A Dog's Purpose

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.57 / 5

User rating: 3.57

Based on 348 votes and 133 reviews


  • User rating: 3.57 50.63%
  • User rating: 3.57 13.92%
  • User rating: 3.57 5.70%
  • User rating: 3.57 1.27%
  • User rating: 3.57 28.48%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 50 of 133

User review rating: 5 February 19, 2017

Great movie!!

User review rating: 4 February 15, 2017

it was delightfully entertaining. Wife and I cried, laughed, reminded me of all the dogs That I've had in my life. Great date movie, great kids movie.

User review rating: 4 February 14, 2017

Loved it - great for the whole family

User review rating: 5 February 12, 2017

Love it and I love ?? my dog so much

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2017

Loved it even though i cried through half of it. I would see it again.

User review rating: 5 February 11, 2017

Amazing made me cry

User review rating: 0 February 11, 2017

No stars for animal abuse. Anybody with a heart for animals should boycott this excuse for a movie.

User review rating: 5 February 10, 2017

Very good movie.Put a tear in my eye when dog dies. Best dog movie since old yeller.

User review rating: 5 February 09, 2017

I was skeptical about going to this movie as I'm not a particular dog lover but We both liked this movie a lot. A good story and didn't look at my watch once, which tells me it didn't sag. Just one thing ... I found the transition from one life to the next a little confusing at first, but to be honest I don't know how else they could have conveyed this.

User review rating: 5 February 07, 2017

I can't believe how many people are rating this poorly based on animal abuse accusations - do you not watch the news?? They have already proven the video was pieced together by tmz and the movie producers have been cleared by outside agencies. Wow, at least get your facts straight before you accuse people of such a horrible crime. I hope you're never in the situation where people judge you without the facts. Being self-righteous doesn't automatically make you right.

User review rating: 5 February 07, 2017

Absolutely loved it - great for everyone. Glad the animal cruelty accusations were shot down by that independent animal rights group. Shame on you tmz for splicing together a video and making it look like animal cruelty.

User review rating: 5 February 07, 2017

Our group went to it-a few sceptical-a few-knowing the truth-no dogs were forced or hurt. None the less. AS A GROUP SOME WANTED TO RATE THIS ABOVE-DISNEYS CLASICS. AGES 16-69 IN GROUP[-OVERALL REVIEWS 5-8 STARS- a thrilling =eye-tearing-wonderful story with great actors-both human and 4 legged. Myself and a few others-going back to see it again this week.

User review rating: 5 February 07, 2017

A great story. A must see movie for all dog lovers. A beautiful story about real life. It's refreshing to see a movie like that as there are far to few, they remind you what is most important in life, instead all those horror and action movies that promote violence.

User review rating: 5 February 06, 2017

THIS WAS AS WONDERFUL & TOUCHING-AS ANY I HAVE SEEN. I SAW TEENAGERS WITH TEARS-AND MANY OTHERS FOLKS SITTING THEY WOULD CALL IT-ON THE EDGE OF THEIR SEAT WITH EMOTIONS & QUIET LAUGHTER & TEARS. Retired: but, still training & rehoming dogs!

User review rating: 5 February 06, 2017

Good tear jerker. To all the nay sayers out there about animal cruelty....It was brought to you by PETA...enough said. Those yahoos lie through their teeth. They even faked the bit in the video with a guy saying throw him in.

User review rating: 5 February 06, 2017

I loved this movie. I am a dog owner and can relate to the story. I recommend this movie but bring lot of tissues, you will need them.

User review rating: 5 February 06, 2017

A great story of love and loss and love again. The dogs were wonderful, smart and charming. If you are a dog lover, you have to see this movie and read the books.

User review rating: 3 February 05, 2017

i liked the fact that it was reincarnation in each episode.

User review rating: 0 February 05, 2017

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Save your money. It's far from the best animal movie around and abuse of animals is NEVER okay for ANY reason. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

User review rating: 0 February 05, 2017

I will not watch this movie simply because I see the video of the animal abuse that took part in the making of this movie.

User review rating: 1 February 04, 2017

f**king animal abuse. Anyone who rates this movie 5 stars after that needs help. Especially since the movie isn't that good to begin with.

User review rating: 4 February 04, 2017

The 2 hour movie was well done but because so much was left out that was in the book, I was a little disappointed. But hey, you can only put so much in. I loved the cast and dogs that were chosen. Its a wonderful story.

User review rating: 5 February 03, 2017

Beautiful

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2017

There are many, many dogs who LOVE the water. Using one of those would have been a better idea but even so, even as water lovers you can bet it doesn't include a swim in such turbulent waters! That dog was TERRIFIED!! And they forced a near drowning on it before it was brought out of the water. You can bet that this dog will have daily and nightly sleep terrors now for the rest of its life. You dam* movie makers should search to see if you even have a heart of your own before producing a movie intended to tweak the hearts of others for money. I'd love to see this movie taken right out of the market for consumer viewing.

User review rating: 0 February 03, 2017

NO stars for this movie. Anyone who pays money to watch this movie is supporting animal abuse. To abuse and force terror on an animal for monetary gain or for ANY reason is deplorable. I for one, am boycotting this movie and hope many others will as well. A dog's only wish in life is to please their humans & to take advantage of this or return their love & loyalty with cruelty is deplorable and inexcusable.

