The Dark Tower

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.66 / 5

User rating: 3.66

Based on 272 votes and 77 reviews


  • User rating: 3.66 29.46%
  • User rating: 3.66 35.71%
  • User rating: 3.66 18.75%
  • User rating: 3.66 3.57%
  • User rating: 3.66 12.50%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 77

User review rating: 0 September 16, 2017

I enjoyed the movie, story line and action scenes.

User review rating: 1 September 11, 2017

When you walk out, you'll be trying to figure out all the loose strings. The movie is uneven, detached, and superfluous. Everything that is has no explanation, and the bad guy has no story. It's pitiful to say the least. Stephen, get a ghost writer.

User review rating: 4 September 09, 2017

Of all the 2 hour sequels out now, this is one of the few that could have constructively used 2 hours and a couple sequels. It just didn't get it. I came in with no preconceptions and enjoyed the movie, but it's obviously a cut down version of the real story. In what might be a back-handed compliment, it caused me to buy all the novels right after I saw the movie. Steven King is an amazing writer, but rarely sees his work translated to movies with the brilliance of his original work.

User review rating: 5 September 09, 2017

A surprising twist and great acting, yes even from the young stars. Well worth seeing 8 stars but the don't allow that many. An avid movie goer.

User review rating: 0 September 07, 2017

I enjoyed the movie, story line and action scenes.

User review rating: 3 August 31, 2017

The Dark Tower movie is a continuation of the Dark Tower books. People who have read the books and are looking for the movie(s) to depict the events in the books will be disappointed. This movie has taken elements of four books in his series. The movie has also changed some important elements in the book that hard core fans will hate. Was the movie good? The movie seemed rushed. This hurts the development of the characters. i also think the changes in the movie don't help the movie or the characters. This movie could have been 2.5 hour event.

User review rating: 3 August 29, 2017

This movie is OK. Wait for it to come on Netflix, it's not worth getting a babysitter so you can go see it.

User review rating: 3 August 28, 2017

The only thing in common with the books.. were the character names and a very slim relationship with the storyline. Any continuation of the story would be out of some screenwriters fantasy world and not Stephen Kings.

User review rating: 4 August 28, 2017

Loved it! Felt too short. But all awesome actors and acting, storyline was great.

User review rating: 1 August 27, 2017

Pitiful

User review rating: 4 August 26, 2017

Went to see it because Idris Elba was in it but enjoyed more than I thought I would. Good movie, will suggest it to others.

User review rating: 0 August 24, 2017

It was a great movie. Super interesting and different then other movies. Action packed and a great story.

User review rating: 5 August 20, 2017

Good movie, Matthew McConaughey play the Good evil villain.

User review rating: 2 August 19, 2017

If you are a fan of the dark tower series and have read all the books, do not go see this movie. So disappointing on so many levels.

User review rating: 4 August 19, 2017

Pretty entertaining but way too short. Of all the new boy actors this summer Tom Taylor does an excellent job. McConehey as usually was pretty bad but Elba very believable. Story line kinda corny but i was entertained!

User review rating: 2 August 18, 2017

After seeing this movie I didn't feel anything. I wasn't blown away by the CGI, the story was old, the acting consisted of a lot of staring. I wasn't moved in any way.

User review rating: 1 August 17, 2017

I have read The Dark Tower series more than once. It is a beloved world that I love to visit. My mistake with this movie was looking at the "star" rating system and not reading the actual reviews. That being said... This movie is the absolute worst movie I have ever sat through. Waste of money, time and intelligence. If you Love the books DO NOT SEE THIS FIASCO!!!!! If you still just have to see it for yourself like I did .... All I can say is... I told you so.

User review rating: 4 August 16, 2017

As a #1 King fan there was Just soooo much missing from book. It was expectef tho cause no way can all that is told in the book can fit into a movie time span. I am hoping for sequels. What was there was interpreted very well. Loved loved loved all the images inserted thru out the Dark Tower movie from other King books/movies that only a fan would spot!

User review rating: 2 August 16, 2017

The movie was too hokey. Just a way to get out of the heat.

