Across the Universe

Thank you for rating this movie!

Across the Universe Movie Poster

3.50 / 5

User rating: 3.50

Based on 805 votes and 94 reviews


  • User rating: 3.50 55.45%
  • User rating: 3.50 7.26%
  • User rating: 3.50 2.31%
  • User rating: 3.50 1.98%
  • User rating: 3.50 33.00%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 94

User review rating: 3 December 04, 2016

Max should of died in the war, as too many people lived in the end, would of looooooooooooved to see Lucy and Judes reaction to that! it would of been priceless!

User review rating: 5 April 16, 2014

Face it, Max was useless. He dropped out of college cause he didn't like it then he wanted to skip going to the war? Yeah okay, that makes sense. And he got sent home all cause he got a bump on the head, when there's real soldiers who lost legs or arms? I used to like him, before realizing what useless loser he was. And his accent was crap, you're not american, your british! But I do like this film, listening to the soundtrack right now, I have two, the original one disc one and a two disc one!

User review rating: 5 July 23, 2011

If you love Beatle music, you'll love this movie. Jim Sturgess has a fantastic voice. And the movie really captures the feel and look of the 70's

User review rating: 5 March 15, 2010

Love the movie. Thought it was great. Love the actors and actress. They made it so believeable.

User review rating: 5 January 10, 2010

OUTSTANDING, INCREDIBLE! ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES THAT I HAVE EVER SEEN! CAN'T WAIT FOR ANYTHING OF HERS IN THE FUTURE.

User review rating: 0 November 14, 2009

I do not know how I missed this movie in theaters. I am currently watching it on Cable TV (Encore). I have watched it and embraced it over 20 times so far and will continue to do so as long as it is available. For any critic who did not rate this movies favorably, you have to have no emotion or sense of what you are criticizing. There is sooooo much garbage in movies now, that the critics really have nothing to rate. Julie Tremor is fantastic. Witness The Lion King on Broadway. Forget Spider Man on Broadway. Do Across The Universe. What an accomplishment that would be.

User review rating: 0 November 01, 2008

the music was amazing

User review rating: 0 July 02, 2008

Truly a winner, Vegas show LOVE could use your help. They need somebody.

User review rating: 0 June 07, 2008

Not my cup of tea.. way to artsy

User review rating: 0 April 29, 2008

I came to this movie after my 14 year old daughter and her friends saw it and loved it. I was happy that her generation was being introduced to these great songs, but I quickly directed them to the original, far superior performances. I was quite prepared to quietly "tolerate" a movie that would most likely trivialize the turbulence and complexity of the 60’s, and do violence to my cherished memories. Somehow, Hollywood and most other mass media never got a handle on that era, never saw the significance amidst the silliness, the idealism beneath the naiveté, the tragedy of its failures, or its subversive success in altering our culture. The only film that even came close was a forgotten

User review rating: 0 April 12, 2008

Best and most creative movie I've seen a very looooonnnng time.

User review rating: 0 March 02, 2008

Fascinating and riveting!

User review rating: 0 February 18, 2008

me and my mom watch this movie on saturday after i came back from seen Jumper i loved this movie my favorite preson was Jude because he had so much emitonal to his preson across the unvrise is the best movie of 2008 my next movie i wanna see with hime in is about black jack cards and it called 21 it about he has to play black jack for school i cant wait intill i see 21 with jim sturgess in it 21 will be the best flim of 2008 across the unvrise rocks

User review rating: 0 February 11, 2008

wicked cool

User review rating: 0 February 09, 2008

A rare gem - the one four leaf clover in a sea of green... I just watched it and want to watch it again right now!!!!

User review rating: 0 February 09, 2008

I've wanted to watch it since I heard about it while surfing the internet. I thought it was a great concept of a movie. And. Yaaaaay. The movie didn't disappoint me. I quite loved it. It made me very happy, and I loved singing along to all the songs. After reading the reviews, I almost didn't want to watch it, but. Mmm. I'm glad I don't listen to these moronic negative reviews that give no reason /why/ they think the movie's bad. So. Whoooo. Great movie. Recommended for anyone who enjoys musicals, or a movie with an interesting story.

User review rating: 0 February 04, 2008

A trully imaginative movie,I loved it

User review rating: 0 January 21, 2008

AMAZING. I have gone 5 times in theatres. Such a good movie, cute, funny, and you get attached to the characters! WORTH SEEING. best movie out in ages.

User review rating: 0 January 03, 2008

amazing

User review rating: 0 December 20, 2007

Excellent! The singing and songs were even better than the actual beatles! Can't wait til it's on DVD. And I ran out and bought the soundtrack as soon as the theatre let out. Worth seeing again and again!

User review rating: 0 December 15, 2007

loved it

User review rating: 0 December 15, 2007

soooooooooooooo boring.

User review rating: 0 December 10, 2007

I absolutly loved this movie. I saw it twice in theatres and I am very excited to buy it on dvd!

User review rating: 0 November 30, 2007

Cheesey garbage with some of the worst covers of Beatles tunes you'll ever hear! Skip it and see "Help!" instead; you'll be much better off.

User review rating: 0 November 28, 2007

i thought this movie was something off the norm and enjoyed watching it. the part with mr kite was really the only part i didn't care for, and wasn't needed in the movie.

User review rating: 0 November 23, 2007

one star is generous. zero plot strung between 30 music videos. if you want beattles music, listen to a cd. awful. it is a rare movie that makes you angry, and this is one of them.

