Paul, Apostle of Christ

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.49 / 5

User rating: 4.49

Based on 216 votes and 72 reviews


  • User rating: 4.49 78.89%
  • User rating: 4.49 7.78%
  • User rating: 4.49 3.33%
  • User rating: 4.49 3.33%
  • User rating: 4.49 6.67%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 72

User review rating: 1 April 21, 2018

Graphic

User review rating: 2 April 15, 2018

I wanted to like this but I was so distracted by the extremely dim lighting, and barely audible dialogue it was hard to engage. It's hard enough to maintain attention to long passages of Bible like speeches without making it hard for the viewers to see and hear. I was annoyed most of the film and terribly disappointed. Oh, do I get that Paul was in a dark prison, yes. I get it was a dark period and film lighting might have underscored that. But the artist direction seems to have been to over darken the most of the film just so the one scene of the little girl awaking healthy could be bright in contrast. This film was a total miss for me. So be it. We are told to be of sober opinions, not false flatters just because we're delighted to have another faith-based movie from Jim Caviezel.

User review rating: 5 April 13, 2018

Drama . Interesting fictional background story . .? Violence for children ? Maybe to much .

User review rating: 5 April 13, 2018

Y\I'm going to see it a second time, and take my family with me!!

User review rating: 5 April 13, 2018

EXCELLENT!!!!

User review rating: 5 April 12, 2018

Great movie!

User review rating: 5 April 11, 2018

Wonderful!

User review rating: 5 April 11, 2018

Very moving...tears came to my eyes at the end! Wonderful message to remind Christians of today what the Christians during Jesus' Ministry and right after Jesus' Resurrection were subjected to in order to spread The Gospel of Jesus Christ ! Highly recommended for every Christian! Secular people would be served well to see the movie also!

User review rating: 1 April 10, 2018

There are no words for how bad this is. The acting is like that of a high school play where it all goes so terribly wrong. Christian martyrs went willingly to their deaths. I was about ready to join them. TERRIBLE!! ............guru bob

User review rating: 5 April 09, 2018

Excellent movie. Jim Caviezel & all the other actors did a great job.

User review rating: 5 April 09, 2018

We all need reminders in life and this movie is one. Believers would die for their faith in the Lord. Puts things in perspective. Excellent movie go see it while we still can !

User review rating: 5 April 09, 2018

I have seen it twice. My favorite movie since The Passion of Christ! I felt like I was there as I watched.

User review rating: 4 April 08, 2018

What stood out to me was showing how Paul probably struggled with his life before his conversion and the deaths he was responsible for. We appreciated the movie - it was not flashy but seemed to show the difficult times those early believers lived in.

User review rating: 5 April 07, 2018

Deeply moving and thought-provoking. It was true to the spirit of Paul's letters, and the visual impact of events was powerful. I was concerned that either the movie might over-emphasize the torture and pain of the early Christians or perhaps veer toward a sentimentalized version of Paul. Happily, neither of these was the case. From what I know, it seemed an accurate depiction of the times, and Paul's faith rang true. Even knowing the story (or perhaps because of that), I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. So glad I saw it.

User review rating: 2 April 06, 2018

I looked forward to seeing this film but I am sorry to say that I was disappointed in this film. Was it a movie about Paul--or Luke? I did not find it to be accurate in that women seemed to have more authority here than I believe they really did back in that time period. It seemed slow and I feel they should have spent more time on Saul's life before his conversion as well as afterward--not just the end of his life.

User review rating: 0 April 06, 2018

This movie wasn't what I expected at all. At Easter I look forward to seeing movies like the Ten Commandments r Ben Hur etc. Drawn out too long, not much here .

User review rating: 5 April 06, 2018

A life changing movie.

User review rating: 5 April 06, 2018

Even better the second time! Learned more and seen more and understood soooo much more! Thank you! :-)

User review rating: 5 April 05, 2018

Excellent movie....highly recommend it.

User review rating: 5 April 05, 2018

I loved the movie. It was well done It portrayed meaningfully, a small but mighty snippet of the Christian faith, from a biblical aspect. What St Paul and Christians at the time experienced thousands of years ago somewhat similar to what has happened in recent times. I wish there were more movies like this, showing the reality of the Christian faith on screen. It kept my attention. Excellent movie.

User review rating: 5 April 04, 2018

Excellent cast. True to the Gospel.

User review rating: 5 April 03, 2018

Well cast - This movie brought the Gospel to life. It reminded us of the sacrifices made by the early Christian Community - their strength and fortitude. The example of their faith filled lives is a testament to all Christians. They truly lived as Jesus taught - To Love even when "to Love" seems impossible. We need to hear this message over and over especially in our world today! We wanted to watch the story unfold even more, that is the only reason we gave 4 stars instead of 5.

User review rating: 5 April 03, 2018

Excellent. I found myself in this movie. Much insight into both Paul and Luke

User review rating: 5 April 03, 2018

Please bring more movies like this to our theatres

User review rating: 5 April 03, 2018

Authentic and inspiring.

User review rating: 5 April 02, 2018

FABulous !!! just in time for Easter. Loved it !!

