Once Upon a Time in Philly - User Reviews

Thank you for rating this movie!

Once Upon a Time in Philly Movie Poster

4.81 / 5

User rating: 4.81

Based on 134 votes and 29 reviews


  • User rating: 4.81 94.59%
  • User rating: 4.81 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.81 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.81 2.70%
  • User rating: 4.81 2.70%



Please rate movie 1 to 5 stars






Type the code:


 

Showing 1 to 29 of 29

User review rating: 2 April 17, 2021

Another very sad depiction of black men trying to overcome their struggles.

User review rating: 5 January 09, 2021

We each have our own truth... Although what others see on the surface is often misleading. Sometimes it’s about what sacrifices we’re willing to make for loved ones to survive. Or self-justification as we rationalize, “I’m just doing this to make enough money to take care of my family, then I’m out.” Lean and mean, without an extra ounce of fat, through filmmaker Sixx King’s lens we feel the brutal reality of bloodshed; the treachery and betrayal of foes and friends alike of the Philly drug trade. As young and ambitious Jiz (played by Tareek Cade and reminiscent of Marlo Stanfield from The Wire) states, “You know how this shit goes, OG.” Once Upon a Time in Philly doesn’t pull any punches. Raw and powerful, it hits us hard and often until we’re reeling, eyes glued to the screen, wondering what comes next. Sixx King could have stopped there and made an entertaining, action-packed film. However, he elevates this story to another level with a keen eye and subtle touch, as he deftly weaves hidden gems and subliminal message through imagery, mood, and music to create a morality tale. I knew I was watching something special a few minutes in, when an upstanding man, Ern (played by Rell Angelo) struggles with compromising his principals to provide for his family, while Sam Cook’s A Change is Coming plays in the background. I felt goosebumps break out at this perfect cinematic moment foreshadowing the tragedy to come. Well-plotted and tight, what I find astonishing is that the roles of these characters are not played by people with previous acting experience, as each and every one hits their beats, kills their lines. And it’s most likely the secret to Once Upon a Time in Philly’s unflinching authenticity. This is a film you’ll want to watch again and again. Each time revealing another layer of what is truly at stake. I predict you won’t see the ending coming. Though it may leave you with a lump in your throat, or even a tear in your eye.

User review rating: 5 July 21, 2018

Great Movie well put together much action gives me a reminder of the times during RAM SQUAD era Really Good Movie Big Ups to the writers producers actors and actresses

User review rating: 5 March 15, 2018

Ok where do i start? The beginning was funny and action packed I really loved the cast I think the acting was solid but that love scene between Lisa Dan tone got me heated. This film was done right from the story line all the way to the wardrobe and omg the guy who played ern was so Fiiiiiiine

User review rating: 5 March 13, 2018

Great movie great cast

User review rating: 5 March 11, 2018

Just saw it last night. I thought it was a lil to short but I loved the actors and quality. Tone omg that’s my future husband. Real talk🤪

User review rating: 5 March 11, 2018

I looooooooove Tone he is so handsome and crazy😍😍😍😍😍😍

User review rating: 5 March 10, 2018

Dope 🤙🏿

User review rating: 5 March 10, 2018

Fire film— Loved the ACTING, music, and philly streets! Detective Houston killed it as the bad cop & Earn from Mount Vern killed it too.

User review rating: 5 March 10, 2018

I loved this movie! Seen it twice and wanna see it again!! All Philly Cast!! Shot in Philly! Skyline and the streets where it was filmed at was 👌

User review rating: 5 March 10, 2018

dope cast dope movie #onceuponatimeinphilly

User review rating: 5 March 10, 2018

Great cast shot well and decent acting too short though

User review rating: 5 March 10, 2018

Dope! Women! Crime! Drugs! Money! Bad Guys And Crooked Cops! Phillys finest movie since Bruce Willis joint back in day

User review rating: 5 March 10, 2018

Shot well and actors were solid

User review rating: 5 March 10, 2018

Cool ass movie! Great directing with great acting! Love the White bull detective he had a movie star look and acting was great!

User review rating: 5 March 09, 2018

Excellent movie!!! Great way to showcase talent!! I like that kid who plays rocky he has potential

User review rating: 5 March 09, 2018

Awesome, nice to see a TOTALLY PHILLY CAST! Great 🍿 movie. Must see👀👏

User review rating: 5 March 09, 2018

Dope movie Philly classic

User review rating: 5 March 09, 2018

Dope fast paste great storyline

User review rating: 5 March 09, 2018

Too short but great cast

User review rating: 5 March 09, 2018

🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥💯💯

User review rating: 5 March 09, 2018

Bring Tone back in part 2. Hurry up!!!!!!!!💯

User review rating: 5 March 09, 2018

I like the acting and the quality of the film.

User review rating: 5 March 09, 2018

All I have to say is the guy who plays Tone was incredible I can’t wait to see a part two but please bring back Tone he was just the right amount of crazy to love him and hate him at the same time

User review rating: 5 March 09, 2018

This movie was every thing and I mean it I want more. I’ve seen it twice and I’m going back because it’s so much I missed in the clues etc it’s action packed which I love

User review rating: 5 March 09, 2018

This is a wonderful film! From the actors on down, there's no doubt that this is pure Philly. The film should've been longer tho... but I'm thinking a sequel is coming.

User review rating: 5 March 05, 2018

The movie was wonderfully shot. It made the Philadelphia skyline look great! I The only problem was the shortage of tickets.

User review rating: 5 March 05, 2018

Amazing movie

User review rating: 1 March 04, 2018

A waste of time

  Change Location