mother!

Thank you for rating this movie!

2.89 / 5

User rating: 2.89

Based on 434 votes and 144 reviews


  • User rating: 2.89 42.93%
  • User rating: 2.89 3.54%
  • User rating: 2.89 2.02%
  • User rating: 2.89 3.03%
  • User rating: 2.89 48.48%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 144

User review rating: 1 December 05, 2017

well well well that was bad

User review rating: 5 November 25, 2017

Fantastic film, but obviously not for philistines.

User review rating: 1 October 19, 2017

I wish I had stayed home and cleaned the grout. Yeah, that's how good it was.

User review rating: 5 October 18, 2017

People with a brain get the brilliance

User review rating: 1 October 17, 2017

Went out for an evening and decided what all the controversy was about this movie. Didn't find it. I did find a rambling mess of movie making though. I don't recall paying money for such a poor movie before in my life.

User review rating: 1 October 17, 2017

When a movie requires you to undergo 8 years of post secondary programmed school to understand the twisted content within it, you know you've missed your target market. I have four degrees and none of them can make sense of this nonsense. Perhaps if I used a kaleidoscope will doing meth it would make more sense? Garbage in garbage out. No one likes this movie, At least no one who appears remotely normal.

User review rating: 5 October 14, 2017

Extraordinary film making. It seems to be about the disintegration of a marriage but it is really about the horrific consequences of devaluing nature and motherhood to appease false sadistic and savage gods. There is an irony in committing barbaric acts in order to adore and curry favour with a creator who demand human sacrifice and the destruction of his own creation, his wife and progeny. The action takes place outside of historical time so the action is meant to be cyclical and recurring as in a cult. The message of the film is not conveyed through propaganda or preaching but through the unraveling of domesticity and the at first mystifying behavior of the environment and characters. Consequently the denouement, (conclusion) of the moving is a startling revelation for the audience. Aronofsky has learnt from auteur directors like Polanski and Bunuel, but this is definitely NOT a comedy or outright satire but a commentary on the psychopathology of belief and moral vacuity. How then can it be entertaining you may ask. It entertains by keeping the audience mystified and on the edge of their seats until the resolution. Highly original film making made with technical expertise and insight.

User review rating: 1 October 13, 2017

Good God. What was this? Walked out before thirty minutes and got my money back. Just talk to the manager. Give it a shot if you must, but don't feel the need to endure. It doesn't get any better. There must be a spam bot working on these boards because I know five people who saw this and we usually disagree on movies, but in this instance, they agreed this stunk.

User review rating: 5 October 12, 2017

I will simplify the plot for the simpletons: it's the story of Adam and Eve, God, Cain and Able. Mix in some bible stories and less kardashian

User review rating: 4 October 12, 2017

It’s very disturbing, it’s very dark, and it’s hard to understand without a background in theology or a decent understanding of the bible, environmental issues and politics. Well acted, especially by Jennifer Lawrence.

User review rating: 0 October 10, 2017

2 stars for trying ! Great start with Ed Harris & Michelle Pfierffer. Totally under used talent in this film.Veered off into a bad dream. Couldn't wait to wake up ( or for it to be over , lol ) Got all of the allegories of religion & spiritual chaos and the trappings of fame. Was it enlightening in any way ? Would I recommend to see it ? Not unless you have time & money to burn. LOL Love Darren Aronofsky's other films though !!! Can't all be great ! Right ?

User review rating: 5 October 09, 2017

Only those with a transcending acumen will appreciate the cerebral gregarious of this wonderful piece of bliss.

User review rating: 5 October 08, 2017

Challenging, disturbing, confrontational, fascinating.

User review rating: 2 October 07, 2017

I will not bother to go see Lawrence again. She's a poor actress.

User review rating: 1 October 07, 2017

Confusing. Disjointed and messy. The story that's supposed to be here was torn into bits and you're left to decipher a note that has gone through a shredder. No that's not the story, that's the description of what this comes off as. I don't know why this movie exists, but spare yourselves. It's doesn't fit the cultish niche, it doesn't fit the hardcore dram niche, it's out there like some high school play that five mutes were left to write a section upon of their own chosing. Rex Reed rated this as the worst movie he has ever seen. Harvard already has the Raspberries with their name on'em. I hope I have spared some people the pain and wasting of their money.

User review rating: 5 October 06, 2017

Wow

User review rating: 0 October 06, 2017

Interesting to see how those who "enjoyed" this movie make deprecating remarks about those of us who do understand what art is - this was an unadulterated piece of s$$t and anyone with half a brain will recognize it for what it is. The actors cannot actually believe this is a good piece of work. Don't bother.

User review rating: 0 October 06, 2017

Absolutely one of the worst movies I have ever seen. An allegory? I think it is a joke on the viewers... pure nonsense.

User review rating: 5 October 04, 2017

A great film. I've seen it twice.

User review rating: 5 October 04, 2017

Mind blown

User review rating: 1 October 04, 2017

Garbage

User review rating: 5 October 04, 2017

Yeah we shouldn't have to dig that deep, we need fart and poop jokes like the emoji movie to stimulate our brains

User review rating: 1 October 04, 2017

This is the perfect movie for people who like to pretend that they are clever; they rate it a 5 and then claim no one else is intelligent enough to understand the deep meaning of the movie. Honestly, no one should have to 'dig' that deep...it's crap!

