Lost in Translation

Thank you for rating this movie!

Lost in Translation Movie Poster

4.28 / 5

User rating: 4.28

Based on 5626 votes and 71 reviews


  • User rating: 4.28 78.29%
  • User rating: 4.28 3.94%
  • User rating: 4.28 1.02%
  • User rating: 4.28 1.07%
  • User rating: 4.28 15.68%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 71

User review rating: 5 June 27, 2011

Love this movie, found it very sweet and touching how these two characters found solace and company in one another. It also makes me want to go visit Tokyo!

User review rating: 0 October 28, 2006

As someone who does not know much about movie making I simply enjoyed this one. It is refreshing, light and yet touching, and really seems to have that feminine touch. Along with "The Life Aquatic" my favorite movie in years.

User review rating: 0 October 09, 2006

got to be one of my top 5 movies!!! Highly recommended!

User review rating: 0 July 29, 2006

I loved this movie, but I don`t really know why. Normally, a movie like this would be too slow for me - but for whatever reason I loved it. I think it has a lot to do with Bill Murray - he is fabulous in this film. This is definately a love it or hate it movie.

User review rating: 0 April 08, 2006

This movie deserves a 10, 5 for the movie and another five for an awsome soundtrack containing Phoenix - Too Young

User review rating: 0 February 13, 2006

One of my favorit movie !!! Thanks Sofia... Keep going on !!!

User review rating: 0 October 11, 2005

I like tahat movie. Cause it is like a novel, we can find many themes as we can find in a literature work. This characteristic makes LOST ÝN TRANSLATION a perfect movie.

User review rating: 0 September 06, 2005

FIVE STARS. A wonderful, tender, melancholy yet uplifting love story. A lovely, romantic and deeply felt film. I loved it the first time I saw it and I love it even more after the 10th DVD viewing. It has a delicate and ethereal quality that seems to permeate throughout the film and into your soul -- it is as light as a feather. It resonates with the viewer on many levels and stays with you long after the film has ended. As someone who has visited Tokyo, easily one of the most alien yet exciting places on Earth, director Coppola has done a superlative job in capturing myriad aspects of being a stanger in a strange land. Jet lagged, surrou

User review rating: 0 May 07, 2005

i think lost in translation was a brilliant film. i am a hhhuuugggeee fan sofia coppola, she is the prettiest and most talented actress director in hollywood. As well as her i am huuggeee fan of her father francis ford coppola. i admire her work and acting. Her best appearence was in the godfather part3 and playing connie`s son in the godfather part 1. I too want to become a fil director and actress as i do performance arts.i would like to say hi to sofia nd to the coppola family...........xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

User review rating: 0 March 22, 2005

VERY ENTERTAINING MOVIE, LOVED SCARLETT SHE`S A REAL LOOKER!

User review rating: 0 March 13, 2005

I would rather watch an movie where people act.

User review rating: 0 January 21, 2005

worst movie in the history of the world! i hate it with a passion. a complete waste of time that leaves you wishing you had gone and shaved your dog for 2 hours instead. im dead serious. it sucks. no 1 on worst list for me. sofia coppola is overrated.

User review rating: 0 November 20, 2004

Absolute Perfection. Magical camera-work, touching story, perfectly fitting music... everything a film should be. Absolutly magical, leaves you with a tingly warm wierd feeling - happy and strangly sad. I`ve watched it 7 times so far and will continue to watch it on a regular basis. Love it, love it, love it. Magical.

User review rating: 0 October 04, 2004

what is not told is what lives and let live.

User review rating: 0 September 10, 2004

someone said the film lacked "interesting dialouge"! who needs script when the chemisty is more powerful through visuals and eye contact. the way their bodies sit together and how they both consider that spontaneous late-night swim. I loved the arcade scene with charlotte, for me it explains the movie`s emotion in 20 seconds. very inspiring to wrie a screenplay.

User review rating: 0 September 10, 2004

A beautiful romance with only one frail kiss. loved the photography during the neon night shots.

User review rating: 0 September 07, 2004

why are people saying that it is offensive to the Japanese culture? the point of the movie was not to single out anyone, but to illustrate the meeting of two people who are, in their own lives, lost - not lost in Japan. They are both at points in their lives where they are questioning where they are meant to go, and they find comfort in eachother because of this - not because they feel left out in Japan (in fact Scarlet`s character is friends with some of the people etc, so why would her character be offending anyone?)... pay attention a bit!

User review rating: 0 July 12, 2004

visually beautiful. a "love it or hate it" film, because it`s so mellow, sensitive, and unrushed. "no chemistry"? are you kidding me? provides a shallow look into japanese culture and people, but that`s what the characters were experiencing. as someone who has lived overseas and struggled with culture shock, this movie felt "real". and did i say "visually beautiful" yet? good.

User review rating: 0 June 28, 2004

I think it was a well-made movie showing the intricateness of human relationship. I am a Japanese and have seen many movies made in Hollywood about Japan and have always felt wrong about them. But I think Sofia Coppola has made the best presentation of Japan so far in any Hollywood films!

