Won't You Be My Neighbor?

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.70 / 5

User rating: 4.7

Based on 60 votes and 24 reviews


  • User rating: 4.7 83.33%
  • User rating: 4.7 10.00%
  • User rating: 4.7 3.33%
  • User rating: 4.7 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.7 3.33%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



 

Showing 1 to 24 of 24

User review rating: 5 September 16, 2018

Saw it Saturday evening. Woke up Sunday morning still thinking about it. I might go see it again. Really great documentary.

User review rating: 5 August 11, 2018

A wonderful reminder of what matters most in life. Fred Rodgers poured loving kindness upon everyone he encountered--especially the most vulnerable among us--inviting us to embrace our own vulnerable, childlike parts.

User review rating: 5 August 11, 2018

Inspirational and moving

User review rating: 5 July 18, 2018

What a great story, about a kind and wonderful man. My daughter grew up with him and I am soooooo glad she did. A role model for the ages.....

User review rating: 5 July 15, 2018

Everyone should see this movie... I am a late 60's kid and have memories of Mr. Rogers Neighborhood... They did such a great job in showing the real Mr. Rogers who was exactly like you saw on the show according to his close family and friends. He contributed so much to children and the whole world with his simple message of You are special just the way you are mantra.

User review rating: 5 July 12, 2018

I left feeling like I had been hugged and with hope.

User review rating: 5 July 10, 2018

Our country... actually the world... would be a better place if everyone (especially our political leaders) if we all watched (and learned from) Mr. Rogers! As his series of programs, which many of us encouraged our children to watch (and watched with them), this documentary is lovely, kind, sweet, significant, and worth watching! It should be available to ALL, at ALL times... in the permanent library for ALL! As a mother, grandmother, former teacher, reading consultant, multi-year school board member, PTA leader, public-school activist, and caring community member/leader, as well as the former manager of the instructional television department of a PBS affiliate, I wear an old Mr. Rogers tee shirt with pride. I urge everyone to see, and learn from, this movie! It is a gem!

User review rating: 5 July 08, 2018

Wonderful; Too bad parents didn’ t listen. A must see especially for people who had childhood issues regarding self worth.

User review rating: 5 July 08, 2018

I liked it all. Some was so moving that I cried. I learned so much about Mr. Rogers that I didn't know though my children watched him a lot. He was so passionate about what should be on tv and about children needing love. Stay until the very end, even the credits.

User review rating: 5 July 06, 2018

Best documentary I have ever seen. Authentic and pure. I cried almost the entire time.

User review rating: 5 July 05, 2018

everything.

User review rating: 5 July 02, 2018

Bring some kleenex

User review rating: 4 June 13, 2018

Loved the movie. The movie gave me an insight into how and why different sketches were aired, which I never really gave much thought to. I just enjoyed the calm, peaceful, caring way he shone on television.

User review rating: 4 June 12, 2018

WON'T YOU BE MY NEIGHBOR? - Mr. Fred Rogers Documentary, is a very touching look at a man who lived by his values, morals and passion. By 1968 TV programming for children was often silly, violent and used as a venue for marketing. Not much has changed, except for the gems along the way. Mr. Rogers was one of those gems. Fred Rogers was an ordained Presbyterian minister, who first produced the show at Pittsburgh public television station WQED. He felt compelled to get into TV so that he could teach children and send a message of kindness, caring, hope, love and acceptance. I was impressed by the fact that YoYo Ma learned much from Mr Rogers, who became a lifelong friend and mentor. Ma's son, Nicolas, is one of the producers of this film. He had met Mr. Rogers as a youth and you can see that Fred had a profound impact on Nicolas. This documentary uses clips from the show and present-day interview with his wife, two sons and many of people who worked with Mr. Rogers. Their love and respect for this soft-spoken man still resonates. Fred Rogers, had his signature sweater, shoes, voice, mannerisms, puppets, TV sets and friends. He addressed issues of racisms, special needs, death, violence and the importance of being open minded and accepting of everyone, despite differences. His was genuine and would not think to say no, if he was called upon to help: there is great footage of Fred Rogers addressing the American Senate, defending the need for more money for Public Broadcasting. Fred Rogers truly understood what was going on inside the minds of children and he treated them with such love and respect. I had tears in my eyes as he spoke with one young wheelchair dependant fan. I was in awe as he explained how superheroes are not real, that people do bad things (the assassination of Bobby Kennedy), that bad things do happen in this world (9/11, the explosion of the Apollo). At times this movie is slow, but it a reflection of Mr. Rogers, who preferred to talk slowly

User review rating: 5 June 12, 2018

This is a documentary worth seeing. It was well put together. It was nice to see how well everyone got along on set. There was also some funny moments. I would definitely recommend seeing this movie.

User review rating: 3 June 12, 2018

A chance for the viewers to see how truly genuine Mr. Rogers was. His speech before Congress shows that you don’t have to loud to be powerful.

User review rating: 5 June 12, 2018

A brilliant documentary! Mr. Rogers message if love, kindness, tolerance and inclusion was a gift to the world. This film has perfectly captured the essence and philosophy of this gentle, compassionate man. 143 Mr. Rogers!

User review rating: 5 June 12, 2018

You don't need to be a documentary fan to love this film. Fred Rogers was a man of conviction who truly believed that the way to a better life was to help and love your fellow man. He had the courage to fight for his convictions and thus enriched the life of millions. This movie is inspirational. In his own words, I love as you are.

User review rating: 0 June 12, 2018

The film was actually quite interesting and well documented. I used to watch Mr. Rogers with my kids so I am familiar with the topic.

User review rating: 5 June 12, 2018

Well made documentary that was insightful into the philosophy of Fred Rogers. It shows that his message is still relevant today.

User review rating: 5 June 10, 2018

We need Mr Rogers now more than ever

User review rating: 5 June 07, 2018

Amazing movie. Very interesting how an idea can grow into a belief with such a strong foundation, giving a voice to those who need it most.

User review rating: 4 June 07, 2018

it was kind of great to see the behind the scenes life.

User review rating: 5 June 07, 2018

Very good movie!! Definitely got a little teary eyed during it. Highly recommend anyone to see!!

Change Location