User review rating: 1 February 02, 2017

I'm simply astonished that there are people willing to impose their will upon innocent living beings, especially ones that many of us appreciate as companions in life. I was going to watch this movie as I too, live with an adorable, loyal and innocent puppy; however, this shock of reality has given me a sense of the heartlessness and ignorance that comes with excessive human greed. I truly hope that this event will shine light on animal abuse and even more so, I trust that the people responsible will be held accountable.

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2017

A very well produced movie loved it

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2017

I loved this movie. Made me laugh, made me cry. Just a nice story.

User review rating: 1 February 02, 2017

I won`t be seeing this movie, as there was a dog that was abused in order to make it. Hope that the authorities will use this to showcase that animal abuse will not be tolerated in Canada, and the profit from the film is seized and used for the SPCA, or other animal rescue operations. Greedy, self serving people who exploit people's emotions for profit, should never be allowed to hurt or scare an animal into submission for their own greedy financial gain.

User review rating: 1 February 02, 2017

Hate that there was a dog abused in this movie - could have been good. With the realism available in computer animation, was it really neccessary to torture & abuse a scared dog to "get that shot" Producers should be ashamed of themselves. Hopefully the judge who hears this case, will look at overall profits associated with the film, and issue an appropriately large fine, plus many horrors of community service to all involved with the abuse of the dog. And since the film was basically enabled with this crime, all profits should be seized, and used to help rescue organizations.

User review rating: 5 February 02, 2017

Cute movie. Made me laugh, cry & smile. A touching look at a dogs perspective & at life in general. LOVED IT.

User review rating: 1 February 01, 2017

Hollywood is about money...I enjoyed the movie, didn't realize what happened to the dog till after I saw it with my 2 boys who want to see it again...How do you explain abuse to animals to a 4 and 5 year old.

User review rating: 1 February 01, 2017

I rate 1 star because I know animal abuse was involved ...That is a given. Also why do I feel a bit of professional writing involved ...the person ahead of me for eXample...Good movie. I hope $ollywood learns from this...

User review rating: 4 February 01, 2017

A DOG'S PURPOSE. This is a good film made on a reasonable budget. It's about a dog named Bailey who is given to a small boy who eventually outgrows him leading to the interesting part of the film. The story is narrated from the dog's point of view. This could have been a DISNEY film from my childhood in the sixties but it isn't so the story will be all brand new. I'm not a dog owner and I enjoyed it immensely. So you folks of the dog clan will love this heart warming tale. I rate it 3.75 of 5 stars.

User review rating: 4 January 31, 2017

Enjoyable, heartwarming, and face licking dog's perspective. Really cute and loveable the various dog's were portrayed.

User review rating: 4 January 31, 2017

If you love dogs but have never had one, you will greatly enjoy this. If you have had one or more dogs, take lots of Kleenex (facecloth works good) because this movie will bring back lots of memories - but also gives a feeling of hope. The various dogs were very well trained.

User review rating: 5 January 31, 2017

A Dog's Purpose was a great movie for all ages. If you are a dog lover, you will enjoy this movie. My friend that joined me to see the movie said she couldn't wait to go home and hug her dog. It made me want to go and take in a foster dog. It was a very touching and at times funny movie.

User review rating: 3 January 31, 2017

I enjoyed the movie, however I'm not sure the screenwriter read the same book I did. Too many changes made from the book to the movie in my opinion.

User review rating: 3 January 30, 2017

a heartwarming tale of man's best friend but can be at times hard to watch as a younger viewer (kids) as this movie shows that life sometimes isn't always roses and rainbows.

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2017

I thought the movie was fantastic!!!!! Perfect for dog lovers. Made you laugh, made you cry, confirmed the love we who love our dogs have.

User review rating: 5 January 30, 2017

Dog lovers will love this movie.

User review rating: 3 January 30, 2017

I looked for some evidence of abuse in the water rescue scene and saw none. Of course that doesn't necessarily answer the allegations raised. There are other commentaries explaining what happened and for the most part, they are compelling. This was good fun. Anyone who grew up with a dog had to be moved. I think the creators faced a difficult task in moving Bailey through several lifetimes in search of his purpose, but somehow brought it together. I confess I followed each dog's life adventure with enthusiasm and amusement. I might see this one again.

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2017

As a dog owner I often wonder what he is thinking! They truly are man's best friend and our so loyal to their owners! This story portrays that 100%. Everyone should see this movie! The story was so well written and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I am so glad that all the bad unfair publicity did not discourage my decision to see it! I hope everyone enjoys it as much as I did!

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2017

Loved the book and loved the movie even more!! So refreshing to finally see a movie made for every age to enjoy! Such a beautiful story! Everyone should see it!

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2017

Phenomenal!!

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2017

Excellent movie. Heartwarming. Don't cheat yourself based on fake false news. This is a pro animal movie!

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2017

I took my nephew to see it today. It's a great movie. I'm not sure what all the fuss is about

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2017

Really enjoyed it.

User review rating: 1 January 29, 2017

The movie is heart warming ...Yes. Animals were abused as in Many films.It's been going on since God invented Row Boats...Hollywood properly spelled is Make what you can with the tools given you.This is NOT the only film that abuse animals...Just sayin

User review rating: 5 January 29, 2017

We have had dogs all our life. Now have 6. All shelter or drop offs. I think the poor judgement of one animal trainer (who was fired) should not destroy the positive story told in the movie. Also the video is in question as to the editing used to make it look bad. If you like dogs go and enjoy!

Change Location