Garden State

Thank you for rating this movie!

Garden State Movie Poster

3.85 / 5

User rating: 3.85

Based on 3270 votes and 91 reviews

  • User rating: 3.85 68.49%
  • User rating: 3.85 2.90%
  • User rating: 3.85 0.85%
  • User rating: 3.85 0.32%
  • User rating: 3.85 27.44%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 50 of 91

User review rating: 5 August 02, 2012

i loved this movie and am a huge fan of natalie portman.zach braff reminds me a lot of ray much so that he could play his son in a movie! great movie i gave it 5 stars.

User review rating: 1 December 13, 2009

pretty pathetic movie... it was racist and contained nude scenes of natalie portman who looked like a boy

User review rating: 0 April 23, 2007

Zach Braff has created a subtle yet beautiful piece of work. It may not be action packed but it is absolutely touching and a feel good movie in it`s own right. It`s nice to see a movie where the characters talk like real people.

User review rating: 0 September 12, 2006


User review rating: 0 March 30, 2006

I have to agree, this was one of the worst movies that I have seen. It had scenes which were unbearable to watch. Natalie Portman with a nude scene in the bathtub was simply disturbing. Take my advice, don`t even watch it if it is coming on TV let alone rent it.

User review rating: 0 December 23, 2005

this movie was deeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep (mobb)

User review rating: 0 December 08, 2005

i went to see this movie with my five year old daughter, but there were sexual scenes in this!! i am sueing the director, he has no right to degrade natalie portman to do such scenes

User review rating: 0 December 08, 2005

worse movie of all time

User review rating: 0 December 08, 2005

this movie had so many explicit scenes, why wasn`t this rated R?

User review rating: 0 October 10, 2005

Okay I dont know what people mean by porn or racistness. It didn`t include any of that! This was a movie about coming of age and a fine one if I do say so myself. I heard from a friend that it was a good movie and i had heard many good reviews so i rented it. I must have watched it about five times I enjoyed it so. I recently bought it and have mentioned it many friends. But this movie is one of those you either like it or not. There`s no inbetween. I liked it. But i have mentioned to friends who dont understand it no matter how much i explain and some that dislike it alot. but then i have alot of friends who liked it do much they went out

User review rating: 0 July 04, 2005

This is one of those movies that`s just like no other. I had heard so many great things about it from friends. I`d read so many great reviews. So I went out one night, and rented it. I watched it the next night, and I can truly say that it helped change my view on life, and my view on specific films. The film didn`t help change my life, it just helped me to view things differently. After viewing `Garden State`, I borrowed `Eternal Sunshine` from a friend, and I loved that film. A few other films that were like `Garden State` were `Undertow` and `The Pallbearer`. All of these movies I believe I wouldn`t have enjoyed as much if I hadn`t seen `G

User review rating: 0 April 29, 2005

Incredible but it is one those movies that you`re into or not. If you are into the movie you will see very good performance by such actors as Ian Holm, Natalie Portman and Zach Braff who also wrote the screenplay and also produced and directed if I am not mistaken. The movie doesn`t really seem like a low-budget movie even though it may be. Dramatic and funny at the same time. You never get bored. Best money I`ve ever spent.

User review rating: 0 April 18, 2005

Garden state is such an amazing movie, it desribes lifes cruelties in such a subtle way that blows you away. I loved it

User review rating: 0 March 03, 2005

I`m often made fun of because I tell people this movie changed my life. I mean, how can a movie do that? But for me...this movie was so life-affirming I couldn`t help but walk away changed. We all go through tough stuff in life, and if you`ve ever had to experience depression you can relate to what these characters go through. All I could think about afterwards were the changes that I wanted to make in my life, how to see my life differently, and what it is in life that really matters. Such an amazing movie. Not one person I`ve recommended it to has disliked it. It`s true, moving and incredibly real. Probably the best movie I`ve ever s

User review rating: 0 February 05, 2005

This incredible movie was recommended to me by so many people, and i read so many great reviews, that i just really wanted to go out and rent it. So I did, and I watched it by myself the next evening. This was one of the best and well written, thoughtout movies I`ve ever seen. Zach Braff is an icredible young talent, and I expect to see more great things from him in the future (in both acting and directing departments). Natalie Portman, is just amazing to watch in this character, and just adds to the movie`s great content. The beginning was a little strange and weird, but when Natalie Portman came into the picture, it just turned into a diffe

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2005

I loved how they portrayed love in this movie. They showed it as a happy joyous thing which we rarely see anymore

User review rating: 0 January 31, 2005

Not very good. Very slow numbing movie. Also, there are some annoying overacting stoner characters in the early going who don`t have much of a vocabulary.

User review rating: 0 January 09, 2005

i thought this movie was great. natalie portman is hilarious. although there is no clear plot line, it still was great 5 stars bruup

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2005

Garden State was the most breathtaking movie Ive yet to see. It changed my outlook on life and made me thankful for what I have.

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2005

I just finished writing something about this movie, read more reviews and felt I had to come back and gush some more. I called on of my friends to recommend this movie to her, and found myself still choked up from it. It really touches you. Natalie Portman`s character is so fun, and different, in such a realistic way. Even the outline of the film involving coming home for a few days, and the culture shock you inevitably feel, so real to me. Ok, I`ll stop gushing again.

