Indian Horse

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.48 / 5

User rating: 4.48

Based on 98 votes and 39 reviews


  • User rating: 4.48 80.43%
  • User rating: 4.48 6.52%
  • User rating: 4.48 2.17%
  • User rating: 4.48 2.17%
  • User rating: 4.48 8.70%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 39 of 39

User review rating: 0 May 29, 2018

Finally mustered up enough courage to go see the movie by myself without my family; as a 5 year old in 1967 scooped up and staying in one for 13 years; it depicted what We experienced; out of 50 of us in our first year there, me and my brother plus about 5 others are still alive and managed to survive and many committed self-inflected death way too early in life; guess it time to share with my family and heal! 56 years old now and still have flashbacks and it is good that people’s finally understand that living history; forgiveness and peace at heart, emotions, body and spirit is what we cherish now and better prepare our younger generations; I too went and stood in front of Ind Res school and went back to the land, where I am today.

User review rating: 5 May 24, 2018

It was a great movie but difficult at times to watch.

User review rating: 5 May 21, 2018

The movie is just a small glimpse of how our natives people had been treated in residential school.

User review rating: 0 May 15, 2018

It's an 'affinity' for hockey, not 'infinity'. Unless it's a face-off against Thanos.

User review rating: 5 May 13, 2018

A story that is well told. Excellent Film.

User review rating: 5 May 04, 2018

Did not get taught about residential schools in our school. This needs to be part of all Canadian curriculum.

User review rating: 5 May 03, 2018

Fantastic! We need more movies like this.

User review rating: 5 April 30, 2018

This movie is a masterpiece. Clint Eastwood produced it. I read that when he read the script he couldn't believe that this happened in Canada and immediately agreed to produce it. Absolutely heart wrenching what the Catholic Church did to so many children. They'll never be the same. Alcohol was not a native's drink...it was brought here to the Americas by the Whites so long ago. It was not meant for their system and it tore their lives apart. Later when the settlers came, they plied native's with alcohol to get their land. Hopefully this movie will open up people's consciousness of how they treat native people. They had their own way of life before the Europeans came to the Americas and no one had the right to take that from them. For those rejects on here that are stlll making nasty comments, remember you reap what you sow.....and Karma is a bitch.

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2018

Very touching

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2018

Moving movie based on real events and the experiences of a real child in one of Canada's Residential schools and the lifelong consequences it had on him , without going into extreme graphics of what happened to these kids. Everyone should see this movie. It will open your eyes and break your heart.

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2018

This story should be told in every North American home so that as a country we can ensure that children are not taken away from their families or culture.

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2018

To bad that those of you that think this movie was propaganda obviously have no feelings or compassion. This movie certainly opened my eyes as to what our government did to the native people. Every person should see this movie.7

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2018

Fabulous!! Everyone should see it. A reconciliation triumph. Bring Kleenex.

User review rating: 5 April 25, 2018

Wonderful movie!

User review rating: 5 April 22, 2018

I loved this film. It would have been a great hockey film alone. Although it exposes the problems with residential schools, which has been frequently in the media, it also shows the abuse that native people suffered outside the school, from their treatment in the bar scene to the hockey arena. More than just the workers at the residential schools have to reflect on their part in the whole tragedy. Although most teachers have students read To Kill a Mocking Bird in school, it is an American fictional story. We should be reading the book this film is based on. This is our story and Canadians need to learn from it. Besides the lessons to be learnt from this film, it is an uplifting story of survival and good entertainment to boot.

User review rating: 3 April 22, 2018

I agree with the suggestion that it should be shown in high school classrooms. However, there is not a chance in hell that any catholic high school would be permitted to see it or even discuss it.The Catholic church believes in denying or hiding its faults.

User review rating: 5 April 21, 2018

One of the best I have seen this year.

