Les Misérables

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.35 / 5

User rating: 4.35

Based on 288 votes and 110 reviews

  • User rating: 4.35 69.85%
  • User rating: 4.35 12.50%
  • User rating: 4.35 5.88%
  • User rating: 4.35 6.62%
  • User rating: 4.35 5.15%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 50 of 110

User review rating: 0 May 04, 2013

Had fun watching this. Sacha Cohen playing off of Helen Bonham Carter was a treat. It provided the comic relief that was much needed in this film. The rest of the cast was grand, but the script/lyrics and music failed miserably. Should have been done by Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice, but Rice swore he would not work with Webber again. Such a loss, but neither has passed, so there is still hope.

User review rating: 0 March 22, 2013

Anne Hathaway makes Andrew Lloyd Webber tolerable. Thank goodness her part didn't go to Jennifer Lawrence or Emma Watson!!!

User review rating: 1 March 22, 2013

Play was MUCH better. A must miss

User review rating: 0 February 26, 2013

So nice to see the lovely Anne Hathaway rewarded with a Best Actress Oscar for this performance.

User review rating: 5 February 05, 2013

I absolutely loved this movie! Hugh jackman was amazing! The music was sensational

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2013

Excellent,worth seeing again

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2013

I can't remember the last time a movie moved me as much as this one did (Forest Gump, perhaps?). Going in, I was NOT an Anne Hathaway fan one bit...but wow, she blew me away, and I sobbed when she sang "I Dreamed a Dream". Hugh Jackman sooo deserves the Oscar! The only disappointment was Russell Crowe, who seemed stiff and lifeless in a role that called for a more powerful onscreeen presence and deeper voice. Overall, a must-see film!

User review rating: 3 January 30, 2013

I nodded off several times. The problem was that I simply couldn't always understand the words they were singing. Why not add subtitles to films like this? The acting was good, the mis-en-scene often impressive and the singing acceptable to atrocious. When I left the theater I felt according to the title.

User review rating: 4 January 29, 2013

A bit long but that was to be expected. On the whole...fantastic. Crowe and Jackman were excellent. Hathaway was good but just too much overacting imo. I acutally cringed. I don't care if she's winning all of these awards, competition must be weak...

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2013

I loved it, especially Russell crowe. His voice was great

User review rating: 2 January 28, 2013

I knew there would be a lot of singing, but wow this was over the top. I figured that they would use the benefit of a few special effects and maybe some dialogue, but nope. May as well go to the live theatre. The movie version adds nothing.

User review rating: 5 January 27, 2013

Victims of the human condition will identify with the powerful statements this movie makes. **Some are hidden** Drama addicts will likely brush off this movie because it doesn't give them their adrenaline 'fix'.

User review rating: 5 January 26, 2013

This film is simply amazing. The live recordings of the actors singing is incredible. No, vocally the performances aren't perfect, and the acting isn't done in the typical Hollywood style, but that is the point - they are characters, flawed, strong and entirely human.

User review rating: 1 January 25, 2013

G OMG this movie was so painful to watch. The singing was like finger nails on a chalk board. Awful, awful awful. Hathaway nominated for some award - REALLY.

User review rating: 5 January 25, 2013

Amazing movie. It should win the Oscar. My only complaint is that the Thenardiers (Helena Bonham Carter and Sasha Baron Cohen) just weren't funny. I've seen it on stage and their song always gets laughs. I think the director slowed the song down too much. Big mistake.

User review rating: 1 January 24, 2013

This movie was...just plain silly. I was laughing it was so bad. And it goes on FOREVER. Amanda Seyfried, Anne Hathaway, Russell Crowe, all terrible singers. Stay home and watch Glee instead.

User review rating: 5 January 23, 2013


User review rating: 2 January 21, 2013

Here Goes, forgive my spelling. Russel Crow didn't have the chops to sing his part. Cossete's character's voice was thin and trill. She wasn't pretty enough. Anne Hathaway can sing but blew it when she started to scream and cry in the middle of the most important song. The emotions are in the words and lyrics. She just had to sing it. Helena Bonam Carter was good but was brought down by Sasha Baron whoever. Hugh Jackman tried to be Colm Wilkinson and the Bishop played by Colm Wilkinson should have been Jean Valjean. Merius had a voice but, hard to say lacked the looks. I forget what Epinine was like so it was forgetable. I love the story but this is a bad movie.

User review rating: 2 January 21, 2013

I do not like musicals but wanted to see what all the hoopla was about. After this I really really really do not like musicals. Hugh Jackman and Russel Crowe can NOT sing. It was painful listening to them for 2 1/2 hours. I totally agree with Adam Lambert -- "if you're going to make a musical, why not cast stars that can actually sing".....No more musicals for this girl.

