Rebecca Miller Biography

Rebecca Miller photo

Born: September 15, 1962


Date of Birth: September 15, 1962

The daughter of playwright Arthur Miller and photographer Inge Morath, Rebecca Miller wanted to be a secretary, a flight attendant or a ballerina when she grew up. However, after encouragement from a high school teacher, she went on to study art and sculpting at Yale. After graduation she moved to an artists' colony in Munich. Although her pieces were exhibited in several galleries, she became unhappy with her work and burned several of her paintings. Returning to the States, she took up acting, appearing in small roles in both TV movies and feature films, including a TV adaptation of her father's play, The American Clock (1993).

Miller says of her time as an actress, "I never had any desire to become a well-known actress. I never thought I was great." Her last performance in a film was in Love Affair (1994), starring Annette Bening and Warren Beatty. Soon after, she decided to make her own films, and she wrote and directed Angela (1995), which won prizes at several film festivals, including the Filmmakers Trophy at Sundance.

Soon after, she met actor Daniel Day-Lewis at her father's house while the two men were preparing the film version of Miller's play, The Crucible (1996). Rebecca and Daniel began dating and were married November 13, 1996. It was a first marriage for both.

Miller wrote and directed her second film, Personal Velocity (2002), which won the Grand Jury Prize at Sundance and went on to wide release in North America in November 2002. For The Ballad of Jack and Rose (2005), Miller directed her husband in the film, which she also wrote.

Miller and Day-Lewis have two sons, born in 1998 and 2002, and the family divides their time between homes in New York and Europe.

Filmography (Director):

The Private Lives of Pippa Lee (2009)
The Ballad of Jack and Rose (2005)
Personal Velocity (2002)
Angela (1995)

Filmography (Actress):

Love Affair (1994)
Mrs. Parker and the Vicious Circle (1994)
The Pickle (1993)
Consenting Adults (1992)
Wind (1992)
Regarding Henry (1991)
Georg Elser-Einer aus Deutschland (1989)

  Change Location