User review rating: 0 April 20, 2018

This movie two thumbs up it was excellent

User review rating: 5 April 20, 2018

Just went to this movie....I think it was a little mild as to what really happened....as a white person I was truly ashamed as to what went on with these children and to think it was churches that distributed the punishment....I am so very sorry and ashamed that this happened.....this is needs to be learned in schools and i hope more white people go to this movie and more movies like this are made.....

User review rating: 5 April 19, 2018

While I believe that the residential schools started with good intentions, to help bring in native peoples into the ever changing Canada. To educate them and create opportunities to communicate, to work, to grow - there is no doubt there were horror stories associated. Did every individual have a bad experience? Definitely not. Indian Horse will be an awakening for those on the fence of these issues, but for those who make statements calling it propaganda - they will see it as an outright lie. They will also tell you the Holocaust never happened, 9/11 was done by CIA, and that the moon landing was faked. The movie is fantastic. Low budget, but shot professionally, with a pretty good script. I enjoyed it from beginning to end.

User review rating: 5 April 18, 2018

I have a informed appreciation for the efforts of truth and reconciliation and understand the need for First Nation people to tell their story. Their voices once silenced have awakened. It is now time for the rest of Canada to listen and hear. This movie was powerful and I consider it as sacred that First Nation People permitted us into their shared vulnerability. This was not just a movie but a testament of courage and strength in the face of cruelty and injustice

User review rating: 4 April 17, 2018

Heart-wrenching! I had no idea that this was our Canadian history. I'm shocked and baffled at my own ignorance. I don't even know any First Nations people because of my own misconceptions and prejudice. :(

User review rating: 5 April 16, 2018

The world shall see this movie. This is one story that is too hard to shake. Bring a friend oh and be prepared for one powerful movie! Stop the stigmatism.

User review rating: 5 April 16, 2018

This is a tame down version of what happened I hear from talking to some survivors and survivors families. The cinematography is great and the story line stayed true to late Richard Wagamese's words. An excellent film portrayal of his book Indianhorse. This is a powerful and emotional story that you can't just shrug off! This did happen unfortunately to many of the First Nation people. No-one can discredit theses stories and if you have lived it you can't just "get over it"

User review rating: 5 April 16, 2018

This is an incredible movie that tells a difficult but important piece of Canadian history. A must-see!

User review rating: 1 April 15, 2018

A people that forever seek pity will be pitiful forever.

User review rating: 5 April 15, 2018

very well made movie . A must see for everyone .

User review rating: 2 April 15, 2018

Just ok more propaganda is this a reason for them to drink? Or get free government money? But still a good movie, went little to far with sexual abuse had to get into abuse from church like others are doing!

User review rating: 5 April 15, 2018

I had know idea that Canada did this not so long ago. Why didn't I learn this from my parents???

User review rating: 5 April 15, 2018

Very powerful movie that exposes the shocking residential school abuses. My heart goes out to the brave survivors.

User review rating: 1 April 14, 2018

More propaganda on why everyone is a victim, cry me a river.

User review rating: 1 April 14, 2018

More propaganda on why everyone is a victim, cry me a river.

User review rating: 5 April 14, 2018

Wonderful movie!

User review rating: 1 April 14, 2018

Total garbage.

User review rating: 5 April 14, 2018

Its been such a long time since a movie made me *feel*. It was honestly and emotionally compelling and definitely not sugar coated. I learned that the author of the novel, passed away in 2017, so he didn't get to see this on the screen - I hope that he knows it changed my life. RIP Richard Wagamese

User review rating: 5 April 13, 2018

I saw this at the Vancouver Film Festival. Fantastic movie and sadly educational for those of us who didn't know the story.

User review rating: 5 April 11, 2018

Very moving, very emotional

User review rating: 5 February 12, 2018

Saw it at Victiria Film Festival. Openly wept. A brutal, powerful movie with an incredible cast. See this film!

User review rating: 5 December 06, 2017

This movie is PHENOMENAL! It stays very close to the book. It would be appropriate to show in a high school classroom.

Change Location