Adam Baldwin Biography

Adam Baldwin photo

Born: February 27, 1962


Date of Birth: February 27, 1962

Despite his famous last name, Adam Baldwin is not related to film actors Alec, Stephen, Daniel or William Baldwin. Born in Chicago, Adam made his film debut at the age of 18, playing the title role in My Bodyguard (1980) alongside Matt Dillon. A small role in Robert Redford's Academy Award-winning film Ordinary People (1980) followed.

He then took time out from his career to study acting in New York. While there, he filmed just one movie, D.C. Cab (1983) before moving to Los Angeles in 1984, where he quickly landed roles in two feature films and a TV movie that year.

Baldwin hasn't stopped working since, most notably in films such as Stanley Kubrick's Full Metal Jacket (1987), Radio Flyer (1992), Wyatt Earp (1994), How to Make An American Quilt (1995), Independence Day (1996) and The Patriot (2000).

He has also made numerous guest appearances on hit TV shows such as The X Files, Angel, The Outer Limits and CSI: Miami. In 2002 he was chosen to play Jayne on Fox's new sci-fi series Firefly, created, written and directed by Joss Whedon (Buffy the Vampire Slayer). The series earned a loyal following of fans and after it went off the air, spawned a motion picture called Serenity (2005), reuniting Baldwin with the other original cast members.

Baldwin makes his home in Los Angeles with his wife and children. In his spare time he enjoys playing a relaxing round of golf. He also participates in celebrity hockey games.


Serenity (2005)
The Freediver (2004)
Evil Eyes (2004)
Betrayal (2003)
Gacy (2003)
The Keyman (2002)
Double Bang (2001)
Farewell, My Love (2001)
Jackpot (2001)
Above and Beyond (2001)
Pursuit of Happiness (2001)
The Right Temptation (2000)
The Patriot (2000)
Starquest II (1997)
Lover's Knot (1996)
Independence Day (1996)
How to Make an American Quilt (1995)
Digital Man (1995)
Wyatt Earp (1994)
Blind Justice (1994)
Treacherous (1994)
Bitter Harvest (1993)
Cold Sweat (1993)
Eight Hundred Leagues Down the Amazon (1993)
Where the Day Takes You (1992)
Radio Flyer (1992)
Guilty by Suspicion (1991)
Predator 2 (1990)
Next of Kin (1989)
Cohen and Tate (1989)
The Chocolate War (1988)
Full Metal Jacket (1987)
3:15 (1986)
Bad Guys (1986)
Reckless (1984)
Hadley's Rebellion (1984)
D.C. Cab (1983)
Ordinary People (1980)
My Bodyguard (1980)

  Change Location