Matt Craven Biography

Matt Craven photo

Born: November 10, 1956


Date of Birth: November 10, 1956

At 24, this Port Colborne, Ontario native's career was going to the dogs as he found himself acting opposite a German Shepherd in the "Ghost Rig" episode of The Littlest Hobo. Things got better. Since his first feature film appearances in Meatballs (1979) and Bravery in the Field (1979) Matt has worked steadily, gradually building his resumé with larger roles in larger projects. He moved to Los Angeles and played regular roles in several TV series, including CBS-TV's L.A. Doctors and ABC-TV's High Incident. None of the shows lasted long, but Matt began landing more and more roles in feature films such as A Few Good Men (1992) starring Tom Cruise and Jack Nicholson, Crimson Tide (1995) starring Denzel Washington and Gene Hackman and The Life of David Gale (2003) starring Kevin Spacey and Kate Winslett.

Other feature film credits include the hit film Disturbia (2007), followed by the major motion blockbuster X-Men: First Class (2012), the action thriller White House Down (2013), and the dramas Stonewall (2015) and Unless (2016).

On American television, he starred with Rob Lowe in the short-lived NBC drama series The Lyon's Den. More recently he's appeared on the hit series NCIS as Secretary of the Navy Clayton Jarvis, and the 2017 HBO series Sharp Objects as Vickery, alongside Amy Adams.


Awakening the Zodiac (2017)
Unless (2016)
Stonewall (2015)
A Good Lie (2013)
White House Down (2013)
X-Men: First Class (2011)
The Longshots (2008)
American Venus (2007)
A Simple Curve (2006)
The Clearing (2004)
The Life of David Gale (2003)
The Statement (2003)
Timeline (2003)
Things You can Tell Just by Looking At Her (2000)
Paulie (1998)
Masterminds (1997)
Never Too Late (1997)
The Juror (1996)
White Tiger (1996)
Crimson Tide (1995)
Crash (1995)
The Final Cut (1995)
Double Cross (1994)
Killer (1994)
Indian Summer (1993)
A Few Good Men (1992)
K2 (1991)
Blue Steel (1990)
Chattahoochee (1990)
Jacob's Ladder (1990)
Palais Royale (1988)
Tin Men (1987)
Agent on Ice (1985)
That's My Baby (1984)
Happy Birthday to Me (1981)
Hog Wild (1980)
Meatballs (1979)
Bravery in the Field (1979)
  Change Location