Mary Poppins Returns

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.87 / 5

User rating: 3.87

Based on 210 votes and 72 reviews


  • User rating: 3.87 56.38%
  • User rating: 3.87 9.57%
  • User rating: 3.87 8.51%
  • User rating: 3.87 15.96%
  • User rating: 3.87 9.57%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 72

User review rating: 2 January 16, 2019

It didn't have the same dash and verve as the original. The best characters were portrayed by the children, Dick Van Dyke, Angela Lansbury, and Meryl Streep. Blunts performance of Mary Poppins gave the character a self important air. None of the music stayed with me when we left . Kudos to the costume designer and most of the choreography.

User review rating: 3 January 16, 2019

It was disjointed. And we didnt come away singing any of the music. Disappointing movie.

User review rating: 4 January 16, 2019

I actually didn't like the old one, I thought it was pretty hokey. Even when I was a kid. The only thing I liked about it was the kids and the era it was set in. But this one was good. Better than the original. Has the same old-timey feel. Emily Blunt was good. Not as sweet as Julie Andrews, but still good in her own right.

User review rating: 3 January 15, 2019

It's a cute film, and Emily Blunt does a good job. I remember the original Mary Poppins. Mary Poppins Returns has no spark, no magic, nothing exciting. The best thing was when Dick Van Dyke made a brief appearance. However, it's a clean, decent movie for kids, but I'm not sure what age group.

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2019

In Mary Poppins words, It's perfect in every way. Loved this movie.

User review rating: 2 January 14, 2019

Most of the movie was painful to watch. If Walt was alive, he would have done it right.

User review rating: 3 January 13, 2019

it was ok. My granddaughter loved it, but i found it was a boring at times. I was a little disappointed with the movie.

User review rating: 1 January 13, 2019

Walked out And got my our money back 30 minutes into it

User review rating: 2 January 12, 2019

Poor remake. Blunt is boring

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2019

Loved it

User review rating: 3 January 11, 2019

Somewhat entertaining, but also very slow in bits....Disney's good at this sort of thing though.....just not paced well.

User review rating: 3 January 11, 2019

I thought it would be fun to see. M.P. #1.. I would see over and over. This version.... "Been there, done that."

User review rating: 3 January 10, 2019

It was okay. A song and dance every 15 minutes. Much like the original. Cute, not riveting, lots of other good movies to go see, in fact, Aqua-man, for me, was one of the best to see this season. Emily Blunt is as good as the original Mary Poppins. But, that being said, watching it on a DVD would satisfy the majority. I find it hard to believe it holds the interest of today's audiences anyway.

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2019

Oscar worthy= EMILY BLUNT

User review rating: 4 January 10, 2019

GREAT movie!! Loved song "where the lost things go"

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2019

Magical and happy!!l

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2019

Well done! I saw the first at 8 years of age.

User review rating: 3 January 08, 2019

Ok, could have been better, felt like they took lots of shortcuts.

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2019

I went went with a friend of mine and her sister we had liked the movie, we had a good laugh

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2019

I really enjoyed this movie .

User review rating: 2 January 05, 2019

The sound was so loud at Showplace 12 in Edwardsville that I had to put my fingers in my ears through about half the movie.

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2019

It was magical...I loved it??

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2019

Mary Poppins has more magick than Moina Mathers.Overall a great film though political correctness at times was annoying as Disney must have felt it was necessary to star many African Americans in a story set in London in 1900! Obviously this had nothing to do with getting the look and feel of the setting correct. It would almost be like making a movie about the Zulu nation and having many of the Zulus in the film as a bunch of white guys without explanation. However, despite such absurdities the film was a great evolution of the orginal right from the opening mat paintings to the end. The song and dance numbers were great-especially the kids bath scene and ending 'No Where to go but up'. This is a delightful movie and a great tribute to the original. Emily Blunt is a perfect Mary Poppins, putting her own stamp the the iconic character though the actor who played the father of the Banks children was a huge disappointment. Perhaps the greatest accomplishment was a film being made that is so different from the films being made today and it was nice to see a film about a straight, white middle class family with happy children and members in traditional roles without an education in political correctness. One can only hope others in Hollywood will take note of it's success and what people what to see. Finally a hats of to the new actresses and actors playing the Banks children-they were delightful and spot on in their roles.