User review rating: 4 August 15, 2017

I never read the books but will now. The movie was great and the three main characters were well cast. I have talk to friends who have read the book and it sounds like the movie deviated from the story but what's new. I recommend people see this one on the big screen.

User review rating: 3 August 15, 2017

Too short for the story it is trying to tell. Rushed arcs, hurried development, and rapid resolutions. It should of been at least two and a half hours but they crammed it into 95 minutes. It will leave you wanting.

User review rating: 1 August 14, 2017

Awful.

User review rating: 4 August 14, 2017

AWESOME

User review rating: 4 August 14, 2017

Knew it couldn't capture all of the books. They did get the spirit of Jake and the gunslinger. I actually enjoyed the movie despite some bad reviews.

User review rating: 0 August 14, 2017

I didn't read books, but I thought the movie was fantastic! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

User review rating: 5 August 13, 2017

It was awesome!! Just the start to more stephen king!!

User review rating: 1 August 12, 2017

Boring and slow. I actually fell asleep at one point. Very little character development and back story. I think Ron Howard fell asleep when he was producing it. Stephen King's epic story was botched here and I am very dissapointed with this result.

User review rating: 5 August 12, 2017

Loved it! I hope to see sequels to help scratch the surface of what the books offered.

User review rating: 4 August 11, 2017

we enjoyed the movie it was very very good

User review rating: 4 August 11, 2017

I loved the movie it was an amazing film !

User review rating: 0 August 11, 2017

THAT WAS AWESOME AND AMAZING

User review rating: 5 August 11, 2017

Always liked Stephen King, this is one novel I didn't read, but it is a fantastic movie, action packed, good special effects, total fantasy sci fi.

User review rating: 3 August 11, 2017

I love anything Idris Elba is in. A must see

User review rating: 0 August 11, 2017

Excellent story and effects.

User review rating: 0 August 10, 2017

This movie is very very cool!!!!!

User review rating: 4 August 10, 2017

Wonderful job capturing the feel of the book.

User review rating: 3 August 10, 2017

This movie was really great and awesome!!!

User review rating: 0 August 10, 2017

Enjoyable non-stop action.

User review rating: 5 August 10, 2017

Most excellent in every way...will see it again.

User review rating: 4 August 10, 2017

I enjoyed this movie, was not boring. actors fit their characters well..

User review rating: 1 August 09, 2017

Junk movie see it on the $6/day.

User review rating: 0 August 09, 2017

I love the Stephen King's book, but a lot different when it comes to the movie, and love how the kid and Matthew play their characters.

User review rating: 4 August 09, 2017

I haven't read the books but I've looked into them enough to have a sense of them. I am pretty sure anyone who read the books isn't going to think much of this movie. And that is totally fair. As someone who hasn't read the books, I thought it was not bad at all, and will probably watch it at least once more when it's released on dvd. And I loved Idris Elba as the Gunslinger and hope they proceed to do a television show with him followed by movie sequels as they said they were interested in doing.

User review rating: 1 August 09, 2017

This series is the most amazing thing i have ever read. This movie is probably the furthest thing from what the books are. Aside from a few cheesy lines and Roland loading his gun super fast, it didn't have anything to do with the actually books.

User review rating: 1 August 09, 2017

Absolutely terrible, Mr. King and Howard should feel very guilty cashing the $$$ they were paid for this waste of time. Read all the novels in the series and the title is were the movie stopped being based on them.

User review rating: 5 August 09, 2017

Good movie. I might end repeating the movie again soon.

User review rating: 0 August 09, 2017

COOL MOVIE WITH GREAT ACTORS!!!!!

User review rating: 1 August 09, 2017

WHERE DID THEY GET THIS PIECE OF sh*t. THE STORY HAS NO RESEMBLANCE TO THE GREAT WRITINGS OF STEVEN KING. THE GUNSLINGER IS A VISUAL EXTENTION OF KING HIMSELF. I WAS GREATLY DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS REDICULOUS ATTEMT TO TELL AN EXCITING RENDITION OF A GREAT SERIES.

User review rating: 4 August 08, 2017

I loved it very good movie!!!

User review rating: 4 August 08, 2017

Good movie

Change Location