Arrival

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.37 / 5

User rating: 3.37

Based on 280 votes and 90 reviews


  • User rating: 3.37 45.53%
  • User rating: 3.37 9.76%
  • User rating: 3.37 7.32%
  • User rating: 3.37 10.57%
  • User rating: 3.37 26.83%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 90

User review rating: 1 January 15, 2017

sheer waste of your money and time, to watch it.

User review rating: 1 January 06, 2017

The most overrated movie of the holiday season. I love a good alien flick, but this film was just plain dull and went nowhere. Yes, the acting was good, but the story was as bland as can be. The ending bordered on ridiculous. If you want to watch a quality film about cracking a foreign language or code see The Imitation Game instead.

User review rating: 4 January 05, 2017

Really enjoyed Arrival you had to think and read between the lines a little. Bright positive look into other potentials for life. I am still disappointed in Manchester by the Sea I will never trust the critics after that sad disappointment

User review rating: 0 January 01, 2017

If you have even the most elementary grasp of logic or physics, RUN AWAY!!!!! If you know anything about filming and want to see how to ruin a movie by using an F1.0 lens to eliminate any significant depth of field, then this is the movie for you... The logic is deeply flawed, the science gibberish, and the attempts to use shallow depth of field to be artsy are amateurish at best. I left the theatre with a headache.

User review rating: 0 December 30, 2016

Total waste of our money, I slept through most of it. The loudness woke me at times.

User review rating: 1 December 27, 2016

Not much to this movie. Did not seem understandable and ultimately did not make much sense. I was having to fight to stay awake which is not a sign of a compelling movie. Wait for the DVD release or Netflix.

User review rating: 5 December 27, 2016

Very well acted, and well choreographed throughout. (No that doesnt mean dancing). Warning: IF you're shallow and looking for a film that entertains you without expecting you to think, then don't see this one. Try "Secret Life of Pets" or something really simplistic. Otherwise, you will watch this, wish it was over because you didn't understand the nuances in it, and ultimately, you'll give it one star rating like the nice folks above. ;)

User review rating: 1 December 23, 2016

Wow, if only I had a lamp with a magic genie I would have wished I had never sat in the theatre to slumber through this. So painfully boring and slow moving for me; but then, I am not one of these brilliant five star raters who can see beauty and meaning in watching icicles form and melt; if you are of average intelligence and bored easily; forget this.

User review rating: 1 December 23, 2016

Wish I didn't watch it...

User review rating: 1 December 23, 2016

Sooo bad :(

User review rating: 1 December 20, 2016

Could actually be Amy Adams worst work to date. If I had my way, I'd give it half a star, just for Forest Whitaker.

User review rating: 5 December 19, 2016

What I would actually call a science story. Not a goofy fantasy

User review rating: 5 December 18, 2016

Simply complex! You will be contemplating this movie for days. Acting is awesome and it left you thinking and thinking and thinking.

User review rating: 5 December 18, 2016

Absolutely brilliant. For those who hated it, this is not a movie, it is a film about ideas: language, memory and desire (past and future); it is about communication and its centrality to all life. If you are interested in only special effects with people killing one another, and simple good side versus bad side, go see Star Wars.

User review rating: 2 December 17, 2016

I wish I had waited to see it on Netflix. I finished watching this movie because I paid for it. I kept hoping it was going to get more interesting and speed up, but it never did, and the ending was anticlimactic.

User review rating: 5 December 17, 2016

DIDNT GET IT UNTIL A FEW THINGS WERE SAID NEAR THE END OF THE MOVIE. MADE ME THINK THROUGH THE WHOLE MOVIE.NICELY DONE. WILL SEE IT AGAIN AND B ABLE TO UNDERSTAND IT THROUGHTHE MOVIE.ADAMS IS AWSOME AS USUAL.

User review rating: 5 December 17, 2016

very well done

User review rating: 2 December 16, 2016

Still waiting for a quality Sci Fi movie a la Aliens. This isn't the one. Positive reviews drew me to it. But silly aliens (hands ?) and go no where plot left me empty. Like many sci fi attempts this one begins with promise but let's you down at the end. Pass on this one.

User review rating: 1 December 16, 2016

Garbage.

User review rating: 5 December 16, 2016

Freaking love it.

User review rating: 1 December 15, 2016

Terrible Terrible Boring waste of time movie. We should be paid to sit through this sleep fest .

User review rating: 5 December 15, 2016

Beautifully done, excellent plaot and great acting. I loved every minute of it. So realistic too and thus very believable. You never know what will happen next.

User review rating: 1 December 13, 2016

Most overrated movie of the year.

User review rating: 4 December 13, 2016

Nice atmospheric movie. Sincerely, Independence Day didn't happen...

User review rating: 5 December 12, 2016

I'm surprised by some of the comments. I actually don't love sci-fi and thought this was a great story with interesting twists at the right times.

User review rating: 1 December 11, 2016

I love sci-fi, but this film was very disappointing, to me. Although I am a big fan of Amy Adams, and she was very good in this film, it was just not interesting to me and eventually pretentious and pointless. You could have driven a Mack truck through the plot holes in the script, but I will give the films "look" a shout out as being spare but effective. I just wish the "reveal" had been different and not so mundane. I thought the same thing of "Interstellar" and "Contact".

User review rating: 5 December 11, 2016

Excellent cerebral sci-fi grounded by a very emotional personal story. Great atmosphere courtesy of Villeneueve's direction and the score, but don't come into this expecting action. Amy Adams does a very good job as lead.

User review rating: 1 December 11, 2016

This movie was so slow and boring i fell asleep.

