Boy Erased

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.42 / 5

User rating: 3.42

Based on 52 votes and 17 reviews


  • User rating: 3.42 50.00%
  • User rating: 3.42 4.17%
  • User rating: 3.42 4.17%
  • User rating: 3.42 20.83%
  • User rating: 3.42 20.83%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 17 of 17

User review rating: 5 February 15, 2019

Brings a lot of topics not talked about very often to the forefront. It’s nice to finally see a movie about conversion therapy. I learned a lot from this movie. Very Emotional!! Highly recommend.

User review rating: 5 February 08, 2019

Finally, the truth comes out on these 'conversion therapy', no matter what your religion or belief is. It's so sad it was only showed in limited theaters. And unfortunately it's sadder that it is still happening at this day of age!

User review rating: 1 January 28, 2019

oh yay ANOTHER gay movie

User review rating: 1 January 24, 2019

Forgot to mention - I'm not a church goer, but the way they are portrayed in this film is disgraceful. Christians do so much good in the community and around the world. They are the first to race to aid when disasters happen, when there are starving children or elderly around the world. It would be nice if just once, outside of a Christian movie, they were portrayed in a positive light. Because they do a lot of positive things.

User review rating: 1 January 24, 2019

Most scenes too dark to see what's going on, even when it's just a scene of the family talking. Unclear as to whether the boy was gay before he was raped, or only decided to be after. Lucas Hedges has no charisma, no charm, there's nothing about him that says he merits a starring role in a movie. There must be far better men with that quality that screams "star" who could have played this role, who don't have famous director fathers. Nepotism is ruining Hollywood.

User review rating: 2 January 12, 2019

The truth cannot be converted as the title says....mid leading title , sure u give you're sinfully lust for men as a homosexual and take Jesus Christ as you're savior, it not a easy thing to do and it not over night....sin is deadly thing and won't inherit the kingdom of heaven

User review rating: 2 December 31, 2018

It's wrong to want to change people who don't want to be changed. But people who do want to live a "normal" life have had successful conversions. I feel like this movie is a badly written attack on Christians. Why are they portrayed like evil a** holes - how about you try and portray a muslim like that onscreen and find out how many death sentences are taken out on you? Most overseas charities that help poor people in third world countries are run by Christians. How about applauding them once in awhile?

User review rating: 5 December 19, 2018

Best movie I've seen all year. Touching, disturbing, and real. The entire cast is brilliant in this movie! I love the Christian lunatics posting reviews on here when they clearly didn't see the movie. Conversion therapy is disgusting, and the fake Christians can't deal with it being brought out in the open.

User review rating: 1 December 19, 2018

What I dislike most is the lie that God won’t love you if you are gay! He loves everyone!

User review rating: 5 December 16, 2018

Some highly emotional scenes. It shows how, a lot if times, children are more emotionally mature then their parents and parents need to self reflect too. The child is not always in the wrong just because they are younger. My fave line When Kidman was taking out her son from conversion therapy she said " shame on you, and shame on me too." She at that moment understood what pain she had caused. A lot of times parents must be emotionally mature enough to say yes, I f**ked up, and I'm truly sorry. It isn't that hard, parents.

User review rating: 1 December 05, 2018

H. E. L. L. NO!!! Just because certain people of the 20th century and now the: [21st Century] people, EMBRACES: homosexuals... And now dirtied up the words: gay; and marriage; and... "perverted" the symbol and element of the: rainbow; which is suppose to represent "gay" and its movement... And they take it and put it in a made sentimental movie... Don't mean its right! Nor expectable, nor entertaining...

User review rating: 5 November 21, 2018

An 18 year-old son of a minister is sent to conversion camp to get the "gay" scrubbed out of him. The film is rich in adult themes---the continuing view of homosexuality as sin; the conflict of sexuality and fundamentalist; the scamish nature of many treatment centers in general; the parental conflict of children's values different from your own. Nicole Kidman floats along for the first 3/4 of the film as the quiet passive wife, but as her character steps up to keep her family from falling apart, Kidman shows her acting chops and takes over the film. It's a remarkable performance. --gurubob---------------------------------------90/100

User review rating: 2 November 19, 2018

Lucas Hedges much more convincing as the gay teen he is, he was unconvincing as a straight teen in his other films. He should stick to playing gay men.

User review rating: 5 November 18, 2018

Powerful. As a gay male growing up in Alabama, I saw many of my friends experience the same thing. I am thrilled that we are in a place and time to talk about this.

User review rating: 3 November 17, 2018

Should have been 20 minutes longer to beef up the case.

User review rating: 4 November 16, 2018

The film is somewhat less compelling than expected. Reasonably dramatic and with some highly emotional scenes. The storyline however lacked detail and at times simply plodded along. BE is packed with great actors not given much chance to live up to their potentiAl. But toward the end of the film both Kidman and Crowe really bring it, leaving you in tears. A good film bit no awards here I am afraid.

User review rating: 5 November 13, 2018

Great movie and it's sad and choking to see how there is still so much intolerance and ignorance in society when it comes to homosexuality. The movie shows the horror and psychological torture of the stupid conversion therapy.

Change Location