If Beale Street Could Talk

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.47 / 5

User rating: 3.47

Based on 44 votes and 17 reviews


  • User rating: 3.47 52.63%
  • User rating: 3.47 0.00%
  • User rating: 3.47 10.53%
  • User rating: 3.47 15.79%
  • User rating: 3.47 21.05%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 17 of 17

User review rating: 2 January 23, 2019

It was very slow. The story was good, but it wasn't done very well. The story was choppy. The should have shown things better.

User review rating: 3 January 20, 2019

I will watch this movie again when it comes out on video,because I may have missed something . I can't agree with all the great reviews . To me it was long and boring. I was fighting to stay awake and wishing for the end. A great story ,and some great acting so I will reserve final judgement until I view it again .

User review rating: 1 January 19, 2019

Too slow just the message is good but delivery is very bad and nothing special about this movie.

User review rating: 1 January 17, 2019

much too slow for my liking.

User review rating: 2 January 17, 2019

I don't understand the hype about this movie. I was really looking forward to seeing it but was disappointed. It was so slow and melodramatic. "The Green Book" was so much better in depicting the struggle and racist issues that black Americans dealt with every day.

User review rating: 3 January 16, 2019

This was an ok movie and nicely done period piece. I don't quite understand all the hype about it being so great, because on a scale it is just down the middle of the pack for me and my husband. I'm a big Regina King fan and think she is way underrated as an actress, but I really didn't see anything worthy of a nomination for anything in this film. Maybe the main female lead, but that is being generous. I really wanted to love this movie, but just can't summon up anything more but it was ok to pass a couple hours. I felt like it could have been so much more and the ending was lackluster and left the audience hanging.

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2019

Excellent movie—beautiful love story (love on many levels); outstanding actors; and the director did superbly at bringing James Baldwin’s book to life. Highly recommend that everyone see this movie. 🔥

User review rating: 1 January 15, 2019

TOO TOO SLOW .... acting was good, but got too tired watching the movie

User review rating: 5 January 13, 2019

Another excellent film that few people will see. This is a film about love, but not just a story of young love, although certainly that. We see parents' love of infant children, and older parents' love of adult children, and sisters loving sisters. The over-riding theme is the horrendous struggle of black people 50 years ago---worse than now, BUT not enough worse. The movie is riveting.....Guru Bob....90/100

User review rating: 1 January 13, 2019

fell asleep. Very very slow . Movie could have been made by/of anyone.

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2019

Excellent movie and would really like to see a sequel. The movie showed true areas of poverty and discrimination on the way people are living and still being treated unfairly today

User review rating: 2 January 10, 2019

Ponderous, shared brutality of poverty and discrimination, and left me feeling even more guilty.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2019

Great story, great acting but sad reality like other reviewers have mentioned that nothing much has changed. Two thumbs up.

User review rating: 5 December 29, 2018

A comparison can easily be made to the story of Romeo and Juliet. The two young actors Tish and Alfonso embraced their roles. Regina King was superb. Her emotional connection to her entire family was real. The love the two people shared was powerful. They waged a war that continues today. Brilliantly directed. Worth all award consideration.

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2018

This film is a good tribute to the writings of our great Black American writer James Baldwin. If one wants to really know intimately the black experience..this is a great introduction..then read Baldwin.

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2018

The acting was excellent. Kept my attention through out the entire show. So much that I did not how long it was until after it was over. I give it a 10 on a scale of 1-10 Drama range. A must see for a Mature audience.

User review rating: 5 December 26, 2018

A treasure of a film. Actors are superb. Gut wrenching knowing how so much has NOT changed!! A must see.

Change Location