User review rating: 4 December 10, 2016

Thought provoking. Not your typical sci-fi.

User review rating: 1 December 10, 2016

I walked out after 20 minuets, I just couldn't take it any longer.

User review rating: 1 December 10, 2016

First time I fell asleep at the movies. The only thing I enjoyed was the popcorn.

User review rating: 1 December 09, 2016

You would have a much better time watching paint dry outside in December then trying to watch this. Those rating a 5 as a masterpiece and brilliant obviously have some cannibas in their system. I have a great imagination but this poor excuse for an alleged love story and sci/fi movie just drug; without drugs that is. I did not get it and would not recommend it to anyone who is not mystical and ethereal.

User review rating: 5 December 09, 2016

An absolute masterpiece, unless you like whiz-bang children's stories in space.

User review rating: 5 December 09, 2016

What Interstellar should have been.

User review rating: 5 December 09, 2016

Great movie with original and smart sci fi. People who rated this a 1 simply thought it was gonna be aliens with laser guns, it's the opposite and shines with great direction and cinematography. A must see for sci fi goers, maybe skip if you're only a blockbuster grandiose movie goer.

User review rating: 2 December 07, 2016

Exciting....the many ways I was able to almost stay awake during this yawner. I mean, watching the attendants pumping gas at Costco is more exciting. I guess there was a plot, but I did not get it; and please no need for an explanation. It is just a shame that cash awards or incentives are not given for those able to stay until it finally (hurrah) ended. Boring!

User review rating: 1 December 07, 2016

And the ink encircled it's head like a wreath. Very disgusting movie just in time for Christmas. Nearly as rotten as Almost Christmas and bad Santa. If they don't like Christmas, please don't try to make a movie about it.

User review rating: 1 December 07, 2016

Like a bad remake of close encounters of a third time only without any good actors and a less believable story line. Save your money and see something else.

User review rating: 1 December 07, 2016

One of the worst and boring movies of 2016. Very hard to watch, a lot of the scenes were blurry.

User review rating: 1 December 06, 2016

I agree with some of the others that the movie was a real "snoozer." Had to struggle to stay awake. Non-linear thinking, jumping from the present to the future to the past? Maybe Steven Hawking would "get" it but Star Trek on TV has done this so many times in various episodes.

User review rating: 2 December 05, 2016

Not very good. It started off fine, then went nowhere, very slow moving. Lost interest, kept looking for them to wrap it up. The study of linguistics is confused with being a linguist here. At one point I thought they needed to just blast everything away from Earth, but the space things shaped like satellite dishes took off by themselves. Then Nicole suddenly ran with a stolen cell phone and started speaking Chinese..... the FORBIDDEN LANGUAGE!!!

User review rating: 1 December 03, 2016

Oh boy what a total waste of my time and money this movie was. Almost fell asleep it is slow and boring. I kept waiting for some action and it never comes. Save your money dont go see this movie.

User review rating: 0 December 02, 2016

The only good thing about this movie was the tea and popcorn" , I would like to have my money back!

User review rating: 3 November 29, 2016

Arrival started off with good suspense and tight expectation of being an intelligent alien movie, not just a shoot-em-up blood fest. But it quickly went too far in the other direction, along the lines of 60's 'flowers in the end of rifles' direction. Resorting to the tired, old formula of the intellectuals looking down their learned noses at the crude, thuggish military who have the gall to point weapons at the assumed peaceful aliens, who couldn't possibly come in anything but peace and love. When truthfully, how would anyone in their right mind ever believe that with so very little to go on?? The three lead actors, however played their roles flawlessly and the acting was great. So, you should see it, because the acting is worth it, if some of the plot is predictable and some parts are presented with a twist on time that may confuse at worst and aggravate at best. Go to see the actors act and the fantastic graphics.

User review rating: 5 November 28, 2016

Beautiful execution. This is a deep movie, exploring death, grief, collectivism, paranoia, linguistic science, temporal possibilities and extraterrestrial life. All seen stripped bare of movie glamour and graced by great performances from Adams, Renner and Whitaker. If you want to be challenged, go see this collectors masterpiece.

User review rating: 5 November 27, 2016

One of the finest most engrossing science fiction movies I've seen in a long, long time.

User review rating: 2 November 27, 2016

Disappointing ending! It lacked depth and excitement for an Alien movie! YouTube videos about Aliens are more exciting! To save time and money, it would be more exciting to watch those YouTube videos at home with some popcorn instead of watching Arrival!!!

User review rating: 0 November 26, 2016

Slow moving movie. Not terrible but not that good either, in my opinion. Nothing original about it. They were just copying 'Interstellar' with time being circular is all, but not as good as that movie.

User review rating: 3 November 26, 2016

When I saw the trailers for 'Arrival' earlier this year, I read a copy of the short story upon which the movie is based: 'The Story of Your Life' by Ted Chiang. I thought the screenwriter did an okay job of taking a very cerebral, esoteric 40-page story and turning it into a two-hour movie - but only just okay. I think there was a bit of 'Hollywood-ization' to add some drama and action elements, but overall the spirit and thrust of the story were kept intact. About 3/4s of the way through the movie, there's a plot twist revealed. Having read the story, it was no surprise to me at all, but I heard a few people muttering things like "Ohhh... now I get it..." so I guess it did come as a bit of a surprise to some folks. One thing I appreciated, but that some audiences may not, is that the ending is not a typical Hollywood ending where everyone rides off into the sunset all sunshine and smiles. The ending of both the story and the movie end on somewhat a sombre note...

User review rating: 2 November 25, 2016

Not the best Alien movie I've seen. You need to see this more than once to grasp it.

Change Location