Murder on the Orient Express

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.29 / 5

User rating: 4.29

Based on 538 votes and 75 reviews


  • User rating: 4.29 67.55%
  • User rating: 4.29 14.57%
  • User rating: 4.29 5.30%
  • User rating: 4.29 4.64%
  • User rating: 4.29 7.95%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 75

User review rating: 4 December 14, 2017

Good entertainment with quality actors that clarified this action mystery story for me as to who/why done it on the Orient Express.

User review rating: 4 December 12, 2017

Kenneth Branagh's adaptation of Agatha Christie's most famous work is a breathtaking and faithful one, but with its own flare. The film added action and elements for shock value absent from the book, with some actually giving their desired effect while others felt unnecessary and hindered the flow. While Christie's novel ends abruptly, the film stretches it out to bring that extra bit of emotion to its conclusion which was one of the few additions that actually enhanced the already perfect reference material. The main differences between the book and the film are its characters with a few changing to add diversity to the otherwise caucasian list of suspects. Penelope Cruz's Pilar Estravados replaces the novel's Swedish Greta Ohlsson with Manuel Garcia-Rulfo's Biniamino Marquez replacing the Italian Antonio Foscarelli. John Arbuthnot switches ethnicities to be played by Leslie Odom Jr. These changes make no difference at all, if anything, it strengthens it by addressing racism (and we get the iconic rosé quote from Daisy Ridley because of it). The powerhouse cast is so perfect and every one of them deliver exceptional performances. The real triumph of the film lies with its exquisite cinematography capturing Istanbul's sprawling Byzantine architecture and the alpine wilderness of Western Europe, in addition to the camera work (namely the overhead and tracking shots) and production design which all deserve Oscar recognition.

User review rating: 5 December 09, 2017

Loved the cinematography! Fabulous movie. I had forgotten the whodunnit part and just loved it. Great acting. Great job.

User review rating: 5 December 09, 2017

Loved the cinematography! Fabulous movie. I had forgotten the whodunnit part and just loved it. Great acting. Great job.

User review rating: 5 December 09, 2017

Beautiful cinematography, great acting and, of course, Agatha Christie‘s engaging plot. A Perfect Poirot!

User review rating: 2 December 05, 2017

Would have made a better movie for TV. Dull acting, by big stars. Not much suspenders.

User review rating: 5 December 04, 2017

Very enjoyable and clever version of "Oriental Express". Well done!

User review rating: 1 December 04, 2017

Kenneth Branagh should have cast someone else as Poirot. Worst portrayal of Poirot ever. Was David Suchet not available? Or did he turn down this disastrous, over dramatic plot?

User review rating: 1 December 03, 2017

the mustache with side burns was overplay on a feature you wish to replicate-annoyed me during the entire movie except when I fell asleep during the monotone dialogue-the wit and charm of the original Poirot was missing-boo

User review rating: 3 December 02, 2017

Too centered on Poirot character and not enough on the rest of the characters. I found it rather slow, didn't fall asleep, but heard of others who did. Doesn't compare to the earlier version.

User review rating: 5 December 01, 2017

The movie was very enjoyable. The characters were played quite competently. Branaugh was the perfect Poirot with that undeniable wit and charm. The plot was very engaging and the movie flowed with energetic ease. I was glued to the screen from start to finish. The ending was a bit disappointing but the set up was marvellous. I recommend this to anyone who loves a great mystery.

User review rating: 5 November 30, 2017

Yeah, we get it, Movie Reviewer Troll Person. You "fell asleep" 3 times while watching this movie. Remember: one review per movie will suffice kay thx.

User review rating: 1 November 28, 2017

So boring ! Had a nap !!!

User review rating: 5 November 28, 2017

Wonderful and beautiful

User review rating: 2 November 26, 2017

Not the type of film I usually see, but entertaining enough. Problem with this film is some of the scenes are full of mistakes: The bridge the train is stuck on is supposed to be more then hundred feet high, but another shot it only looks about 10 feet high. Suppose to be winter people talk outside with no breath. Also, the end shot is crap, the train that is supposed to ride into the sunset has to stop for almost a minute before the film ends, it becomes very obvious the film is shot in a studio stage. This type of amateurish mistakes ruins the whole experience.

User review rating: 3 November 25, 2017

Very good a little slow but very well done

User review rating: 5 November 25, 2017

Saw the original also read all her books i love a great mystery even tho i knew the ending. Depp,s reason for hiding was made apparent in the beginning, if u listened. Not crazy about Poirot, but, the movie kept me in my seat and that is hard to do. If you fell asleep, then why go? Not disappointed at all.

User review rating: 4 November 24, 2017

Enjoyed the movie. However couldn't get used to this more athletic Poirot. Otherwise Kenneth Branagh's Belgian accent is spot on.

User review rating: 5 November 23, 2017

I love a good mystery.

User review rating: 4 November 22, 2017

AWESOME MYSTERY MOVIE

User review rating: 1 November 22, 2017

I fell asleep multiple times. But my husband really liked it :)

User review rating: 4 November 21, 2017

Loved the movie! My friend almost fell asleep, but I thought it was riveting!

User review rating: 1 November 20, 2017

Do I have to give it any stars !! . Terrible, , honestly one of the worst movies I have seen , BIG disappointment . Wonderful cast with one or two lines each , very tongue in cheek. One good thing my husband had a lovely sleep .