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2019

Haters are going to hate. From the looks of the reviews, there is a very small minority that wouldn't know a good, entertaining movie if it kicked them in the side of the head. Emily Blunt will win every award she's nominated in this year. The movie will win every award it's nominated in. And one song, The Place Where Lost Things Go, will also dominate. If you went to this movie thinking it was going to be a remake, then you didn't do your homework. This one is arguably as good, or maybe better, than the original - and that's all on Blunt's portrayal of Poppins. Pretty sure there will be record sales of the DVD when it comes available.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2019

If you listen very carefully, the music of the 1st movie is threaded into the scenes as background. It was masterfully done. I actually applauded for one particularly fantastic number.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2019

If you listen very carefully, the music of the 1st movie is threaded into the scenes as background. It was masterfully done. I actually applauded for one particularly fantastic number.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2019

A perfectly seamless blend of the 1st Mary Poppins and this new Mary Poppins. Everything was wonderfully done. Meryl Streep was great in the upside down house, Dick Van Dyke saved the day, big Ben helped. The sets were great, the dancers reminiscent of Gene Kelly.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2019

It was Supercalifagilousexpialidosous.? Perfect ????? Superb ????? Beautiful ?????

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2019

This is a wonderful movie! I did not know how they would make a sequel to the original that would compare, but from the opening credits and overture they kept the feeling of the old movie. The cast was excellent, as was the dancing and the music. We will definitely be adding this one to our home collection!

User review rating: 4 January 04, 2019

This isn't my type of movie, and 20 minutes in I considered jumping to another theater. But it got better--a LOT better. The "Trip the Light Fantastic" dance scene in as good as anything I've seen. For me, better that the original. Emily Blunt is PERFECT!! Miranda is a tremendousy charismatic Jack...….Guru Bob...………….83/100 Will lose the Golden Globe to "Vice," though.

User review rating: 4 January 03, 2019

Wonderful movie!! Emily Blunt is a perfect "Mary Poppins" Enjoyed all the song and dance!!!

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2019

Great music. Love Emily blunt.

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2019

one of the worst movies I have ever stayed to watch the stars of the movie even looked bored with this inane waste of time

User review rating: 1 January 02, 2019

Songs to long

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2019

To me I could not imagine anyone else but Emilly Blunt playing Mary Poppins in the Returning musical sequel. She played Mary with such fun - charm & pitch-perfect that she gave the part new meaning. I was surprised by the bad comments that made it seem that only Julie Andrews could play the part right - as much as I loved Julie Andrews in the role I feel Emilly gave the role as much charm as Julie did & Disney couldn't have picked a better person for the role! The rest of the movie was just as charming as the 1st one was & I love how Disney made the costumes that they wore in the animated scene blend in with the background it gave the feeling that they were truly immersed into the pottery & involved with all the action going on were as the 1st movie made it seem like they were a little detached from all the action taking place even though they were supposedly part of it! This time it was perfect & more believable!

User review rating: 4 January 01, 2019

Beautiful movie but wish they would have included the music from the first, I really missed it! Dick Van Dyke was amazing!!

User review rating: 5 January 01, 2019

Loved that Disney matched techniques and characters to the 1st! Plan to see it again.

User review rating: 3 January 01, 2019

Not nearly as good as the original Mary Poppins.

User review rating: 1 January 01, 2019

This was a terrible movie. The worst movie I have ever seen and so disappointing. We almost left in the middle of the show. Glad we stayed to see Dick Van Dyke and Angela Lansbury make a Cameo performance. I remember all the music of the original that I haven't seen in 10 years and none of the one I saw yesterday. Don't waste your money. Watch the original.

User review rating: 5 January 01, 2019

Boy, reviewers can be harsh. Wonderful movie in almost every way. A question, though- did anyone actually expect the score to be as good as the original? Emily blunt was sensational and the gloss fabulous! If you absolutely loved the original, well, it is not the original, but for me a five star nevertheless.

User review rating: 2 December 31, 2018

seemed like costumes where all the monies went and the actors were asleep except emily blunt

User review rating: 1 December 31, 2018

the music was terrible, doesn't hold a candle to real mary poppins

User review rating: 1 December 31, 2018

worst movie ever, what a waste money!

User review rating: 5 December 31, 2018

This was a fantastic movie!!

User review rating: 5 December 31, 2018

Practically Perfect in every way! Timeless, heartwarming Disney magic for all ages comes in the package of this once in a lifetime movie. You won't be disappointed.

User review rating: 2 December 30, 2018

Doesn't hold a candle to the earlier Julie Andrews/Dick Van Dyke movie. I couldn't warm up to any of these characters and was especially disappointed with the music. This Mary Poppins is no fun at all! Do yourselves a favor....gather the family around and watch the earlier version. It is SO MUCH BETTER!!

User review rating: 5 December 30, 2018

Great music, choreography, singing, acting! We were smiling throughout the entire film!

User review rating: 5 December 30, 2018

Loved it and love the Loma in Coloma!

User review rating: 5 December 30, 2018

Brilliant in every way!!! Marc Shaiman is a freakin' genius!!! BRILLIANT!!! Perfect! Wouldn't change a thing!!! RUN, don't walk to see this film!

User review rating: 5 December 29, 2018

It was fantastic in every way...a great modern sequel to an old fashioned gem!! LOVED it!!! Brought out the child in us again!!! Everyone should see it!!!!!!

Change Location