User review rating: 0 June 15, 2004

Terrible movie. Stereotyped Japanese culture and people in a very negative way. Suprised no commentary was made about this by critics. All in all the script was poor and the characters were like cardboard cutouts.

User review rating: 0 April 15, 2004

Absolutely amazing, beautifully shot film. People who didn`t enjoy it seemed to have missed the point, it was not about a narrative or achieving a goal, just a glimpse into people`s lives at a time when they are lost. Stunning.

User review rating: 0 April 06, 2004

One of the worst movies I have ever seen. How did it get to be rated a comedy or end up receiving an Oscar? The only reason I stuck it out to the end is I was waiting for SOMETHING to happen. Bill Murray did do a great job of acting-he really made something out of nothing.

User review rating: 0 March 17, 2004

I don`t understand why this movie is getting such good ratings by the critics. I found it very dull, boring and slow.

User review rating: 0 March 12, 2004

Do I have to say anything more than Scarlet Johansson. She is the most beautiful woman alive

User review rating: 0 March 10, 2004

Best of Bill Murray. I would recommend this to anyone with a good sense of humor. Five star rating!!

User review rating: 0 March 07, 2004

I think it was super! Some say artsy, I think only in cinematography, which was really well done. Very unique angles, good story line, calming not so bunged up with dialogue that you can`t keep up. It`s romantic, funny and really true to life, depicting everything from stereotypes, lonliness of an older man and a young woman showing how they are the same. Unique in the fact that`s there no sex, or swearing of any super graphic nature, no vilolence yet it`s not a `pure` movie. We can see early on the attraction the two characters have. Sofia did a super job, and in such a quick time frame, filmed in something like 27 days! And both Scarl

User review rating: 0 March 02, 2004

i didn`t care for the movie very much!

User review rating: 0 March 01, 2004

it should have won

User review rating: 0 February 28, 2004

Weird but good. It is a good movie, but it doesn`t deserve best picture over Return of the King. Bill Murray was good and funny, but he was basically playing himself. The whole movie was, how shall I put it... quirky, funny and touching at the end.

User review rating: 0 February 20, 2004

Sofia Coppola`s really has turned into a superb talent. You can feel her soft feminin hand guiding both Murray and Johannson throughout the picture.

User review rating: 0 February 20, 2004

Fantastic film. You either get it or you don`t. Loved the way it was shot and edited. People might not understand it because it`s not ya typical `Hollywood` romantic comedy. It makes a refreshing change, there should be more like it.

User review rating: 0 February 17, 2004

What a great movie! Not a comedy - though Murray was very funny. The movie sends a real feel of a stranger in a foriegn land so well. Brilliant acting by both Bill Murray and Scarlet Johannsen.

User review rating: 0 February 16, 2004

I don`t understand the hype. Other than blatant mocking of Japanese people trying to speak english, I maybe snickered a few times at Bill Murray. My girlfriend fell VERY sound asleep about half an hour in. There is no story, no purpose, no dialogue, no point. If this wins best picture I will be greatly disappointed.

User review rating: 0 February 14, 2004

A real bore fest. How many more times in my life to I have to watch a young woman attracted to an old man? Didn`t we get enough of this with Spensor Tracy and Kate Hepburn?

User review rating: 0 February 13, 2004

beautiful in every way ...

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2004

those who wrote negative comments about this film are lost to not realize how incredible this movie is. if you have nothing good to say, don`t ruin the movie for everyone else! Besides, the movie is "only" worth **************************************************stars.

User review rating: 0 February 12, 2004

those who wrote negative comments about this film are lost to not realize how incredible this movie is. if you have nothing good to say, don`t ruin the movie for everyone else! Besides, the movie is "only" worth **************************************************stars.

User review rating: 0 February 09, 2004

amazing! it moved me like not many movies have. scarlett johannsen is beautiful and radiant and bill murry was born to play this role. the perfect movie, 100000000 stars!

User review rating: 0 February 09, 2004

Sofia, Bill and Scarlett are amazing. Well scripted and acted. Great job!!!

User review rating: 0 February 09, 2004

If it you thought it was boring, you missed the whole point. And I pity you. It is perfection.

User review rating: 0 February 07, 2004

Tokyo is modern yet cold. Covers with gadgets but lonely.

User review rating: 0 February 05, 2004

Worst movie I have seen in years. Awful. Doesn`t deserve to be nominated for anything.

User review rating: 0 February 05, 2004

Coppola is definitely riding on the name. No chemistry between the actors and a very boring story line. What a waste of our valuable time, for this film to be nominated for any Oscars is a political crime.

User review rating: 0 February 02, 2004

The worst movie of all times

User review rating: 0 January 31, 2004

One of the best films of last year. Very touching. A wonderful reflection of life.

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2004

It was awful...really boring.

User review rating: 0 January 25, 2004

Sofia Coppola rivals her father`s movie-making talent. A special movie for anyone who has battled with their own intense feelings of alienation.

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2004

An ad for japan`s trade and tourism.

User review rating: 0 November 22, 2003

Interesting makes you think, it`s a good rental flick

User review rating: 0 November 22, 2003

The best movie I`ve seen in a very long time. Very intelligent and very uplifting.

Change Location