User review rating: 5 November 19, 2017

Saw this movie today, absolutely loved it.

User review rating: 4 November 19, 2017

FANTASTIC!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 November 19, 2017

Went last week to see this movie with my husband. Jeez -and that's not good. Dozed off TWICE, as did hubby and I NEVER doze of in a movie, well, very rarely. The setting was lovely. That's it! The plot was pathetic. Johnny Depp doesn't really explain why he's frightened for his life at all. I don't even REMEMBER Judi Dench having lines. It was a good cast and NOTHING more. REALLY felt let down. G-d knows how much Depp was getting for that. He had the least to say and do. It's an insult to bad movies!

User review rating: 3 November 19, 2017

A remake is a remake is a remake; the original is also hard to live up to; and this one didn't do well.

User review rating: 3 November 18, 2017

So-so. Purist Agatha Christie fans should lighten up - who cares if Poirot was embellished. A movie should not necessarily carbon copy the book - Branagh was fine in the role. A bigger problem may have been the fantastical improbability of the entire mob murder and their attempt to cover it up. It just seemed kind of far fetched to me. But kind of enjoyed it still. 3 stars.

User review rating: 4 November 18, 2017

Kenneth Branagh did a good job directing the film but could have found someone other than himself to play Poirot. Otherwise an excellent movie and a great cast.

User review rating: 5 November 18, 2017

Beautifully filmed, engaging story, well acted!

User review rating: 5 November 18, 2017

well done version, very good acting. As an Agatha Cristie fan I was not disappointed.

User review rating: 2 November 18, 2017

A big, resounding BOOOO! For Agatha Christie fans, watching Kenneth Branagh attempt to recreate Christie's little Belgian detective was painful. What an abomination. Hercule Poirot meets James Bond. The accent was bad, his physical appearance is the polar opposite, the dialogue, the mannerisms, I could go on. Hercule Poirot was NOT ATHLETIC. This movie is strictly for fans of the action genre, it has no resemblance to anything Agatha ever wrote and especially not her best-selling novel Murder on the Orient Express.

User review rating: 4 November 18, 2017

LOVED IT!!!!! #PENELOPE CRUZ!!!!!

User review rating: 4 November 17, 2017

GREAT MYSTERY MOVIE

User review rating: 1 November 17, 2017

As a spoof (surely) of the Christie book, this film ranks right up there with the wannabe 1985 comedy "Lust in the Dust." Does anyone (really) take this seriously --the five-star ratings and kudos notwithstanding?

User review rating: 5 November 17, 2017

This movie was well done. I have seen earlier versions and liked the way it ended.

User review rating: 5 November 17, 2017

The best rendition of this classic story ever!!!

User review rating: 3 November 17, 2017

The movie is slow and a tribute to Kenneth Branagh playing Kenneth Branagh. The 1974 version is much better

User review rating: 1 November 17, 2017

Even if my dog ripped up my entire house, I still wouldn't lock it in the same room as this movie. Horrible acting with bad accents, and the most unsatisfying ending ever. I'd rather go get my teeth cleaned than watch this again.

User review rating: 5 November 16, 2017

EXCELLENT

User review rating: 1 November 16, 2017

It may not be politically correct to bash a Branagh film, but this just deserves a full thumbs down. The main culprit is Branagh himself, who, throughout, makes little attempt to enunciate and mumbles through his lines. Whatever passes his barely moving lips is filtered by that preposterous mustache. One would expect more from a former Shakespearean actor. The avalanche sums it all up: a snow job. But I got to see Pfeiffer, which, whatever else, is always worth a few bucks. I'll get my coat.

User review rating: 4 November 16, 2017

I really enjoyed this movie.

User review rating: 2 November 16, 2017

Don't think so!! Agatha would not be pleased she is listed as one of the writers. Phoney scenery, minimal roles for the number of A-Listers, except for the director Branagh who is all over the scene in a very poor portrayal of Poirot...one of the worst ever. Branagh needs to read a few more Christie books to get everything right when dealing with the books based on the author.

User review rating: 5 November 15, 2017

AWESOME MOVIE

User review rating: 1 November 15, 2017

I kept falling asleep throughout the whole movie. It should had been a 30-min TV show instead. Not worth seeing in the theaters. Slow and boring.

User review rating: 4 November 15, 2017

Good story but a bit confusing. Entertaining but not a must see.

User review rating: 5 November 14, 2017

GREAT MOVIE!!!! MUST SEE IT AGAIN!!!!

User review rating: 0 November 14, 2017

totally overkill; such a great cast of characters; left before the ending; much ado about nothing; branaugh was not a convincing poirot. sorreeeeeee

User review rating: 2 November 14, 2017

NO WAY are the other reviews legitimate. I saw this movie yesterday and it failed at comedy, depth of character, and I can't believe Kenneth Branagh wrote this. A cast of famous actors but the script is weak. Don't waste your money. My Agatha Christie and mystery loving friend was more disappointed than me.

User review rating: 1 November 13, 2017

Great scenery, but an awful boring movie. So bad, that i fell asleep 3 times, and could not wait for the movie to be over !! Total waste of money, as far as i am concerned !!!

Change Location