User review rating: 2 October 04, 2017

I will rate this a little low; due to movie was 2 hrs long, and many slow parts to it. No real strong plot actually to follow, nor was it a real thriller. More of a psychological mystery regarding what's it like to live with insane narcissist.. Yes, I did get the Cain and Able part. But in my option overall "I just the theater feeling what a long sick movie; that I could not relate with at all"

User review rating: 5 October 03, 2017

This movie is for those with an iq over 60

User review rating: 5 October 02, 2017

The world, en-masse, has been dumbed down to the level of poop-for-brains. Not only do I have an ever-increasingly difficult time dealing with people in my regular job from day to day, but as we now see, you have to spell the simplest things out for people. The movie is for intellects only and as you can see by the comments...the masses, are not the intellects.

User review rating: 1 October 01, 2017

Why would a supposedly big star attach herself to this crap? Horrid, little movie that leaves you uneasy because nothing makes any freaking sense whatsoever. At least with Alice in Wonderland, you know her world is fantasy, this one? Yeesh. I did get home earlier than I thought and got a good sleep though.

User review rating: 1 October 01, 2017

I hope there isn't a sequel. Jennifer Lawrence just gets more and more annoying and she's in EVERY movie these days...

User review rating: 5 September 30, 2017

Dumb people stick to the emoji movie or white chicks, this is too mind stimulating for you

User review rating: 5 September 30, 2017

This was a piece of art - the whole story and the way it was told. If you didn't like it, you didn't get it. Mother earth, God, Adam and Eve, Cain and Abel and how we are ravaging the earth.

User review rating: 5 September 30, 2017

I love Aronofsky movies - when you figure out the meaning of the whole movie, it amazed me how he presented this film. Loved it!

User review rating: 1 September 30, 2017

A waste of my time.

User review rating: 1 September 30, 2017

worse worse movie ever. I even left the theater...too crazy for me...don't waste your time nor money...I can't even rate that movie

User review rating: 2 September 29, 2017

It could have been a thrilling psychological mystery. Instead it was a vapid plot that relied on mindless use blood and horror as a manipulation to hold the audience's attention.

User review rating: 1 September 29, 2017

Worst movie I have endured in years. No story, no decent acting, don't waste your time!

User review rating: 1 September 29, 2017

Might as well have watched paint dry... might have enjoyed it more !!!

User review rating: 1 September 29, 2017

Worst movie I have ever seen. Do NOT go see this TRASH. I cannot believe I paid to see this. Left before it was over.

User review rating: 0 September 29, 2017

This is the worst movie I have seen in over a decade and I see at least one each week. I wanted to walk out after 45 mins but waited until an hour and a half to leave. Others in the theatre walked out. Pathetic at best-save your money!! Is it any wonder theatre attendance has dropped when this is the quality of current cinema??? Shameful!!

User review rating: 1 September 29, 2017

I disliked the pace of the movie...the darkness of the movie...the weak storyline...the fact that three superior actors(namely Lawrence, Bardem, & Harris have lowered themselves to make this piece of trash. It's not a good storyline, I don't care what anyone says about it. This movie is honest-to-God garbage.

User review rating: 1 September 29, 2017

Terrible movie, none of it made any real meaning, other people in the theatre where laughing and wondered if they could get back their money

User review rating: 5 September 28, 2017

Mind blown

User review rating: 1 September 27, 2017

waste of time, very slow moving

User review rating: 1 September 26, 2017

Yeah, that must have been my problem!? My mind hasn't transcended enough to find baby eating and crispy corpses wonderfully artistic. You have got to be joking, this movie was a pile of horse sh*t, if I wanted a horror movie I would've seen one, and it certainly would've been better than this Appalling garbage. Don't waste your money, go see "IT" instead, at least Stephen King has some talent for horror and you don't have to guess what his movie is about.

User review rating: 1 September 26, 2017

This movie did not make any sense to me. It was confusing and I kept saying "what the ??" Lots of unanswered questions when I walked out. I do not suggest seeing it at all. Worst movie I ever saw

User review rating: 1 September 25, 2017

Just plain stupid.

User review rating: 0 September 25, 2017

The worst movie I have ever seen. What a waste of my time.

User review rating: 5 September 24, 2017

Simply breathtaking . If you lack the ability to think above Adam Sandler jokes then yes don't go. For the rest of is who have transcending minds this is our rosebud

User review rating: 1 September 24, 2017

NEVER IN MY LIFE HAVE I EVER BEEN TO SUCH A HORRIBLE MOVIE PLEASE PLEASE I BEG YOU DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY OR TIME....YOU HAVE BEEN WARN...oh they make you put up one star for this movie or you can't submit your comments ????????

User review rating: 1 September 24, 2017

"0" horrible movie surprised Javier, Michelle, and Ed Harris would lower themselves to be a part of this crap. Should get our money back + time wasted. Still don't really no what it's about. I love a good thriller or Horror movies. this was trash. Jennifer find yourself a new boyfriend.

User review rating: 3 September 24, 2017

The previews to this movie misrepresented what its about. Its not a typical Hollywood thriller. Its not mainstream material. I came away with a WTF wasted my time feeling. But AFTER I read what it was suppose to be...it made sense. The cast is solid. The acting is solid. The movie is definitely weird. Aronofsky is the director. Think Requiem for a Dream, Black Swan weirdness then times that by four and you have Mother! I may see it again at the discount theatre just to "get it" as Ive been thinking about its meaning. Again...its NOT about some nutso mother weilding a knife or a psychological Hollywood thriller...its an artsy thriller for sure.

Change Location