User review rating: 2 January 20, 2013

having the entire movie as a musical leaves the characters much underdeveloped. compared to the amazing 1998 version with Liam Neeson this one sucks.

User review rating: 4 January 20, 2013

Having seen Les Mis on stage several times and being a big Hugh fan, I was waiting for baited breath for the movie. Movie did not disappoint. I truly believed Russell as Javert. Hugh was good but he is no Colm. Can't wait to see it again (and again).

User review rating: 5 January 18, 2013


User review rating: 4 January 17, 2013

Anne Hathaway blew me away! Amazing performances all around; as was expected. Although Take Me Home with Hugh Jackman was a little weak acting was fantastic. Recommended to anyone who loves a great story and a lot of singing.

User review rating: 4 January 16, 2013

have never read/seen 'Les Misérables' book/stage musical, but the last Hollywood movie made of it. enjoyed the singing even though i had no expectations of 'pristine trained vocalists' whatsoever, and wouldn't fault the actors for singing/acting out their passions and anguish; in some instances a bit wearisome as the singing looked a bit strained/lost(off). superb 'old era Paris' period visuals; very sombre gritty impoverished and dark. worth the see.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2013

Ann Hathaway did the most incredible job and all in one take with four cameras rolling. Not many times you have the viewers clap after the movie. It isn't for those without emotions or that can't get it. Each singer did as their character was portrayed to do. Russell Crowe was a tormented soul who believed what he did until the end. My wife and I loved it and will see it again.

User review rating: 3 January 13, 2013

Did not like...

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2013

Fabulous! I was mesmerized. Best movie I've seen in years.

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2013

One of the best movies I have seen in a very long time. Some in the audience began clapping at the end of it. Truly worth seeing.

User review rating: 3 January 12, 2013

Excellent! Should win the Oscar!

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2013

Academy Award performance by Hugh Jackman.......brilliant

User review rating: 2 January 12, 2013

Should have been left on the stage where it shone...the movie stunk up the joint...pathetically miscast male leads doomed it from the start...disappointing is an understatement

User review rating: 3 January 12, 2013

I don't mind a musical but this could have done with a lot less singing.Good story and well filmed.Russell Crowe is not a singer

User review rating: 1 January 12, 2013

A few bright spots in a flat movie

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2013

Best movie I,be ever seen Russell crowd was awesome the singing was amazing. one day more and red & BLACK , OWN MY OWN AND CASTLE IN THE CLOUD. ARE THE BEST SONGS

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2013

Definitely seeing it again.

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2013

Great movie

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2013

Excellent musical

User review rating: 5 January 09, 2013

Very nice. Excellent music and story .

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2013

We have seen the stage show three times and we felt this movie helped us understand the story better - once you get used to the singing this movie is brilliant! Not a "happy" movie, quite dark really, but nevertheless an honest portrayal of life, death and injustice. All folks need are jobs to feed their families.

User review rating: 5 January 07, 2013

I saw this movie twice I just loved it. I'm happy that they sang through the movie since it's a musical. They all did a great job at singing, the only one that I didn't think had a good voice was Amanda she sounds to much like a lamb.

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2013

This was an amazing movie I thoroughly enjoyed this. Anne Hathaway and Hugh Jackman stole the show. I predict it will sweep awards season.

User review rating: 4 January 06, 2013

Excellent movie. Very entertaining and good portrayal of timeless storyline.

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2013

I love this film so much best song is One Day More, ABC Cafe / Red and Black,On My Own and Javert's Suicide and Empty Chairs at Empty Tables those were so emotional and beautifully done and the acting was amazing even Russell Crowe was perfect

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2013

FANTASTIC!! A must watch..

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2013

4.5*, make sure you take your Kleenex. Excellent cast. Just one tiny flaw is Russell Crowe is not a good singer but he is able to carry a tune. The best singers are Eponine and Enjolras. Loved Hugh Jackman! A must have on bluray!

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2013

Great Movie. All the actors were great.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2013

Superb! Hugh Jackman is outstanding. A must see.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2013

It starts out slow, I was wondering if this was a bad choice of movies...but then it builds and builds until the end when I was thinking....wow this is one of those rare movies that can move you more than you know.

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2013

Must see!!!

User review rating: 1 January 03, 2013

I haven't seen the play but have to believe with real singers it would be palatable to watch. I couldn't watch this without feeling almost sick to my stomach at the terrible singing - actors act, singers sing... this was an abomination. Perhaps it needed the star power to bring the story to people who won't pay to see it sung by real vocalists. Too bad. I think a do-over is in order.

Change Location