Open Range

Thank you for rating this movie!

Open Range Movie Poster

4.37 / 5

User rating: 4.37

Based on 11747 votes and 53 reviews


  • User rating: 4.37 83.42%
  • User rating: 4.37 0.70%
  • User rating: 4.37 0.39%
  • User rating: 4.37 0.59%
  • User rating: 4.37 14.90%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 53

User review rating: 5 March 08, 2010

Love GOOD WESTWERNS. I find Open Range as one of the best,along with red river, silverado,shane,winchester 73,and treasure of sierra madre. last one may not fall in the "western movie" but is still of the same genre

User review rating: 0 May 31, 2006

My all time favorite western

User review rating: 0 December 13, 2005

One of the best westerns of all time.

User review rating: 0 January 24, 2005

Excellent, good story and a western where people shoot and actually miss!!

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2004

Simply amazing... Amazing that a movie could be so boring!

User review rating: 0 August 21, 2004

Brilliant movie bringing all the beauty of the Rockies and the life of a cattleman together. Another epic film by Kevin Costner.

User review rating: 0 March 26, 2004

excellent movie,good story,nicely filmed

User review rating: 0 February 23, 2004

I thought this was one of the best westerns to come out in the last 10 to 15 years. Kevin Costner did a great job directing this movie. The scenery was breathtaking & the cast was well picked. I was especially glad to see Ian Tracy; even though his was a minor role I was still glad to see him in a big picture. I even liked this better the Eastwood’s Unforgiven, & I can’t say there are many dusters ever done that compare to the ultimate cowboy. Ranking my all time favourite westerns I will place Open Range in the number 2 spot right behind The Good the Bad and the Ugly and one up on The Outlaw Jose Wales. And best of all there was none of that

User review rating: 0 February 13, 2004

A big disappointment: Very Slow and at times boring

User review rating: 0 January 24, 2004

Excellent movie. Beautiful CANADIAN scenery!!

User review rating: 0 January 21, 2004

I love western movies and I HAVE TO SAY IT IS ONE OF THE BEST.

User review rating: 0 December 09, 2003

One of the best movies I have ever seen.

User review rating: 0 November 16, 2003

Duvall is such a hypocrite. Last year he went on and on about being against filming in Canadad, how it steals jobs from Hollywood, blah blah blah... then he comes up here to star in a movie. Hey buddy, if you are going to be anti-Canadian ant least stick to your principles, not grab the paycheque they throw at you and do what you say you`re against.

User review rating: 0 October 22, 2003

About time a western came along and showed a version of what the old west was more likely about. Forget about talking to him all day. Walk up and shoot him in the head. The characters were who they were without "Hollywood" telling them what they shoud be.

User review rating: 0 October 13, 2003

This movie was too slow paced. It seemed like they dragged out an hour worth of movie to fill two hours.

User review rating: 0 September 25, 2003

comment You need to be wary of a few things when sitting through this one. 1. Snoring noises coming from the audience. 2. The possibility of a case of tennis elbow from constantly looking at your watch! 3. The probability of catching a cold from the breeze stirred up by people running to get out of the theater!

User review rating: 0 September 25, 2003

This is the best western since "SHANE" . . . and probably better.

User review rating: 0 September 12, 2003

I think this was a great movie good star power, good characters, I love a good old fashioned western. The setting was great.

User review rating: 0 September 11, 2003

Good old fashioned western!

User review rating: 0 September 08, 2003

One of the best movies I`ve ever seen. Great performances by three great thespians. I was also delighted to learn from the comments here that it was filmed in Alberta. five stars

User review rating: 0 September 07, 2003

Beautiful cinematography...tight script. Robert Duvall at his finest, playing the American Cowboy.

User review rating: 0 September 03, 2003

LONG!!!!!

User review rating: 0 September 02, 2003

WAAAAAAAAY better than I expected. Beautiful to watch, great story. Hard to imagine why R. Duval made such nasty comments about the Canadian actors, they were all great.

User review rating: 0 August 29, 2003

Great movie....nice to see a western where the horsemen can really ride...

User review rating: 0 August 29, 2003

a wonderful moviewith beautiful scenery and a good story i just loved this movie and so did my husband i wish kevin costner and robert duvall would make more movies together their great!maybe there will be a sequel to open range.

User review rating: 0 August 29, 2003

I have never laughed so hard at a movie. The best actor was the dog! If I had to see Kevin Costner spit one more time I would have screamed. He could have at least pretended to chew the tobacco if he was going to continually spit it out. This movie had every cliche ever written in any Western. At least Alberta looked pretty in the movie.

User review rating: 0 August 26, 2003

Excellent western in the classic tradition !

User review rating: 0 August 26, 2003

great movie to take your girlfriend to!!!!

User review rating: 0 August 25, 2003

Pure entertainment. Cinematography was fantastic.

User review rating: 0 August 25, 2003

Great show, great pace, love Costner & Duval

User review rating: 0 August 25, 2003

It is a great movie - good duster - very enjoyable 5 stars

User review rating: 0 August 25, 2003

Beautiful movie, touching story.

User review rating: 0 August 24, 2003

I loved the movie, some parts are very funny and I loved the actors in the movie

User review rating: 0 August 24, 2003

Great, traditional western. Good acting, beautiful scenery. For those tired of computerized heroes, action and poor actors made to look good by technology, this is your kind of movie.

User review rating: 0 August 23, 2003

nice scenary, but very slow at times. Too long.

User review rating: 0 August 23, 2003

Incredibly good! A Western where the characters are well developed, dialogue thoughtful, scenes well composed and action realistic. And the vistas are beautiful. If you like Clint Eastwood`s Westerns or enjoy anything Ahhnold makes, don`t see this.

User review rating: 0 August 21, 2003

Costner and Duvall are Terrific! A Delight to the Eye!

User review rating: 0 August 21, 2003

The Horse Opera is Back! Rugged individualism with a minimum of dialogue seen through a veil of sentimentality.If only real life was like this!

User review rating: 0 August 21, 2003

Great movie, I would see it again, One of the best westerns I have seen in years Duvall and Costner were awesome. 5 star rating *****

User review rating: 0 August 21, 2003

Why tell such a boring story?! The script is embarassing and the acting wooden. The only thing that worked was the beautiful Alberta scenery!

User review rating: 0 August 20, 2003

Pretty good - a bit slow, but what western isn`t. The scenery was pretty spectacular, yeah Canada!!

User review rating: 0 August 20, 2003

boreing

User review rating: 0 August 20, 2003

I was bored for the first half of this too-long movie! I thought the scenery was great and the gun fight at the end was classic, but the acting and some of the script was just too much! It`s a renter!

User review rating: 0 August 18, 2003

I really liked this movie: it was exciting, terrific, and everything a western should be. GO SEE IT!!

User review rating: 0 August 18, 2003

Dazzling!,One of the 2 Best Kevin Costner Films,yet! A Classic Western Film!

User review rating: 0 August 18, 2003

It wasn`t my first choice, but due to timing it was the only one that worked...I was pleasantly surprised!!! Very good movie...I`d rate it 5 stars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 August 18, 2003

Classic western, nice to see that costner can still pull one off once in awhile. Robert duvell play an excellent part as well. Great other supporting cast make the movie. Gun fight at the end is a must see on the big screen

User review rating: 0 August 18, 2003

Terrific movie . . . beautifully acted. I enjoyed it immensely.

User review rating: 0 August 17, 2003

crap !

User review rating: 0 August 17, 2003

It was nice to see a good old predictable western.

Change Location