Darkest Hour

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.01 / 5

User rating: 4.01

Based on 200 votes and 70 reviews


  • User rating: 4.01 68.83%
  • User rating: 4.01 7.79%
  • User rating: 4.01 1.30%
  • User rating: 4.01 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.01 22.08%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 70

User review rating: 4 January 23, 2018

Excellent movie! My husband and I really enjoyed this movie......

User review rating: 1 January 23, 2018

Imaginary facts being passed as history it’s insulting to the audience

User review rating: 1 January 23, 2018

Just bad acting with a hint of unintended comedy

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2018

As a retort about the history teachers' review that Churchill never considered peace talks is incorrect since that pre war fact is still a secret in the countries historical files. What are our children being taught in school these day ?

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2018

The acting in the movie was surpurb. Given the fact there there may have been extension of reality, it provides a premise as to what could have changed history. We need the boldness in our leaders today. Those who rated it with one star should have been there.

User review rating: 5 January 21, 2018

Best movie I have seen in years!

User review rating: 5 January 19, 2018

Fantastic! I really enjoyed this movie. History fan.

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2018

Stay away

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2018

A not so good movie

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2018

Not worth the time let alone the money

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2018

As a former history teacher, I have to give it an F. As a historical fiction movie, it's at least 75% fiction. The idea that Churchill wavered and seemed to have considered a treaty with Hitler and that he jotted down the ideas for his greatest speech on a subway trip to Parliament (one which he never took) are ridiculous. Gary Oldman did a great job portraying a bumbling professor! I had to give the movie one star, because I wasn't given to option of going lower.

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2018

Pretty predictable crappy stuff. I am pretty tired of national hero typical kind of character. Getting to feel pretty much the same about Gary Oldman. Go to a matinee or wait for the rental, but don't pay full price unless you have nothing better to do.

User review rating: 1 January 18, 2018

Could have been so much more with the talented cast. Underdeveloped dialogue and characters. Waste of time and money

User review rating: 5 January 15, 2018

Is there an echo in here? No, it's one idiot repeating the same complaints over and over in multiple bad reviews. No need to repeat yourself ad nauseam. You don't like Churchill, we get it.

User review rating: 1 January 15, 2018

It should be illegal to lie to people like they do it in this movie

User review rating: 1 January 15, 2018

This guy was a mass murderer but they didn’t mention it in this movie

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2018

Excellent movie. If you saw the movie “Dunkirk” and was disappointed, like I was, you’ll love this movie. Oldman should win an Oscar. Fantastic! Excellent acting.

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2018

Good lesson in history and how close the world came to becoming Hitler's dream.

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2018

Idiots below with one star are all jdoperdenocrats. Churchill, Eisenhower, Roosevelt were high powered do it Men. And they had very bad language about Shithole Concentration camps in side Germany and Poland. These idiots below definitely would not be here if not our great grandfathers gave their life and the still survivors. See the idiots today from their parents all doped on Weedand Needto be Drafted. Truth movie

User review rating: 5 January 14, 2018

The way it was and had to be.

User review rating: 1 January 12, 2018

Krapp

User review rating: 1 January 12, 2018

I have a had time deciding which movie was the worst of the year: this one or Blade Runner

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2018

Terrific multifaceted characterization. Strong suspense in complex siruation. Striking visual patterns to underscore dramatic moments. Beautifully executed.

User review rating: 5 January 12, 2018

This is a good movie. Educational, intriguing, and you know the good guys win. I loved it.

User review rating: 5 January 11, 2018

Excellent movie, gripping performances. Read the book as well, I believe this movie to be a very accurate account of what took place during those horrendous days.

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2018

Gary Oldman's performance was over the top. The Acacemy Award for male lead actor can be awarded right now. A great depiction of the complexities of governing and decision-making in the face of war/destruction. A dramatic presentation of bravery in the face of utter destrction. I give it five stars for its honesty and its dramaic suspense. Even though we know the outcome, it keeps us on the edge of our seats.

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2018

Loved it. Will watch it again.

