliantly,Bone Chilling Masterpiece. The descent offers a claustaphobic and a scary concept. So i highly recommand this film to any horror fan, 10/10.

User review rating: 0 August 28, 2006

if you are at all claustrophobic this movie will scare the jeepers out of you.

User review rating: 0 August 28, 2006

I liked this movie better than I thought I would!!!

User review rating: 0 August 28, 2006

Awesome movie! As a horror fanatic, it has been a very long time since a film has had me bouncing out of my seat in fright! The Descent does that and more.

User review rating: 0 August 26, 2006

This movie had some great frightening scenes.

User review rating: 0 August 25, 2006

Bone chilling and gruesome. I loved the ending!!!

User review rating: 0 August 25, 2006

it was very original and exciting to watch, however the ending should have been a little more developed

User review rating: 0 August 25, 2006

Very tense movie, kept me on the edge of my seat

User review rating: 0 August 25, 2006

I liked this movie very much. It`s different, the storyline is creative, so just because that I give them one big fat thumb up! Careful if you get disgusted easily, this movie is plenty of blood, along with any kind of bodily fluids... hehehe Enjoy!

User review rating: 0 August 24, 2006

wow...i had never even heard of the movie and i was extremelly impressed...i honestly could not think of a situation worse than the one the girls are faced with in this movie!

User review rating: 0 August 24, 2006

differently gruesome, riveting

Change Location