User review rating: 4 April 02, 2018

Very profound, deeply moving and thought-provoking. Left the movie with a deeper appreciation for what Paul, the other apostles, and early Christians endured "for the sake of the gospel". I did have a hard time shaking the graphic images of Christians being beheaded or used as human torches during Nero's reign. While it helped me personally appreciate the depth of persecution endured by Christians, I would not recommend this movie for very young children for that reason.

User review rating: 5 April 02, 2018

Movie was excellent and left me speechless with a lingering impression... The love of our brothers and sisters who died for their faith in Christ... overwhelming. Don't read liberal reviews, they are blinded and their reviews are lies.

User review rating: 2 April 01, 2018

Dark movie-little action. Not a very Biblical rendition of Paul's life.

User review rating: 5 April 01, 2018

I thought the movie was great because it showed how much the early Christians risked for the cause of Christ. Today we think we shouldn't have to suffer (or at least I think that I should have to suffer as much as I do) but in this movie nobody talks about the suffering they just endure it and some die for their love of Jesus. It was shocking to see the depiction of Paul, not at all like I pictured him to be. He was strong, unwavering and inspiring. I will think about this movie for a long time and I hope to see it again. Apparently I have a lot to learn about long suffering and this movie drives the point home.

User review rating: 5 March 31, 2018

It is the best movie I have ever seen. True to the Spirit of the Bible and very powerfully and artistically crafted. In the midst of great suffering Paul's commitment to Christ is unwavering. Christ's power is truly made perfect in Paul's weakness as he yielded his life to Christ. Beautiful and miraculous, how the Lord has brought so many gifted people to produce this masterpiece.

User review rating: 5 March 30, 2018

This movie was life changing. Seeing Paul's words come from his mouth - and the viewing of his actual suffering. Only problem was the sound was a bit to soft - had to strain to hear. But, not a dry eye in the place at the end. Made me wonder - honesty how Christianity survived all that persecution.

User review rating: 5 March 30, 2018

Super excellent!

User review rating: 5 March 30, 2018

I liked this movie. For anyone familiar with the New Testament story, this movie delves into it and provides a dramatic and not impossible answer to a very real question question- not so much, I think, about the Apostle Paul, but about the matter of Luke and his survival through the final days of Paul's ordeal before he was beheaded- as Paul put it, in his last letter to Timothy, "For I am already being poured out as a drink offering, and the time of my departure has come." Read the Bible and see... more than once, God's light has shone the brightest in the darkness of a jail or a prison.

User review rating: 5 March 29, 2018

I left with heart hurting for their suffering, and with a deep understanding that we all need to do more. It was a wonderful, meaningful movie that showed the complexities of the world for them, their faith and trust in the Lord.

User review rating: 5 March 29, 2018

Brilliant movie!! I would love to see more like this movie. I will be seeing it again!

User review rating: 5 March 28, 2018

It is a very well done movie that portrays the lives of the early Christians. It shows me the biblical stories coming to life.

User review rating: 5 March 28, 2018

Biblical authenticity. Excellent narrative. Great cast. Love how it humanized Paul being tormented by his past. Good to be reminded of the struggles of the early Christians. The portrayal of Luke's character is very moving and powerful.

User review rating: 4 March 28, 2018

Not the usual Hollywood biblical movie, with god acting

User review rating: 5 March 28, 2018

Thought-provoking, disturbing reminder of the parallels between Roman times and our own.

User review rating: 5 March 28, 2018

It was really a 4 star, but I'm trying to counterbalance the reviews from all the Christian trolls on the forum. It started out a little slowly. But the performance of Paul and Luke just drew me in. But I have to qualify, it might be difficult to follow for those who aren't familiar at least with the basics of Paul's ministry. I felt the screenplay was fair and didn't push any particular agenda or denomination. More hype and pyrotechnics and special effects might have been welcomed by movie goers, but would have detracted from a solemn rendition of the Christians in Rome. I don't think I would have been drawn into the story had I waited for the DVD to come out.

User review rating: 5 March 28, 2018

Great historical account. Sobering, inspiring. Takes us to a time that is very difficult for us in in this era of western civilization to identify with. The audience did not rush out. We were attempting to process!

User review rating: 1 March 28, 2018

Dreadful directing of uninspired performances but about as expected given the topic of fictive piffle.

User review rating: 5 March 27, 2018

Staying true to the Bible and the struggle of the early Christians and spread of God’s word through Apostles like Paul. Who gave their all to teach and share God’s love through Jesus.

User review rating: 5 March 27, 2018

A glimpse into the life of early Christians in Rome when Paul was there and how Paul's letters were written - Very moving and insightful!

User review rating: 5 March 27, 2018

The message to us all..

User review rating: 5 March 26, 2018

Very moving! I liked hearing Paul's letters read throught the movie. Definitely recommend it!

User review rating: 5 March 26, 2018

This movie depicts the early church and reminds us of the strong persecution against Christian believers that continues throughout the ages. The message inspires us to live for Christ with the message of love! I appreciate that they included a lot of Scripture according to the Bible!

User review rating: 5 March 26, 2018

Authentic. Well researched. Well done. Oscar.

User review rating: 5 March 26, 2018

Awesome we loved it

Change Location