La La Land

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.63 / 5

User rating: 3.63

Based on 158 votes and 68 reviews


  • User rating: 3.63 48.00%
  • User rating: 3.63 12.00%
  • User rating: 3.63 9.33%
  • User rating: 3.63 16.00%
  • User rating: 3.63 14.67%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 68

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2017

Want to see it again!

User review rating: 5 January 20, 2017

Such a refreshing movie to see with a good message. Type of movie I would see over and over again. Love the music.

User review rating: 3 January 17, 2017

Loved the first 30 min and the overall flavor of the movie. Then it slowed way down to finally come alive again at the end. Got a little tired of close ups of Emma Stones big eyes. Too much of a good thing by the director. Nice date movie. Romantic. The orchestration was very good. Might buy the soundtrack. If the energy of the first 30 min had continued on I would have given it a ten !

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2017

Loved this movie!

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2017

I loved the story line, the music, the singing and dancing. It was simply just a GREAT movie|

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2017

I rated this movie very high!!! I am so surprised to see in the reviews how many did not like it. I do not think it was meant to compare to the old musicals. I thought it great that two people not really singers or dancers, did their own dancing and singing. I am going to see it for the second time. There is no one out there like Ryan Gosling. I can watch him in anything. Make more movies like this.

User review rating: 5 January 17, 2017

I loved the story line, the music, the singing and dancing. It was simply just a GREAT movie

User review rating: 4 January 16, 2017

Finally a great musical!! amazing work by Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling. nice story-very touching!! highly recommend with tissues available

User review rating: 2 January 16, 2017

I love movies, and I love musicals and this was so disappointing. I understand the wish to make a musical with "normal" people but that's the charm of a full-blown musical. Almost none of us are ever going to be able to dance like Astaire, Kelly, Charisse, Gaynor, etc. And not be able to sing like Julie Andrews, Kathryn Grayson, John Raitt, etc. and that's the point: These were professional dancers and singers. But, when you have two very attractive and very good actors who unfortunately can't sing nor dance convincingly, then it's just a bad highschool musical and, frankly, I was in excellent high school musicals with kids that were studying to be professional singers and dancers. That a lot of people enjoy this film is nice, but it's a pale shadow of what a great musical should be. There are so many great singers and dancers in Los Angeles, why in the World did they not give two of them a chance and let them star in this film or at the very least dub Emma's and Ryan's voices? What a sad missed opportunity.

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2017

Very good music, acting, cinematography, art direction, script, rhythm. For me, this is the best musical since Chicago and Moulin Rouge.

User review rating: 2 January 16, 2017

Two stars and that's being kind. No story. Bad dancing. Even if the stars were not good dancers they could've had actual dancers performing around them. This is not a throwback to old Hollywood. Those movies had good story lines and talented dancers. Watch Singing in the Rain - now that's a musical!

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2017

Loved it!!

User review rating: 5 January 16, 2017

Darn near perfect!!!!

User review rating: 4 January 15, 2017

Very good Emma stone is awesome in everything she does but this one is a game changer she has a singing voice like an angel and Ryan gosling plays a very cool collected character just hits it out of the park

User review rating: 2 January 15, 2017

Unique movie for these times. But as far as musicals go, it is flat and a flop; compared with the famous musicals of yesteryear (My Fair Lady, Oklahoma, Riverboat, The Music Man...). the dancing and singing are very "lite" - no emotion. Opening sequence of dancing is dreadful- comprised of simple twirls, spins and flips on cars in traffic.. Some attempts at dream sequences, but do not succeed. The pace drags in many places. Gosling plays his character believably; Stone plays her character too superficially. No melodies that one can go away with humming. One star for the uniqueness, one star for Gosling's performance.

User review rating: 4 January 15, 2017

I knew it was a musical so... I loved the music and dance. I didn't feel it was too much. Fun story, I recommend it if you like this type of movie.

User review rating: 3 January 15, 2017

Didn't like the ending, was very good until then. It kept me attentive. Great movie to bring your girlfriend to.

User review rating: 3 January 15, 2017

A refreshing change from the usual run of movies. They might have chosen main characters with better singing voices.

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2017

Not sure what movie did all these negative reviews saw - I saw a great re-imagining of the traditional movie musical genre that is very much for today. The fact that the two leads are not the strongest singers or dancers makes the film more approachable and realistic. It's a great companion piece to Chazelle's earlier work, Whiplash. Both films are about dreamers - how far will they go to attain their dreams and what are the consequences once attained. Chazelle is the real star of this; excited to see what he does next!

User review rating: 1 January 14, 2017

save your $$, even the big new seats can't save this flop. gosling and stone are not strong in the song/dance parts, miscast, plot is dragging, didn't wait to see the end, how does Hollywood hype this sad attempt at entertainment?

