Doubt

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.91 / 5

User rating: 3.91

Based on 556 votes and 31 reviews


  • User rating: 3.91 63.16%
  • User rating: 3.91 5.26%
  • User rating: 3.91 5.26%
  • User rating: 3.91 11.84%
  • User rating: 3.91 14.47%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 31 of 31

User review rating: 3 December 12, 2009

I enjoyed the movie and the acting was great. Unfortunately, the movie left me feeling frustrated and doubtful by raising questions but not answering them.

User review rating: 0 June 08, 2009

Streep and Hoffman were superb in their portrayals of their characters. A very well-casted movie that constantly tackeled issues of not only the unquestioned devotion of religious faith but also the challenging of it right up to the conclusion of the film. An excellent film. Highly recommended.

User review rating: 0 February 28, 2009

Well written, great performances.

User review rating: 0 February 06, 2009

Great movie/acting/plot. I read comments about it being long, but I found it went rather quickly when following the dialogue, ideas, and things "in between the lines."

User review rating: 0 January 30, 2009

Awful. Boring. Oh, did I forget to say BORING. I love Mery Streep and Philip Seymur Hoffman and can only imagine how great this movie would have been if they had tackled the real issue that haunts the Catholic church.

User review rating: 0 January 28, 2009

Meryl is great in this serious role. She protects her students. I attended a catholic school and it was a true depiction of the era. Alone, in a male dominated world with the old cronie male hiarchy Sister Aloysius defended her turf very well. It surely brought back memories of the Bishop had me kiss his ruby ring and then when he cuped my face tightly I jumped back. Only for him to say he loved my big blue eyes. I was eight. I will never forget that moment.This movie is so great, every move, every look, body language. I will have to watch it over and over again to get the fullest effect. Helen

User review rating: 0 January 27, 2009

Thought this was predictable and expected - didn't think Hoffman had enough arrogance as a priest and I didn't know too many nuns that were that vocal against a priest - that was the time of "don't ask too many questions" especially of a priest or his faith - definitely a renter, barely.

User review rating: 0 January 25, 2009

Slow, boring. What a disappointment! There really was no story line, just a bunch of accusations that were never proven, or dis-proven. This definitely is not Meryl Streep at her best.

User review rating: 0 January 24, 2009

This was by far the worst movie I have seen in a long time! Save your time and money,it is not even worth the price of a rental! p.s don't doubt me!

User review rating: 0 January 22, 2009

This movie is all about character studies and the acting is superb. Hoffman, Streep are the real thing. If you have any history with being in a Catholic school in this era, it couldn't be more true to life.

User review rating: 0 January 19, 2009

Superb! Great acting by Streep and Hoffman. An accurate portrayal of the role the church played in the young lives of so many of today's aging boomers back in the 50's and 60's. The pathetic, protective hierachy within the Catholic church and the rampant physical and sexual abuse that happened was depicted with accuracy. See it and become informed. As sure as the sun will come up tomorrow this is still happening; only difference is the sophistication of the abusers has probably evolved. This is a serious movie, worthy of an Oscar.

User review rating: 0 January 18, 2009

Meryl Streep was just great.

User review rating: 0 January 15, 2009

Streep is great, but the movie really belongs to Hoffman, who hasn't been this good since Tootsie.

User review rating: 0 January 13, 2009

I hated this movie. The acting was wonderful (except Streep's over the top last line - cheese at its worst) but the script was horrible. After all the stories about abuse within the Catholic church - this is the movie we get. So, um, abuse allegations are the result of a deranged nun's mind? Would that some nuns had taken action - a dreadful movie without moral courage.

User review rating: 0 January 13, 2009

This was one of the best movies my husband and I have seen for a long time. Brilliant acting and great photography along with special effects, came together to create a really intelligent and thought provoking experience in the movie theatre.

User review rating: 0 January 10, 2009

Merryl Streep was excellent, the name of the movie says it all.

User review rating: 0 January 08, 2009

The movie was really slow and boring, a waste precious time. It was uneventful and plain.

User review rating: 0 January 07, 2009

Very good. I usually hate Streep but thought she pulled this one off. Hoffman is very good as usual.

User review rating: 0 January 06, 2009

Very provocative movie - Meryl Streep at her best!

User review rating: 0 January 05, 2009

Great acting, but just too slow and uneventful.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2009

this movie contains some of teh best acting I have ever seen.

User review rating: 0 January 02, 2009

Wonderful Movie and superb performances from the lead roles, well worth seeing.

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2009

Excellent acting. Merryl Streep was fantastic.

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2008

think this could be the 2nd worst film of 2008!

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2008

This is a fantastic movie with superb acting. I can't recommend it enough.

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2008

the title says it all. you will doubt even your own belief! very well done tour DE force acting.

User review rating: 0 December 29, 2008

The "feel good" movie of the year.

User review rating: 0 December 28, 2008

Very slow and boring.

User review rating: 0 December 26, 2008

Well acted drama that leaves the viewer wondering.Power doesn't always come from physical or spiritual strength.

User review rating: 0 December 19, 2008

Phillips Seymour is just creepy. The aura he gives off is somewhat disturbing throughout the whole movie.

User review rating: 0 December 13, 2008

Excellent movie. Put this one on your list to watch this season.

Change Location