In the Heart of the Sea

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.09 / 5

User rating: 4.09

Based on 176 votes and 23 reviews

  • User rating: 4.09 54.55%
  • User rating: 4.09 22.73%
  • User rating: 4.09 11.36%
  • User rating: 4.09 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.09 11.36%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 23 of 23

User review rating: 1 April 24, 2016

Slow moving and basically a rip off of the movie Orca.

User review rating: 3 March 11, 2016

Surprisingly exciting and very well shot. Better than Moby Dick the book!

User review rating: 0 March 11, 2016

Ron Howard makes a masterpiece better!!

User review rating: 1 February 05, 2016

Very poor movie. And boring

User review rating: 4 January 08, 2016

Very good used the source material very well A+

User review rating: 4 December 28, 2015

we were in nantucket and went to a whale museum and heard the story of how the men went out to sea for years at a time to find whales just to get the oil...we were was pretty close to how I imagined it...loved it....

User review rating: 3 December 26, 2015

A little disappointed my son and I Ron Howards movies but this one a little boring. Love Chris but better made for being Thor, not this boring guy. Would wait till comes on tv in case you are already tired.

User review rating: 5 December 25, 2015

Fantastic, going tonight to see it for the second time!

User review rating: 1 December 25, 2015

Some extremely fake cgi sea lions in this movie.

User review rating: 3 December 19, 2015

Visually spectacular, but the plot and character development are uneven ... worth seeing on the big screen, but not one for the ages.

User review rating: 5 December 18, 2015


User review rating: 0 December 17, 2015


User review rating: 4 December 17, 2015

Great story and character acting about the inspiration for Moby Dick.

User review rating: 5 December 15, 2015

One of the very BEST movies we have seen in 2015 - and we see at least 1 movie a week ! Chris puts on a fantastic performance, much better than his Thor roles. The movie has an excellent combination of action at sea, human emotion and reaction, and courage and sacrifice. It is both an action/adventure/human spirit epic movie. Kudos to the director Ron !

User review rating: 0 December 14, 2015

One of the best movies this year! great story it really pulled you in, the special affects were really good, Ron Howard always makes you feel the heart of the story, Chris Hemsworth was excellent as usual!!! My husband and I throughly enjoyed it!

User review rating: 3 December 14, 2015

I liked the movie in a kind of casual way. During the action scenes the camera jumping from scene to scene left me not knowing what was happening. I guess I was expecting too much.

User review rating: 5 December 14, 2015

Bravo to Ron Howard again for making another great movie. This movie was excellent from its story line of the well known Moby Dick classic tale, to its exciting cinema photography and acting, to its message of a deeper moral consciousness of our earth's dwindling natural wonders. More heartening when we realize that this was for the greater part, a true story. See it and you should not be disappointed.

User review rating: 5 December 13, 2015

I had a whale of a time watching this movie,eXceptionally well done ,very entertaining...Good on you Ron

User review rating: 4 December 12, 2015

The last time Howard and Hemsworth teamed up was for the gritty drama Rush, but this is just as powerful in its own way.

User review rating: 5 December 12, 2015

Loved this movie.

User review rating: 5 December 11, 2015

Visually stunning. Excellent acting. Ron Howard is the man.

User review rating: 5 December 11, 2015

Excellent movie! The story was amazing and a realistic depiction of life from the 1800s. The acting was incredible, you actually felt for the people in the film. The human aspect was there as well as great special effects. Excellent acting from Chris Hemsworth.

User review rating: 4 December 03, 2015

This is a good Ron Howard film. Acting is solid all round and believable. The story goes deeper than "Big Whale sinks ship" and touches the players on a very human level. Nice message from a positive voice in Hollywood.

Change Location