User review rating: 2 January 11, 2017

The frequent song and dance numbers sabotage an otherwise compelling narrative.

User review rating: 0 January 11, 2017

How in gods name did this stupid movie goet the nomatied and win golden globe awards

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2017

SUCKS!

User review rating: 1 January 10, 2017

Ryan and Emma cant really sing. The plot is slow and plodding, particularly in the middle. I was bored.

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2017

SO BORING!

User review rating: 2 January 09, 2017

Expected it to be much better given all the hype. Would have liked more dancing and singing. Story was weak. Emma Stone however was the only bright spot. And the best part of the movie was the end but it took a long time getting there! Ryan Gosling. Please don't sing

User review rating: 1 January 09, 2017

Cannot understand the Golden Globes,this movie sucks..!

User review rating: 5 January 09, 2017

Loved this movie!!! It was beautiful to watch and took you away. I love that it simply entertained me and left me with a good feeling when I left. We need more delightful movies like this! Musical score was perfect

User review rating: 4 January 09, 2017

It was a fun musical but it missed being a grand musical like those decades ago. The actors seemed to just miss the connection between the characters. The acting was OK but not particular great. Some of the dance scenes were unique and creative; the storyline was a little confusing initially. The best part was toward the end of the movie when Ryan Gosling's character takes a moment to re-live the romance with Emma Stone with a few seconds of silence before playing "their song" on the piano. It was touching and nearly took my breath away.

User review rating: 5 January 09, 2017

Ethereal and complex

User review rating: 2 January 08, 2017

Boring boring boring????????

User review rating: 2 January 08, 2017

My wife and I both fell asleep because the plot was so shallow and slow moving. When the plot finally got going a little bit, about 90 minutes into it, it flashed forward five years. The music and dancing were good, which is the only reason we did not rate this movie a 1-star, but it did not have a happy ending. It lasted over 2 hrs., but it could have easily been over in less than 90 minutes.

User review rating: 2 January 08, 2017

Choreography and singing not good enough. No comparison to old Hollywood musicals. Very disappointing.

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2017

A return to the old-fashioned Hollywood musicals. Never meant to be more than simple eye-candy enjoyment. If you want to be depressed or can't suspend the disbelief enough to get a kick out of a song and dance number on a freeway, this isn't the movie for you. It's entertainment, pure and simple.

User review rating: 5 January 08, 2017

A beautiful romantic-musical!! Loved it!

User review rating: 1 January 07, 2017

Previous review said I walked out after 5 minutes. I meant to say 45 minutes. Sorry.

User review rating: 1 January 07, 2017

Walked out after 5 minutes. The opening should have been telling when a phony freeway dance scene opened up during a traffic jam. Both main characters were card board cutouts of what was to be a boy meets girl love story. The purist jazz pianists could manage to improvise effectively on Xmas songs to make them sound like anything but a Target store shopping score... The girl was vapid and dull.. Finally could take anymore. But then -- The only musical I've ever really liked was Three Penny Opera.

User review rating: 3 January 06, 2017

Didn't live up to the hype. It's only fair.

User review rating: 2 January 05, 2017

I was disappointed in this movie although I was ready to embrace the idea of and old-fashioned musical. I found it somewhat long and slow, and the singing wasn't as good as I hoped for....maybe that's why they don't show any clips of Ryan Gosling or Emma Stone singing in the trailers. The storyline and the dancing were alright, but the movie is overrated in my opinion.

User review rating: 5 January 05, 2017

Loved this movie - I'm not usually a fan of musicals, but I loved this. Kind of an old Hollywood feel. Great story

User review rating: 1 January 04, 2017

Lame dancing, choreography and singing. Complete disappointment.

User review rating: 4 January 04, 2017

You must remember it is a musical fantasy It is charming Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone are great together. But she is luminescent. Emma Stone gives. Fabulous performance.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2017

Just loved it!!!, so beautiful, great acting!

User review rating: 1 January 03, 2017

Left after 20 minutes. Thought it would get better after opening scene. Not worth my time.

User review rating: 1 January 03, 2017

Casting for this movie was poor. The first 20 minutes left me sleepy and the rest was just disjointed

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2017

it's perfect

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2017

This is a complete reinvention of the musical for our time. As the W. Post said "Characters do not break into song as much as slide into it." More than palatable - for the right audience member - I suspect most - it is a perfect film from start to finish, with a poignant and lingering reward and feeling,.

User review rating: 1 January 02, 2017

Sleeper. Boring...

User review rating: 4 January 01, 2017

This is one of the best movies I've seen in a long time...I loved every minute of it

User review rating: 5 January 01, 2017

Loved the movie. It had my attention from beginning to end. Loved the story, the dancing, the acting, the photography...Loved all of it!

Change Location