Rocketman

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.80 / 5

User rating: 3.80

Based on 198 votes and 68 reviews


  • User rating: 3.80 56.70%
  • User rating: 3.80 12.37%
  • User rating: 3.80 4.12%
  • User rating: 3.80 8.25%
  • User rating: 3.80 18.56%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 68

User review rating: 2 June 18, 2019

Musical fantasy. Never was a fan. This did not change my mind. Not biographical. Nor musical. Added nothing to my knowledge or desire to learn. Only for this most rabid fan and then...so what?

User review rating: 5 June 17, 2019

Watched this three times since it’s release! Wonderful mix of biopic and musical fantasy! Taron Egerton does a fabulous job as Elton John!

User review rating: 1 June 17, 2019

Waste of money. Was not expecting a musical fantasy, but something along the lines of Bohemian Rhapsody. Certainly was not.

User review rating: 5 June 17, 2019

It was well written. It had great acting, an interesting plot with excellent music

User review rating: 5 June 16, 2019

A very interesting biopic on Elton John

User review rating: 5 June 16, 2019

Well done. I’m not a really big Elton John fan but he told you about his life and was it very good. Would see it again

User review rating: 4 June 16, 2019

Very entertaining movie. Knowing how his parents treated him you can see why he was a bit messed up in the head. But his Nan was always there for him.

User review rating: 5 June 15, 2019

Greatest movie ever

User review rating: 5 June 15, 2019

I loved the movie and the music. They all did a great job and I am going to see it again.

User review rating: 4 June 15, 2019

an incredible musical prodigy

User review rating: 5 June 14, 2019

Great movie. Music is great.

User review rating: 5 June 14, 2019

I love Elton John's music and I loved this movie! For those trying to compare it to Bohemian Rhapsody it is totally different and there is not comparison. Both were 5 star movies in my opinion. Rocketman is much more comparable to Mamma Mia as a musical. While Mamma Mia is based on fiction, Rocketman is based on Elton's life. It is different, it is artistic, I loved the music and I loved the performance of the leading man.

User review rating: 5 June 13, 2019

I wasn’t sure what to expect, after reading such conflicting reviews. I actually loved it. Yes, it’s kind of a musical - but his music is great, so the music was great. It definitely explains why he turned to drugs and alcohol. The storyline is touching. There is a sex scene, but it’s R rated, so shouldn’t really surprise anyone. Overall, the music is excellent, story is interesting, acting is outstanding.

User review rating: 5 June 13, 2019

It was informative, nostalgic, and entertaining! The script and acting were outstanding! What more do you want from a movie?

User review rating: 1 June 12, 2019

Way to dark. Only showed the failures in Elton’s relationships, drug use and Alcohol. Nothing about his years of sobriety and other factors of his life. Ranks as one of the the 3 worst movies I have ever seen.

User review rating: 5 June 12, 2019

Loved the Movie, and the Music give it a 5 star.

User review rating: 5 June 11, 2019

Absolutely brilliant. The song chronology may not match the timeline, but the musical selection matched the various moods and temperaments as Elton progressed, grew, and seemed to come to life. An unvarnished musical biography.

User review rating: 1 June 11, 2019

Not nearly enough music, ABSOLUTELY NO COMPARISON AT ALL TO BOHEMIAN which was an absolute Masterpiece, Elton is very talented, why not emphasize this instead of focusing on his gay influence? Go see it and judge for your yourself!

User review rating: 5 June 11, 2019

Brilliant.

User review rating: 5 June 10, 2019

Not sure why everyone's trying to compare this to Bohemian Rhapsody or Queen. This is a totally different movie, folks. It's got Elton performing in front of crowds on stage, plus, sometimes as he's telling his story, it's in song and it sort of turns into a musical. It's pretty cool all around, and if I had to pick which movie I liked better, I couldn't. They're different, not comparable. But I have to say, Taron was amazing and so was Jamie Bell. Worth seeing for their performances alone, but the entire film was great, it had me smiling, laughing and brought a tear to my eyes as well.

User review rating: 0 June 10, 2019

Was a stupid movie. Didn`t come close to Queen`s life story.

User review rating: 4 June 10, 2019

Very well done a very good biography

User review rating: 4 June 09, 2019

Liked it, more of a musical than anything!

User review rating: 1 June 08, 2019

Awful. I gave Borap 5 stars, this? 1. Save your money.

User review rating: 1 June 08, 2019

Stupid. Breaks into song just like Glee. If wanting more realistic story, stay home. Disappointed.

User review rating: 4 June 08, 2019

The sex scene was tastefully done and relevant to the story. Happy Pride Month!!

