Anna Karenina

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.07 / 5

User rating: 4.07

Based on 64 votes and 16 reviews

  • User rating: 4.07 65.52%
  • User rating: 4.07 6.90%
  • User rating: 4.07 3.45%
  • User rating: 4.07 17.24%
  • User rating: 4.07 6.90%

Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?


Showing 1 to 16 of 16

User review rating: 1 February 23, 2013

terrible - the acting was fine but karenin and vronsky in particular both poorly cast even though we like Jude Law (that is why it was poorly cast - people LIKE Jude Law). Setting the film in the theatre was off-putting, distracting, annoying and left us wondering if the film had no budget...the original was not a play but a grandly epic book which calls for sweeping scenery and using all of the russian landscape to bring this story to new generations. Sad. See older versions instead.

User review rating: 5 February 15, 2013

Well I haven't watched the movie but anything Knightley plays in will be amazing!

User review rating: 5 December 28, 2012

Excellent. Stunning. How brilliant to film it this way thereby avoiding just another stuffy period piece!

User review rating: 3 December 26, 2012

Disappointed. My husband was bored, should have seen this on cheap movie night or DVD instead.

User review rating: 5 December 17, 2012

Loved this movie, fast paced, sophisticated, beautifully shot, liked the stage/play setting style and fantastic costumes. Highly recommend it but I see how this is not for everyone.

User review rating: 2 December 16, 2012

Confusing to begin with, fell asleep early on but it did pick up after about one hour. Looks like Hollywood can no longer afford the onsite productions and this is something you might see at a play - since it looke like a playhouse rather than a movie. Lincoln and ARgu came across in the same way. Poor.

User review rating: 2 December 14, 2012

I strongly recommend renting/downloading the 1997 version of Anna Karenina directed by Bernard Rose instead! While I love the story of Anna Karenina and was fully prepared to love this version too, I was immediately put off by Joe Wright's very odd choice to stage this movie like a play. Of course, the movie is based on Tolstoy's classic novel and not a play, so this choice is not only illogical but it makes what could have been realistic ridiculous. The casting of Vronsky is also problematic. He is immature and arrogant and seems like a mischievous school boy next to conservative society wife, Anna. It makes her choice to be with him seem purely hormonal and not one of grand romance.

User review rating: 2 December 14, 2012

strange that they would film a stage! This is supposed to be a movie, not a stage performance. Was not impressed!

User review rating: 5 December 04, 2012

Great story, excellent acting!

User review rating: 5 December 04, 2012

Me and my husband went to see it and just loved it!

User review rating: 5 December 04, 2012

Just stunning! Go and see for yourself!

User review rating: 5 December 04, 2012

Love the acting, the story, everything! Recommend to everyone. Excellent movie to see.

User review rating: 4 December 03, 2012

Unusual and stylized adaptation of a very long novel. Rich with symbolism and amazing costumes. Excellent acting by Keira Knightly. Unusual movie would not be to everyone's liking.

User review rating: 1 December 02, 2012

It's amazing that two wonderful actors would have anything to do with this terrible movie.

User review rating: 1 December 02, 2012

Disjointed and absolute garbage.

User review rating: 4 November 30, 2012

Soo stunning, loved it

Change Location