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2005

I can`t remember the last time I`ve seen such a deep, funny, touching, original movie. Kudos to Zach Braff. I wish I knew of a website that he checked in on so I could express to him what a remarkable movie he wrote. It`s one of those movies that leaves you feeling slightly bereft at the idea of leaving these characters behind. I`m having trouble pressing stop on the player and saying good-bye. I HIGHLY recommend this movie to everyone and am now going to call all my friends who enjoy high quality movies, to tell them that they must rent it immediately - or buy it. And the soundtrack. Wow. I`d heard it was phenomenal, and it is, and pe

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2004

this is the best movie i`ve ever seen, zack braff i praise you. not only is the movie great, the music is fantastic. this movie is breathtaking, portman was fantastic. TWO THUMBS WAY UP!!!!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 December 28, 2004

I think this was one of the best movies of 2004. Original, funny, dramatic - it had everything. Portman and Sarrsgard are great and deserve oscar consideration.

User review rating: 0 December 04, 2004

absolutely breathtaking movie, my favorite movie without a doubt. makes you feel good about life.

User review rating: 0 November 29, 2004


User review rating: 0 November 13, 2004

The Garden State soundtrack is unreal.

User review rating: 0 November 12, 2004

Garden State was wicked! I loved can`t help but love Natalie Portman either.

User review rating: 0 November 12, 2004

The movie can be summed up in one word: phenominal! (I hope I spelled that correctly) I have to say that it could possibly be the greatest movie of the past decade. Zach Braff is brilliant, and he should get to work on another film immedietly, just so long as it doesn`t interfere with Scrubs.

User review rating: 0 October 26, 2004

she has a career ahead of her!)- Also the song tracks and the musical score for the movie, flowed really nicely along with the story. ( I just ordered the soundtrack!) I am totally getting Garden State when it comes out on DVD Dec. 28 =D

User review rating: 0 October 25, 2004

Garden State was incredible- in a lot of aspescts, it was like the Wall, though nowhere near as disturbing, It really got me in touch with a lot of buried feelings, and I found myself seeing similarities, between the main character Andrew Largeman and myself.The plot and the characters were developed soo well, that at the end, you found yourself wanting desperately to know what happened to the characters. It was almost like you were watching real people living their lives. I`m not usually a fan of "Life" movies but Garden State was incredible! (also This was my first time seeing Natalie Portman act outside of Star-Wars and I can tell you now,

User review rating: 0 October 23, 2004

Best movie I`ve seen in years!

User review rating: 0 October 22, 2004

Not only was the movie excellent, so was the soundtrack!

User review rating: 0 October 19, 2004

a spectacularly beautiful movie that highlights the magic that exists in any life. one of the funniest movies i`ve ever seen, but so real. everyone involved should be commended.

User review rating: 0 October 14, 2004

Phenomenal. It changed my life. `Nuff said.

User review rating: 0 October 13, 2004

A surprisingly good movie. I found Natalie Portman`s character to be a bit unbelievable but overall it was very touching.

User review rating: 0 October 03, 2004

Just the traqilor gave me butterflies, it looks so amazing in ads, and its incredible on film. It met every expectation anyone could have for a movie...

User review rating: 0 October 01, 2004

this movie rocks

User review rating: 0 October 01, 2004

10 bucks down the drain. I had trouble keeping my eyes open. However, it`s very well possible that despite having worked half my life in the movie theater business, I`m just too stupid to understand this quasi-intellectual drivel.

User review rating: 0 September 29, 2004

Wonderful movie...great characters, real story. Loved it. For those who called it "Boring" and "no plot" must be about 13 years old. You obviously didn`t understand the story or plot. YOu should stick to movies like Friday the 13th Part 41, or Sleepover.

User review rating: 0 September 29, 2004

Awesome, fantastic, wonderful, sweet! Both me and my boyfriend LOVED it. Good Job Zack Braff. So simple, so sweet, so real and deep. HIghly recommend this. Natalie Portman was great as always.

User review rating: 0 September 26, 2004

Greatest movie ever! it was so real and funny.

User review rating: 0 September 22, 2004

To paraphrase some of the film`s dialogue..."it changed my life"

User review rating: 0 September 21, 2004

This movie was phenomenal. I don`t think I looked away from the screen during the entire film; it was so captivating. With all of the garbage being released lately in cinema, this is a movie that wasn`t made in order to make money, but it seems as though it was made to touch lives. And that it did!

User review rating: 0 September 20, 2004

What a spectacular movie! Smart, witty, funny, sexy, and raw, it really made me think and really made me feel grateful to be alive.

User review rating: 0 September 18, 2004

best movie I`ve ever seen!

User review rating: 0 September 16, 2004

honestly man! does anyone have any comment about natalie portman`s nude and sex scenes???

User review rating: 0 September 16, 2004

boring movie!

User review rating: 0 September 15, 2004

Excelent movie that teaches you it doesn`t matter how old you are, you can still find yourself. 2 Thumbs up for Zach Braff.

User review rating: 0 September 14, 2004

i think this was an AMAZING movie sooo well done, charming characters, interesting filming and inventive story

User review rating: 0 September 13, 2004

honestly the best movie i have seen! i was able to relate with characters so it made it that much more amazing! brilliant actors!

Change Location