Lady Bird

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.60 / 5

User rating: 3.6

Based on 50 votes and 21 reviews


  • User rating: 3.6 48.00%
  • User rating: 3.6 16.00%
  • User rating: 3.6 0.00%
  • User rating: 3.6 20.00%
  • User rating: 3.6 16.00%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 21 of 21

User review rating: 5 December 12, 2017

Do you like me? Of course, I love you. But do you like me? The quote above from Greta Gerwig's directorial debut could have easily been taken from a conversation I've had with my own mother. That was among the many scenes of the film that felt personal, that made me realize that this isn't just a movie, that I was (or maybe still am) Lady Bird. I wish this had come out when I was still in high school. It hits all the relatable notes of self-discovery, realization, and the struggles that teens go through. It portrays perfectly the determination to change who you are, for yourself or to fit in with the "cool kids," experiencing intimacy with another person for the first time and the regret that follows because, naively, you expected it to be perfect like the romances you've seen on the screen, the realization that you don't need to go to prom with a guy to have the best night of your life, the disappointment that you didn't get accepted into the college you wanted, and the feeling of uncertainty that follows when planning your future. Gerwig captures all of this exceptionally as elements of her coming of age story. At the heart of Lady Bird, however, is the relationship between mother and daughter. We've all taken our mothers for granted. We've all been selfish, created a big deal out of nothing, rebelled, or forgot to thank her when we should have. My favourite scene is when Lady Bird's mother goes into her room to hang up her new dress while she's asleep. I didn't realize how such a small scene could impact me until I came home and found my leggings laying on my bed after having told my mom this morning that I couldn't find them. Not only is Gerwig portraying things that we know and have seen our mothers do for us, but she's also showing us the little things that we miss. The little things we take for granted. Lady Bird deserves to be celebrated. Not only because it's a meaningful story that'

User review rating: 1 December 11, 2017

Really dumb dialogue. Boring plot.

User review rating: 5 December 07, 2017

WOW, a movie about real people, so rare to see a glimpse of the reality of modern day life!

User review rating: 5 December 06, 2017

great story, great acting

User review rating: 5 December 05, 2017

I loved this movie. The acting, direction and script were just perfect. Having read the other reviews, I would strongly suggest that adult dramatic films should only be reviewed by adults above the age of 30.

User review rating: 2 December 04, 2017

The acting was really good, but it lacked a plot. Nothing happens. At the end, I was like, where was the story? That's it?

User review rating: 5 December 03, 2017

I thought this movie was fantastic. For those who didn't like it just because Lady Bird was too self absorbed, self centered & selfish, well....guess what --- that's just realistically how teenagers ARE. The mother she has in this film isn't much of a mother to her anyway, so no other personality could really be expected of the girl. Lack of respect & consideration begets the same. Any girl of this age is looking to make a life for herself & is getting to know herself and what she wants in life. Kudos to the great acting in this so true-to-life film.

User review rating: 5 December 02, 2017

I find it amusing that people who either really dislike a film tell others to avoid it. News flash: Different tastes make the World an interesting place. "Lady Bird" is a refreshing and wonderfully scripted, acted and directed film that made me smile and think. I was talking about this lovely film for days, with friends, who also really loved it. Admittedly, if you don't like slice-of-life films that don't have THE END type of endings then this film is most likely not for you. I suggest that film goers read the synopsis of a film before seeing it. It will save you grief and will save us from reviewers that hated a film for being something they would never see, if they knew something about it. That's why I avoid Marvel Comic movies. I would never be able to write a positive review of something that has no interest to me. Lady Bird was a wonderful film, to me.

User review rating: 2 December 02, 2017

Lady Bird dallies between true friends, fake friends as a means of avoiding her family. I dont know.... She has a very engaging personality but as she noted: her dry hemps were better.

User review rating: 5 December 01, 2017

To all you dear viewers that say it’s depressing and not worth the time think again !!! It’s the most accurate and sincere coming of age portrail I’ve seen in a long time . If you have a teen daughter or son go see it !!! Fantastic script and acting. I hope it’s a candidate for awards season .

User review rating: 2 December 01, 2017

If you can manage to get your hands on a copy of New Waterford Girl (1999), you will see a much funnier and more engaging film with virtually the same plot of a young girl trying to escape her circumstances. Lady Bird is a much less likeable protagonist than the very sympathetic Moonie Pottie as the New Waterford Girl.

User review rating: 2 December 01, 2017

Well made and well acted. Unfortunately, the film has no real plot, and no real plot resolution, which (of course) equates to an unremarkable story. The central character "Lady Bird" is a self-absorbed dullard who wishes to attend school in the northeast United States instead of in Sacramento, CA. She's willing to remorselessly pursue this "dream" at the financial sacrament of her struggling family. She's dishonest and self-serving, and treats her friends and family poorly. She becomes more aware of her selfish flaws by the end of the picture, but doesn't seem to change in any profound sense. She simply drinks too much one evening, then decides to abandon her self-given nickname of "Lady Bird," opting in favor of her actual name. (whup-dee-doo!) There are some very good performances from supporting characters in the film, and one wishes Lady Bird were more engaged with these characters, rather than her situation as a catalyst in her own character development. (What a strange choice to make by the writer of this tale!) I'm not really clear as to why so many critics have gushed over this movie. Immaturity?

User review rating: 2 November 30, 2017

A few laughs, but a lot of depression. The mother works in mental health and yet is mentally abusive. So many parts actually led to more questions that were never answered. Very poor flow and unrealistic likelihood of happening in real life.

User review rating: 1 November 30, 2017

As interesting as watching paint dry. The kind of movie critics can't praise enough and the regular movie goer rightly ignores. Artsy fartsy? A must see! Regular folk? Be busy that day.

User review rating: 5 November 27, 2017

Absolute best movie I have seen in years. A perfect portrayal of what it feels like to be a young woman of 17/18. A film everyone should see.

User review rating: 4 November 24, 2017

Nice coming of age film. A nice portrayal of the mother-daughter dynamic. Those poor at mothering are often the product of poor mothering. I didn't LOVE it.......77/100....guru bob

User review rating: 4 November 23, 2017

I found this to be a quirky but enjoyable little film ,kind of like Napolean Dynamite .It had a good share of chuckles and Saoirse Ronan was awesome as usual.

User review rating: 4 November 23, 2017

I've loved Soirse Ronin since Oscar-nominated turn in ATONEMENT (2007). She was nominated again, at 22, for BROOKLYN, in which she played her age. Now, at 24, she couldn't be more convincing as an angst-ridden teenager in Greta Gerwig's directorial debut. Credit to the makeup artist who made her look acne-plagued with her pink hair. Tracy Letts, the renowned playwright, is a revelation as an actor, playing Lady Bird's patient father. And Laurie Metcalf appears destined to earn her first Oscar nod as the long-suffering mother. Elsewhere, the cast is superb and the screenplay--by Gerwig--is almost painfully realistic without a sappy happy ending. Despite its R rating, I'd say it's a good movie for the family this holiday weekend.

User review rating: 5 November 22, 2017

Love Laurie Metcalf. Excellent.

User review rating: 1 November 22, 2017

I went cuz all the other movies are for kids. I wouldn't waste my money on this film. Not interesting. I would have walked out but couldn't get past 2 people next to me.

User review rating: 5 November 13, 2017

Best movie I've seen all year. Fabulous characters and superb acting. A must see!

Change Location