Arrival

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.41 / 5

User rating: 3.41

Based on 150 votes and 55 reviews


  • User rating: 3.41 41.89%
  • User rating: 3.41 12.16%
  • User rating: 3.41 10.81%
  • User rating: 3.41 14.86%
  • User rating: 3.41 20.27%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 55

User review rating: 2 December 07, 2016

Exciting....the many ways I was able to almost stay awake during this yawner. I mean, watching the attendants pumping gas at Costco is more exciting. I guess there was a plot, but I did not get it; and please no need for an explanation. It is just a shame that cash awards or incentives are not given for those able to stay until it finally (hurrah) ended. Boring!

User review rating: 1 December 07, 2016

And the ink encircled it's head like a wreath. Very disgusting movie just in time for Christmas. Nearly as rotten as Almost Christmas and bad Santa. If they don't like Christmas, please don't try to make a movie about it.

User review rating: 1 December 07, 2016

Like a bad remake of close encounters of a third time only without any good actors and a less believable story line. Save your money and see something else.

User review rating: 1 December 07, 2016

One of the worst and boring movies of 2016. Very hard to watch, a lot of the scenes were blurry.

User review rating: 1 December 06, 2016

I agree with some of the others that the movie was a real "snoozer." Had to struggle to stay awake. Non-linear thinking, jumping from the present to the future to the past? Maybe Steven Hawking would "get" it but Star Trek on TV has done this so many times in various episodes.

User review rating: 2 December 05, 2016

Not very good. It started off fine, then went nowhere, very slow moving. Lost interest, kept looking for them to wrap it up. The study of linguistics is confused with being a linguist here. At one point I thought they needed to just blast everything away from Earth, but the space things shaped like satellite dishes took off by themselves. Then Nicole suddenly ran with a stolen cell phone and started speaking Chinese..... the FORBIDDEN LANGUAGE!!!

User review rating: 1 December 03, 2016

Oh boy what a total waste of my time and money this movie was. Almost fell asleep it is slow and boring. I kept waiting for some action and it never comes. Save your money dont go see this movie.

User review rating: 0 December 02, 2016

The only good thing about this movie was the tea and popcorn" , I would like to have my money back!

User review rating: 3 November 29, 2016

Arrival started off with good suspense and tight expectation of being an intelligent alien movie, not just a shoot-em-up blood fest. But it quickly went too far in the other direction, along the lines of 60's 'flowers in the end of rifles' direction. Resorting to the tired, old formula of the intellectuals looking down their learned noses at the crude, thuggish military who have the gall to point weapons at the assumed peaceful aliens, who couldn't possibly come in anything but peace and love. When truthfully, how would anyone in their right mind ever believe that with so very little to go on?? The three lead actors, however played their roles flawlessly and the acting was great. So, you should see it, because the acting is worth it, if some of the plot is predictable and some parts are presented with a twist on time that may confuse at worst and aggravate at best. Go to see the actors act and the fantastic graphics.

User review rating: 5 November 28, 2016

Beautiful execution. This is a deep movie, exploring death, grief, collectivism, paranoia, linguistic science, temporal possibilities and extraterrestrial life. All seen stripped bare of movie glamour and graced by great performances from Adams, Renner and Whitaker. If you want to be challenged, go see this collectors masterpiece.

User review rating: 5 November 27, 2016

One of the finest most engrossing science fiction movies I've seen in a long, long time.

User review rating: 2 November 27, 2016

Disappointing ending! It lacked depth and excitement for an Alien movie! YouTube videos about Aliens are more exciting! To save time and money, it would be more exciting to watch those YouTube videos at home with some popcorn instead of watching Arrival!!!

User review rating: 0 November 26, 2016

Slow moving movie. Not terrible but not that good either, in my opinion. Nothing original about it. They were just copying 'Interstellar' with time being circular is all, but not as good as that movie.

User review rating: 3 November 26, 2016

When I saw the trailers for 'Arrival' earlier this year, I read a copy of the short story upon which the movie is based: 'The Story of Your Life' by Ted Chiang. I thought the screenwriter did an okay job of taking a very cerebral, esoteric 40-page story and turning it into a two-hour movie - but only just okay. I think there was a bit of 'Hollywood-ization' to add some drama and action elements, but overall the spirit and thrust of the story were kept intact. About 3/4s of the way through the movie, there's a plot twist revealed. Having read the story, it was no surprise to me at all, but I heard a few people muttering things like "Ohhh... now I get it..." so I guess it did come as a bit of a surprise to some folks. One thing I appreciated, but that some audiences may not, is that the ending is not a typical Hollywood ending where everyone rides off into the sunset all sunshine and smiles. The ending of both the story and the movie end on somewhat a sombre note...

User review rating: 2 November 25, 2016

Not the best Alien movie I've seen. You need to see this more than once to grasp it.

User review rating: 5 November 24, 2016

The way that this movie is understood in such polar ways is exactly the problem we all have with communication; it's what the movie is trying to show. It's important to have people like Amy Adam's & Jeremy Renner's characters that won't take a reactionary position ... a timely notion

User review rating: 5 November 24, 2016

If you like boneheaded shoot em up this is not for you. This movie makes you think about the nature of communication and how language influences our experience and reality. It is creative and beautifully acted. My wife and I both loved it.

User review rating: 1 November 24, 2016

Watched this movie,one of the worst I have ever seen.Anybody who says this was good,must be from a planet the Aliens came from.A waste of money.

User review rating: 5 November 23, 2016

I love science fiction movies, and this one too! It is not an "Independence Day" kind of movie - and I'm glad for that! This is a movie which you need to think.