User review rating: 5 January 09, 2018

Both accurate and entertaining, Gary Oldman did a fantastic job playing the role of Churchill.

User review rating: 1 January 08, 2018

Crap, stay away

User review rating: 3 January 08, 2018

I found the movie very boring. If you're a big Churchill buff, then go see it.

User review rating: 4 January 06, 2018

Well done old chap. I shudder to think how Britain would face the same war with today's inhabitants.

User review rating: 5 January 06, 2018

Awesome!

User review rating: 1 January 05, 2018

A stupid and historically inaccurate movie about Churchill, one of the biggest scumbags ever born in Britain that sold Eastern Europe to the biggest scumbag ever born in Europe: Stalin.

User review rating: 1 January 05, 2018

Bsd scting no plot

User review rating: 1 January 05, 2018

Do we really need another movie about this mass murdering sociopath? A story of a man who stood up to hitler yes, but also engineered the mass murder through starvation of 3 million Bengali citizens. Its on record that Churchill referred to the Bengalis as 'dirty beasts' and didn't give a care for them. He diverted much needed food grains away from the Bengali people and instead used it for his troops even though his troops already had enough to eat.

User review rating: 5 January 04, 2018

As King George said, "Beat the buggers". I loved it. The story of a man who stood up to Hitler! I loved every minute of it.

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2018

Great subject, well acted, gripping. Gary Oldman was terrific.

User review rating: 4 January 03, 2018

The idea that Churchill would even entertain the idea of sitting down with the Big Three to find an early solution to end the war is pure Hollywood. How about this - Casablanca and while FDR and Stalin have a tete a tete with Hiltler (yes Hitler wanted an end as well) but Churchill refused to sit at the same table to even think of such a deal. Do you wonder why Churchill was excluded from the rest of the Conference while FDR cozied up to the Russian Butcher believing he could control him. Do you wonder why the relationship between Churchill and FDR was never the same after Casablanca?? Otherwise a great movie led by Hollywood's greatest actor of the times.

User review rating: 1 January 03, 2018

A bad movie about a murderer

User review rating: 5 January 03, 2018

Excellent movie from beginning to end. Gary Oldman is outstanding as Winston Churchill and he should win an Oscar for his performance. **5 star movie**

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2018

The best film I have seen in a year. We need more films like this. Gary Oldman was out standing and I was impressed with the entire cast. I had to drive, however, for over an hour to see this film since our local galaxy theatre does not seem to be showing it. It was advertised with trailers, but it is not playing and not on the list of films "coming soon". It was well worth the drive however. I actually have seen it twice.

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2018

A pleasure to experience a movie that paints an historically accurate overall view of events in England, in spring of 1940. Whether Churchill ever entertained thoughts of peace talks with Hitler, we shall never know. This is history, dramatized at its best. A must see.

User review rating: 1 January 02, 2018

This movie is historically wrong. It portrays a criminal that sent millions to thir death as a national hero. Nothing could be farther away from the truth.

User review rating: 1 January 02, 2018

A small movie about a big crook

User review rating: 5 January 02, 2018

This is a must see if you are a Churchill fan, and helps illustrate the power of oratory and a committed leader in a situation that seems dire, and without solution, but is able to bring a country and world into the light. Gary Oldman is superb, the and seems to own the Churchill persona. If only we had a modern day Churchill in our house or senate! I am asking all my friends and family to “please see it!”!!!

User review rating: 5 January 01, 2018

I loved it. I have seen it three times so far. It is especially interesting to those who lived though this time period.

User review rating: 4 January 01, 2018

Great film. Lot's of older folks in the audience so the appeal may not be for those not familiar with the times. It does capture the spirit of this horrible time in British history and how Churchill was the right man at the right time. Oldman is a wonder in the role. Kristin Scott Thomas was fabulous and should have had more air time in the movie. Worth your nickel.

User review rating: 1 January 01, 2018

Inaccurate, this low life sold Eastern Europe to Stalin

User review rating: 5 December 31, 2017

Best movie...best performances of the year.

User review rating: 5 December 30, 2017

a must see

Change Location