User review rating: 0 November 15, 2007

The best movie I've seen in a long time. I can truly say I have never seen a more innovative, satisfying movie. The music, all Beatle tunes from early 60's to the 70's was unbelievable. I'll see it again.

User review rating: 0 November 11, 2007

I wish I had three thumbs.. so they could all be down. Awful !

User review rating: 0 November 11, 2007

Based on reviews, I was sceptical when I first walked into the theatre and I'm incredibly glad that my worries were laid to rest pretty fast. From the opening scene with Jim Sturgess singing "Girl" in a quiet, haunting way I was riveted. The songs chosen were fantastic and there were even a few more obscure tracks thrown in, which was refreshing to see. The film IS fairly long and the plot jumps around a fair amount, but ultimately, the talented voices of the actors and the interesting nature of the subject matter kept me riveted. A great retrospective on Vietnam-era America and the clashing cultures that made it such a tumultuous time. Cameos from Eddie Izzard, Bono and Joe Cocker, too!

User review rating: 0 November 10, 2007

An excellent musical based on the songs of the Beatles. All the cast are strong singers and a few cameos including Joe Cocker, Eddie Izzard, and Bono. Great fun!

User review rating: 0 November 09, 2007

Seriouslli. Greatt go see it!

User review rating: 0 November 09, 2007

Best movie since " Pink Floyd The Wall" definitely recommend this movie to and anyone who lived during this time period and anyone today. Amazing movie . Best one i've ever seen . deserves 5 stars.

User review rating: 0 November 07, 2007

Loved it! What a beautiful story with an awesome soundtrack.

User review rating: 0 November 06, 2007

Being of the "older crowd" my friend and I loved this movie. The music was very good....reminded us of "Rent", and the story was interesting. It covered a lot of history.

User review rating: 0 November 04, 2007

I was a little worried in the opening half hour. Seemed a little corny but it got GREAT. Was sad to see it end. There are not too many movies that I have been able to say that about. Go see it- it is terrific.

User review rating: 0 November 04, 2007

I would say thlis picture is 1000 times better than Dreamgirls and cannot believe how poorly it was promoted. Cannot wait to get my copy when the DVD is released. I'd say defiantely one of my top 5 movies of 2007..Definately recommend to anyone 25+ . It does help to know a bit about the 60's and some American history..but not that necessary to enjoy this picture. A GO SEE MUST

User review rating: 0 November 03, 2007

Excellent movie - specially if you love Beatle music. every song fit perfectly in the movie.

User review rating: 0 October 30, 2007

LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!! That's all!!

User review rating: 0 October 30, 2007

BEST (Drama/Musical) MOVIE OF 2007!

User review rating: 0 October 28, 2007

Cool music. It was an okay movie, I found it hard to watch but it is still worth seeing, especially if you like musicals. (It is not exactly a musical..)

User review rating: 0 October 26, 2007

i absolutly loved this movie. couldn't get it out of my head for days it was brilliant. as for people who give bad reviews on movies why would you even look at something to do with a movie you didn't like?

User review rating: 0 October 26, 2007

loved the movie..the actors were beautiful to watch, music was great, and the special effets were captivating...untop of all that a very heartfelt love story...sent me on a emtional rollar coaster...then the way it ends...doesn't give you no time to dry your eyes before having to leave the theatre...a great movie for couples...well anyone really..it is my 14 year old daughters new favorite movie

User review rating: 0 October 26, 2007

A perfectly captured trip without the use of hallucinogenics. The writing and directing was brilliant, as were the performances. I'm not a huge Beatles fan, nor am I a fan of musicals. At first I felt like leaving, but it caught my attention long enough to keep me sitting and find out what would happen next. For those who thought this was just a love story, I'm sorry, but you totally missed the point. An important part of history captured brilliantly on film.

User review rating: 0 October 23, 2007

Not a fan of musicals, but this one was pretty sweet! It made me really want to try drugs because of all the wicked visuals. The story's pretty easy to follow. I don't see how people are so shocked and disgusted with this movie in all the previews it looks like a lot of drug trips so I'm not sure what they were expeting. Maybe this movie's just too deep for them to understand. It was really cool. Highly recommend!!!!!!

User review rating: 0 October 22, 2007

absolutely amazing!!! best mpvie i have seen in a while

User review rating: 0 October 22, 2007

This is one of those movies that you either REALLY love or Really hate..thers no really grey areas. i personally loved this movie..i guess part of that is because i'm a woman and it was kind of a chick flick. still 5 *!!

User review rating: 0 October 22, 2007

AMAZING MOVIE!!! Yes it was cheesy, but I loved it!!!! I loved the songs and the choregraphy!!! That was amazing!!! GREAT JOB!!

User review rating: 0 October 21, 2007

it was actually amazing, best movie ive seen in a while.

User review rating: 0 October 20, 2007

THE ABSOLUTE, WITHOUT A DOUBT WORST MOVIE I HAVE EVER SEEN. I have never ever walked out on a movie, until tonight. I just couldn't take it anymore. The only way I would recommend this movie to anyone, is if they had a big bag of magic mushrooms in the movie theater with them. It seemed that the directors of this movie were on some form of drug when they made this. Honestly, there were some aspects of a storyline, but it just kept being interupted by bad music videos every 10 minutes. The sound track did have some good songs, but it's a shame that this movie would be better off watched with your eyes closed. Wait for the DVD version, or better yet the CD version of this one. Can't express ho

User review rating: 0 October 19, 2007

not worth seeing. stay home...

Change Location