User review rating: 1 November 23, 2016

im sorry , im not sure what movie these people were watching or if they are actual reviews , but they didnt see the same movie i just did . This movie wasnt good at all . It moved slow, the plot made no sense and was just all out bad . Jeremy Renner is way to good of an actor to pick suck a small part which really didnt reflect his acting skills that much in the story. Amy Adams was passable but , for me the story , plot line everything about this movie did nothing for me i will be generous and give it 2.5 out of 10 . Make this a rental ( when your trapped in the house from a snow storm )

User review rating: 5 November 23, 2016

I enjoyed this moviethough a washroom break could throw you off.The plot is intense

User review rating: 5 November 23, 2016

Very Good movie...It doesn't fall on your lap,you have to think

User review rating: 1 November 22, 2016

My wife and I were both bored. We did not get it. I guess it is a director movie where he "gets it" and hopes the audience can figure it out. Great sound, great popcorn, but boring movie. I would recommend you skip it.

User review rating: 0 November 21, 2016

I feel the film beautifully showed the fragility of communication; when what is said and how we choose to interpret may have an effect. It's welcome message told within a great movie, wonderfully acted. A really must see...for everyone.

User review rating: 2 November 21, 2016

This was NOT what I was expecting. It is an art movie. An art, romantic science fiction movie. It was slow and pretentious. It felt a lot longer than it was. If you are looking for a sci-fi alien movie, this isnt it.... Did I mention it was slow and pretentious?

User review rating: 1 November 21, 2016

I was falling asleep during this movie.

User review rating: 2 November 21, 2016

The tried too hard to make a movie about foretelling the future by going in a circle It did have some points but could not pull it all together at the end due to the fact that there is too much jumping from beginning end middle middle end beginning In the end it distorted the entire plot and story line

User review rating: 4 November 20, 2016

Really liked the movie. Bit of a snoozer at parts but the twist shocking. Think I have to see it again so all the pieces fit together.

User review rating: 3 November 19, 2016

The movie definitely doesn't rate 4 stars and I'm being generous at 3. Good actors, confusing plot (goes back into her past, then jumps forward, then back again)! Definitely disappointing.

User review rating: 2 November 18, 2016

Boring, vague plot with no real outcome for humanity, Very disappointing although most of Tarantino's movies are strange and appear to be the product of someone on drugs.

User review rating: 5 November 18, 2016

cool

User review rating: 5 November 17, 2016

I would watch a movie of Amy Adams sleeping for two hours. She's amazing.

User review rating: 3 November 17, 2016

Quite original.

User review rating: 5 November 16, 2016

The sound was not perfect so missed out one dialogue frequently. Interesting concept re time travelers from the future although how do they (and we) know they are from the future if their language is nonlineal?

User review rating: 4 November 15, 2016

Very interesting concept and intriguing presentation. Attention grabber via communication medium.moo

User review rating: 3 November 15, 2016

I liked it. Sort of. Used a few neurons in my gulliver to maybe figure it out. Maybe not.

User review rating: 5 November 15, 2016

An incredibly emotional sci-fi film about the need for empathy, collectivism and communication in modern society. Incidentally, it is also the best movie about death and grief since Darren Aronofsky's The Fountain.

User review rating: 0 November 14, 2016

Worst movie I have ever seen, boring and really about nothing. Waste of money.

User review rating: 4 November 14, 2016

OK, well, I liked it. I actually stayed awake for the whole film, which is rare these days. Different approach to alien invasion films. Instead of the military and firing power - linguistics, communication, memory and goodness are used to reveal the story. Having taken a Linguistics course in University, I was fascinated by this aspect of the film. If you're in the mood for Independence Day 3 you will be disappointed. It's a thinking persons film. There are also a few political references in the film that I found funny. Amy Adams does a great job. I read a review recently that she sucked. The person who wrote it was probably expecting ID3. Over and out of the theatre!

User review rating: 3 November 14, 2016

The movie goes in a circle: or anyplace on that circle like the alien's circular script. Confusing, plays with your concept of time and credibility. Need to see it several times or to read the detailed plot. My wife fell asleep, I stayed awake throughout, or did I?

User review rating: 0 November 14, 2016

I love movies and it takes a lot for me to lose interest in a movie; however, I found myself nodding off during this one and I couldn't wait for it to be over. The plot was confusing and it dragged on and on.

User review rating: 0 November 13, 2016

Very weak, no plot, conflict, boring and very convoluted.

User review rating: 4 November 13, 2016

Just saw the movie...Entertaining

User review rating: 5 November 12, 2016

Beautiful cinematography, subtle and beautiful acting, and a thought-provoking storyline. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

User review rating: 1 November 12, 2016

I totally understood the movie as abstract as it was. It was still a big steaming pile of cow dung.

User review rating: 2 November 12, 2016

The movie sucks. Nice story line but hard to follow at times getting the past present and future all intertwined. Lots of talking and leaves you with lots of questions left undone as to who are this aliens? Where they come from? Etc. Don't waste your money like to have my money back.

User review rating: 4 November 12, 2016

This movie likely appeals to intellectuals. Acting is good. There seemed to be an overabundant reference to Louise's (Amy Adams) past, which makes more sense towards the end. It may helps some viewers to research a bit about the story framework prior to seeing the film. I really liked it.

User review rating: 1 November 12, 2016

No real theme or rhyme to what is all going on. Bored to the max. A lot to do about nothing!!

User review rating: 2 November 12, 2016

Not a good story. No action. Aliens were dull. Nothing interesting. Skip.

User review rating: 5 November 12, 2016

Awesome movie. Thought provoking.

Change Location