User review rating: 4 June 08, 2019

Don't go necessarily expecting a standard bio-pic, a la 'Bohemian Rhapsody'. 'Rocketman' adheres to the timeline of Elton's life, but not his music - many songs from different periods are transposed to help move the narrative forward. It is an excellent example of a 'musical fantasy'. I was most impressed that the production did not attempt to sanitize his life for public appeal - the man was gay, and he had sex with men. He was an addict, and he is depicted taking drugs and drinking alcohol to excess. Nobody should walk into this R-rated movie expecting anything less. Would not be surprised to see Taron Egerton among the lists of acting nominees for this year. Overall very entertaining and definitely worth seeing in the theatre!

User review rating: 5 June 07, 2019

Loved it. Will see it again. Acting was perfect.

User review rating: 1 June 06, 2019

Junk.....what is this with making movies about self indulgent musicians and their deviant life styles.

User review rating: 1 June 06, 2019

I expected more songs. that's why I went. I didn't expect the biggest part was watching Elton drink stupid, do drugs up his nose and up close and too personal sex with him and another guy. I usually avoid R movies but I was thinking the raunchines would turn around to music and fun again. Didnt happen.. 1 last minute of redemption when it showed the now Elton John. Does he really want every person going to know what an ugly way he lived for years.

User review rating: 1 June 06, 2019

This movie seems to be EJ's way of promoting himself and his lifestyle while enriching himself in the process. This mess might work on Broadway (that's probably next) but comes across as disjointed and forced on film. I actually was unaware it was a "musical" until it became apparent while viewing the film. I understand it under-performed on opening weekend - now I understand why.

User review rating: 5 June 05, 2019

Loved it! Taron Egerton was excellent

User review rating: 5 June 05, 2019

The entire story and how it was portrayed through an AA meeting

User review rating: 1 June 05, 2019

Only about 25% was actually sort of ok. For the most part it was FILTH!! I know He has a lifestyle that I do not approve of, however, seeing this portrayed on screen was absolutely sickening. Had this been evident in the trailers that were shown I would have never wasted my money or time. The young man that played Elton did a good job. Also disgusting was the fact that young boy was using foul language in early scene was also in extremely poor taste for both director and PARENTS. No excuse for it. If it were possible to rate a minus one, that would be my vote.

User review rating: 5 June 04, 2019

I admit I was not expecting a musical, yet this movie provided such an incredible portrayal of Reggie/Elton’s life. The EJ songs I’ve listened to since the ‘70’s now have their meanings explained. A tribute to a resilient man!

User review rating: 5 June 04, 2019

I loved it!! I felt like I was on a roller coaster ride. The energy and the pace kept you moving forward. Loved the songs, too.

User review rating: 1 June 04, 2019

Not good

User review rating: 2 June 04, 2019

Was expecting a much better movie. Would not waste time seeing it again. Very disappointed, would have enjoyed more of Elton's songs in the movie. Trying to weave a "musical" theme through out did not work....left it disjointed. Very disappointed.

User review rating: 1 June 03, 2019

I was expecting a lot different I know I won’t see it again nothing compared to Bohemian Rhapsody with Freddie Mercury and Queen seen it several times when it was in the theatre.

User review rating: 3 June 03, 2019

It was ok. Not what I was expecting. Sad story though and I still love his songs.

User review rating: 5 June 03, 2019

Was beautifully done with songs weaved in like a musical of his life. Plan on going to see it again! Such a talent who had so much to overcome and with determination and sheer guts he did! Have always loved his music and admired his professionalism and talent. He gives all to his fans in concert and did the same for this movie.

User review rating: 5 June 03, 2019

Just Fantastic!

User review rating: 1 June 03, 2019

Bohemian Rhapsody is 100% better in my opinion. Was expecting it to be a good movie wasted my money on this one!!!!!!!

User review rating: 5 June 03, 2019

Loved everything about it except for the graphic sex scene that came out of nowhere. It wasn't necessary, we can get the picture without all of that. Taron Egerton is an amazing actor though, and Jamie Bell was also great. Definitely worth seeing.

User review rating: 5 June 03, 2019

I loved this movie so much. It was like watching a musical. Casting was excellent. Still love all Elton’s music!

User review rating: 5 June 02, 2019

Excellent move - acting is fantastic. A must see. Thoroughly enjoyed,

User review rating: 5 June 02, 2019

Emotional, raw and beautiful. A masterpiece and a powerful story of despair and redemption

User review rating: 5 June 02, 2019

Moving, raw, emotionally charged life story of a legend who suffers and eventually triumphs over his demons. Excellent acting performances, fantastic musical presentations. Loved everything about it

User review rating: 2 June 02, 2019

Messy. Dancers, inaccurate chronological order of songs. Boring.

User review rating: 4 June 02, 2019

Didn't love it; but it was a good movie! Taron Edgerton does an amazing job of becoming Elton John

Change Location